We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Bring Earplugs”
Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Canada
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We enjoyed a week long stay at Casa Canada after spending several days on Little Corn. The property was well maintained, and you couldn't beat the included breakfast which gave a number of options, all of which we tried. I believe this hotel may be the only one with a pool on the island which was a great treat. There is a little convenience store up the street which was nice to have available. The rooms are spacious for two and there was a large fridge which gave us enough space to store beverages and any leftovers from our outside adventure. If you are someone that cannot resist watching TV while on vacation in the tropics- be warned that the tv set is not large, and a bit difficult to see if you were to watch from the bed. But honestly, who cares?

Be forewarned, the rooms abut the road, and you will hear cars zooming, beeping, sputtering from about 11pm to 2 am, and then again from 4am to 7am. It is really, really loud. We put in ear plugs though, and it was tolerable, almost humorous at times. You can snorkel right outside the resort when the water is calm as well.

Our trip was made even more special by Tyson. What a good guy he was and so incredibly helpful. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TyandAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you so much for such a great and honest review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all that not just the resort offers but the entire island. And, we will certainly pass on your review to Tyson. He works very hard and enjoys what he does and he truly enjoys meeting new people from all over the world. He gets a lot of great reviews and we certainly like to pass those on to him. We hope you can return to the island again and we welcome you back! Thanks again and have safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Furniture felt like it was from a clearance sale where aesthetics were less important than price. Pool was nice. View is gorgeous. Great pizza place across the street. Customer service was not very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room that has working wifi if that is important to you
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review. And, we are very glad you enjoyed the pool and the grounds. I'm sorry to hear about the service as they normally do a good job. I will certainly pass this on to the staff. We are in the process of updating all of the rooms and look forward to that project being completed. Thank you again for your review and have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This is probably the best place to stay on the island. It's good, but it could be great. One waiter in the restaurant (Tyson) was super & did his best to always take care of you. The balance of the restaurant staff - not so much. The rooms were very nice & clean. There's a secret to having hot water in the shower - the lower you set the pressure, the hotter the water. If you set the shower at full stream, the electric water heater attached to the shower head can't keep up so it's cooler. Turn it down a little & the water is hotter. It has a nice pool.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Indiana2Island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I will pass on your review to Tyson as we do get a lot of compliments on him in particular. He does do a great job; he loves his job and it shows. We will also talk to the rest of the staff. It really helps when people let us know the things that didn't meet their expectations. Hot water is hard on the island but glad you figured out how to get the temperature to what you liked. Also very glad you enjoyed the pool. It's especially nice at night swimming and looking out over the ocean. Thank you again and we hope you return again, until then have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were very happy with our stay in Casa Canada. We stayed there two nights and we enjoyed every moment.

We were in room 3 giving directly to the pool and the sea. The view was breathtaking. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The sheets were soft and we could hear the sound of the sea. The food was good and simple.

Tyson and Gina were really nice to us and very helpful. We really appreciated the way we were welcomed in the hotel. Gina explained to us everything and took the time to answer our questions. We also needed a taxi and she was able to organize it for us.

Overall, we really had a good time and we would definitely go back in Casa Canada.

Room Tip: Room 3,4,5 gives the best view of the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review we greatly appreciate it. I will pass it on to Tyson and Gina they really do their best at making everybody feel welcome and at home. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all that the resort has to offer. And, the island in general. We hope to have you back again some day! Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

This is probably the best place on Big Corn Island. We were in a Cabana room that looked out to the ocean and grounds. The room was a good size and spacious. it was also air conditioned, but other parts of the hotel were not. There were rocking chairs on the front porch which at the end of the day we enjoyed looking out on the well manicured grounds. The coast line was rocky but had a small beach if you wanted to get into the ocean. However, the view was gorgeous! The steps from the beach ended up at a lovely pool. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. Our breakfast and lunch waitress brought us breadfruit on two occasions. The kitchen would prepare it for us for no charge. The food was very reasonable and good, especially the soups. I would recommend that this is the place to stay if you are ever on Big Corn Island.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank omegad2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. The staff certainly works hard at making sure everybody feels at home. We are also very happy to hear you enjoyed all that the resort has to offer. I will pass along your review to the staff and let them know how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and we hope you can return to the island in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
3.0 km away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
161 reviews
14.8 km away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
84 reviews
15.4 km away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
16.2 km away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
254 reviews
2.6 km away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Address: Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range: ₹ 7,638 - ₹ 8,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands/Big Corn Island, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing