We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
5
13
33
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
13
33
12
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location is excellent, staff were very flexible and hepful.. we forgot a scarf at the room, and the staff wanted to send it to us - that was very nice.. we liked the small but nice wellness centre (we had the jacuzzi for an hour as private, it was perfect, especially as it was for free - but it may be charged since then, so you should better ask about it in advance).
We had already been there so we knew what to expect, but we didn´t know that there is so big difference between the hotel rooms and the pension ones... We recommend only the hotel rooms, which are comfortable and modern.. We ordered a room (and booking.com didn´t differ it as a pension one, which is much older) and in fact the room was terrible - the furniture, bathroom, windows, everything was very old and used... the reality was far away from the room presented at the booking.com.. It can be worth the lower price, but I think that 10 € (plus) per night is worth the standard and the modern style in the hotel room.. It depends on the guests´ requirements, of course, but I am sure, that when I come back, I will definately book the hotel rooms only... Please remember that the elevator goes only to the 2nd floor and the hotel rooms are situated on the 3rd and 4th floor, so then you have to use the stairs. What we absolutely disliked was the breakfast. It cost 6,00 €/person and it wasn´t worth it at all. We came 50 mins before the end of the breakfast time, and there were empty plates. So the waitress tried to "find something" for us in the kitchen. And that is inappropriate, especially according to the price...

Room Tip: As the title of my review says, you should prefer the hotel rooms (it is only 10€/night plus).. It is another level! Much better. And you should ask for a room oriented to the main street, the view at the New Castle is gorgeous... The town is quiet at night so you do not have to worry of the noise..
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is a modern construction in a well positioned place close to the centre of a remarkable town. Service was adequate but nothing special. The rooms were standard clean and had good views but no air conditioning so given the exceptionally high temperatures whilst we were there it was difficult to keep cool at night. We did not eat at the hotel as the facilities were a bit impersonal. We would return to the town as it is so interesting but have seen other hotels in the main square which have far more character.
See our review of the place it is well worth travelling and staying for a few days to this fascinating place

Room Tip: As high up as possible as you benefit from the views and the breeze
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Kaye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in Grand Matej for three nights, it was okay but nothing special. We had one of their bigger rooms in 4th floor, it was oriented to the backyard where a church is; someone can feel disturbed by its bells, however, I found it quite nice (when we woke up on Sunday, there was a service on the church, so we could hear organ and singing - really nice awakening for us). In evenings, there was a weak noise from some cafeteria close by the hotel, but we were able to fall asleep even though our window was open.
Another story is a technical condition of the hotel: it's very obvious that the hotel was built in late 90s and they didn't do very much with it since then. In our bathroom, there was a huge puddle after every shower, lift looks old and it goes only to the 3rd floor out of 5, restaurant terrace has a decayed floor and due to that, some tables are pretty unstable.
Also, service is definitely not a strongpoint of the hotel: rooms seemed to be clean, but underneath the furniture, there were lost candy, pencils etc. It feels like the hotel staff don't care that much about their job. In hotel restaurant, we had to ask waiter if we could order something to eat after a while when he ignored us completely. To be fair, I have to mention that they were willing to make us a breakfast at 6:30, 30 mins earlier than usual.
Briefly, this hotels is not a 4*. It's definitely possible to have a nice time there, just don't expect very much from this hotel. Banska Stiavnica is a GORGEOUS town and I definitely want to come back. Next time, we will choose another place to stay.
TIP: Go to Café "Divná paní". It's close by the hotel (address is Andreja Kmeťa 120/8), interior is lovely and they make very nice coffee and desserts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betulinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Staying at this property one night I have to say that 4* hotel should looks differenly. Our room was on second floor furnished in very obsolete style. Hotel restaurant is nothing to write home about. Hotel staff tried their best but apparently they need some hotel/restauant skills training.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diderko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Only stayed 1 night found the room very small, fridge although stocked not switched on, no phone or tea facilities. Our room was on the 5th Floor, lift only goes to the 3rd Floor we then had to carry our bags up the remaining 2 Floors. Asked for wake up call at 7am this did not happen. Breakfast we were told was 8am, cook did not turn up until 8:20am and we were due to leave at 8:30am for a business meeting. Breakfast when it came consisted of fried eggs which were burnt underneath and not cooked on top. Would we stay at this Hotel again no and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews