We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven for dogs and humans!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs A S
1 review
“Heaven for dogs and humans!”
Reviewed 30 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A very relaxing location, just fields and birdsong but close to pretty villages and Bury St Edmunds for serious shopping. There are lots of footpaths on the doorstep and a large field full of interesting smells for the dogs to run around in. The garden is well-fenced and even our terrier could not get out. The holiday dog tags, sofa throw, treats and towel for the dogs made us feel they were really welcome by seriously dog loving owners.

The owners live across the courtyard but are very respectful of your privacy while being friendly and available should they be needed.

The cottage is beautifully decorated and very practical with a modern wet room and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. If you are into history, Bury St Edmunds and Ickworth House are well worth a visit. We had only booked a short break and would love to come back for a longer stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Thanks so much for your lovely comments, we enjoyed having you all. Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape225...
1 review
“A wonderful place to relax.”
Reviewed 21 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Swallow barn is perfect for a relaxing get away. We loved it and the dogs loved it too. The attention to detail throughout the house is wonderful. A real home from home. Can’t wait to return next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2018
Thanks for your review, hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachgirl...
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great dog friendly barn in wonderfulpeaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

If you like a relaxing in a comfortable dog friendly holiday barn in an out the way location this is the place for you. There is a large garden which our dog loved and spent many hours playing in and wandering around. The owners live next door and are on call if you need help with finding places to visit, but leave you in peace on your holiday.
The barn is very comfortable and home from home. By chance has the same linen/ towels that we have at home. There are plenty of walks around and pubs close by of which have great menus and dog friendly gardens.
We visited the the Wyken Hall vineyard for lunch, you would need to book for the evening meal, it looked fabulous. Southwold is a seaside town not to far away with beaches and has an old english town feeling, dog friendly beaches towards the harbour only. Look up shingle street on the coast for walks over the dunes, quiet and out of the way.
Overall the barn was a wonderful place to have a break with our dog, the owner rosie makes you feel very welcome.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review which was very informative and useful. We loved having you. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson20
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swallow Barn, Wyverstone, Suffolk”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay here. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The barn is immaculate, tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. We took our 2 pooches with us and there were plenty of nearby footpaths to walk along. We ate at The Bull pub in Bacton, which took us 25 mins to walk to. Dogs are allowed in the bar and the food was lovely. We also took a trip to Bury St Edmunds in the car, 30 mins away which is a lovely place. We were fortunate to have lovely weather so we were able yo make use if the enclosed garden at the barn.
Thanks Richard & Rosie for accommodating us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed it. Do come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing