We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only place I'll stay in Suffolk”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Master bedroom
Large paddock for guest use - picnics, barbecues, games.
Ponies in field
Picnic table and paddock
Valentines at Upper Langdales Cottages
Valentines at Upper Langdales Cottages
Valentines at Upper Langdales Cottages
Valentines at Upper Langdales Cottages
Welcome Pack
Welcome Pack
Bluebells
Cocktails in the Summer
Spring snowdrops
Pink roses
Tractor ready to mow the paddocks
Butterfly
Gin infusing with hedgerow fruit
Blossom under Suffolk's big blue skies
Corn fields
Poppies
Spring crocus
Summer in the cottage gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“The only place I'll stay in Suffolk”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I just love this incredibly charming cottage and farm. The owner has doe. Everything I could possibly think of to make the accommodation luxuriously comfortable and to make us feel welcome and at home.
I just fell in love with the cottage as we walked in. It is very beautiful in a sweet, cottagey way. Quite a bit more than what we need in everything. Beauty and comfort.
I would not like to stay anywhere else in Suffolk. This is the place for me!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing & friendly”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband, son & myself spent a lovely week at Granary Cottage. The cottage was well equipped clean and tidy and had a lovely welcome pack from Jo, the owner, the Victoria sponge was wonderful.

Jo and her family were most welcoming to us and for us it was great to be staying in the place where my ancestors lived.

The beds were very comfortable and the cottage catered for all our needs although the WIFI was intermittent which can be troublesome for a teenager.

I would highly recommend a stay in this beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you for the kind review. It was lovely meeting you and your family. Thank you for showing me a little bit more history about Upper Langdales. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in Suffolk countryside”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Granary cottage over new year and really enjoyed the stay. The property is finished to a high standard and owners are very welcoming and helpful. The location is remote so great for peaceful get away, but you certainly need a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Modern amenities
Liked least: Intermittent wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your New Year at Upper Langdales Farmhouse Cottages. It was lovely to meet you all and I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5jayne
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful cottage in a perfect setting. very high standard of fixtures & fittings & very friendly owners & staff.
Loved it so much tried our luck on the lottery in the hope we would be able to buy it! Unfortunately didn't happen!
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful scenery
Liked least: No hanging facilities in double bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Upper Langdales Farmhouse Cottages. It was lovely to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLesleyP
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have stayed here before and am delighted to report that the original very high standards set by Jo when she took over are being totally maintained.

Bedding, fittings, decor are all of high quality and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

It's in a central location between Bury St. Edmunds and Ipswich, Stowmarket is a typical Suffolk town and well worth a visit, especially if you include the East Anglian Museum - cafe is excellent too.

You don't need to bring loads of supplies, Jo has a welcome pack of bread, cake, milk and cheese anyway, and there's a Tesco near the A.14 and Asda in Stowmarket, Lidl just out of Stowmarket to the west.

Thoroughly recommended - but don't following the directions through the Cottage companies.

Instead: Turn off the A.14 towards Stowupland (hint: turn downhill and there's a Tesco close by). Follow the 1120 past Stowupland Co-op garage on the right, follow round the very sharp right hand bend and when the road starts to bend to the left take the small turn to the right, Forward Green.
Follow the meandering road, turn right at the very mini roundabout past the allotments, keep on going. Upper Langdale Farm road is on the right as you're going downhill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and visitors' tips. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Upper Langdales Farmhouse Cottages and I look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing