We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandira Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandira Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

This was the one of the best holidays I've had in Sri Lanka. Since I work overseas when ever I get back home I do plan out a trip and to be honest this was fantastic. The location is easy to reach with excellent facilitates offered at the location and the great service offered by the crew. The bungalow it self is situated right in from of the dikoya planters rugby and cricket ground giving a beafutiful view of the ground and the surrounding areas. The facilities at the bungalow were good with over six bed rooms with all modern facilities.. Te food served up was the best I've eaten out of home. I highly recommend this location for travellers who just want to chill and relax.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Arodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    54
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for one night as a family.

The spacious bungalow is located in the middle of the tea plantation. The scenery is idyllic and it feels very peaceful. The garden and porch area just outside the bungalow is beautiful and well taken care of.

The bungalow has a few bedrooms with a big sitting room, a modern TV room, and a simple dining room. The bedrooms were very big and decorated beautifully in colonial style. The bathroom though could need some work, as the window didn't close (mosquitoes and cold) and the neon light destroyed the feel the bungalow was going for.

The (local) dinner was delicious and (Western) breakfast was ok. Service was good. We received everything we asked for immediately (except for spare blankets for part of our group - it gets very very cold at night).

The only thing that bothered us a little was the staff's and manager's attitude towards the children. The looks we sometimes got made us feel like we were a nuisance.

But all in all, if you are looking for seclusion in beautiful nature and some colonial style experience, this is the place to come to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PotatoHead5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed at the Craig Appin bungalow for 3 nights over New Year 2011/12.

Pros:
It is so peaceful, no other noise except the sound of nature and occasionally the sound of the locals playing a cricket match
Bungalow & rooms full of character
Food OK - Sri Lankan better than western. Tea was amazing (not surprising being on a tea estate!)

Cons:
There is no housekeeping service, so you won't get clean towels, room cleaned or even replacement toilet roll (you have to ask for it)
The English spoken by staff is very basic. Not that I expect anything more - but it was a bit of a problem when there are no menu's and you need to order your food with them. For example asking for toast got us an extra dish, then our driver, then a knife before we managed to get some..
Bedroom furniture & bathroom very tired. Simple things like fixing drawer handles that had half fallen off were not done.
It was a treat for us at £180 a night, and to be honest as lovely as it was, not worth that amount of money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a scam. We booked for a night. After a long drive we called only to find out the number was based in Colombo and nobody answered. If you look closely, there is no real street address, just a bunch of different towns. Beware, this place does not exist. Call before booking if you don't believe me!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDimitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandiraBungalows, Director of Sales at Mandira Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Hi! Sorry to hear that you could not find our property. It is true that we had only published our Colombo Office numbers as this is how we make all reservations. However, since then we have included our property contact numbers along with the manager's contact number. The reason we do not have street numbers is because our properties are located within the tea plantations and there are no street addresses within the tea plantation roads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strovolos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We booked this hotel through an agent online. The hotel does not seem to exist as our local driver could not find it, no one picks up the telephone number and the booking agent also cannot contact the hotel. Payment was made in advance.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandiraBungalows, Director of Sales at Mandira Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Sir,
Sorry to hear that you were not able locate our premises. We do exist as you can see from the reviews. Understand your frustration about not being able to contact us. We had originally displayed our corporate office telephone number in Colombo which closes at 5pm. We have now rectified the problem and have included our property contact numbers as well. Please visit our website www.mandirabungalows.com. It has all the relevant details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
7.5 km away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
30.6 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
22.8 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
22.5 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.0 km away
Tea Hill's Bungalow
Tea Hill's Bungalow
#1 of 12 in Hatton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandira Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandira Bungalows

Property: Mandira Bungalows
Address: Hatton-Watawala, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hatton
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,196 - ₹ 18,824
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandira Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our name suggests our bungalows are of either architectural or historical interest, all offering much of the atmosphere of Sri Lanka’s glorious past. Experience a style of gracious living and soothing relaxation sometimes so scarce in the modern, time pressured ‘civilised’ world. Each bungalow is a haven of peace and tranquility in some wonderfully quiet corners of Sri Lanka. Each is a place where service is founded on instinctive hospitality, where the food is pure delight - and where quality and attention to detail keeps us awake with the desire to serve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mandira Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandira Bungalows Hotel Hatton
Mandira Bungalows Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing