We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Secret Little Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
La Cannelle Plantation Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
La Cannelle Plantation Villa
La Cannelle Pool in the Afternoon
La Cannelle Villa Pool at Night
La Cannelle Day Beds
Doors to La Cannelle Planter's Suite Private Veranda
La Cannelle Cinnamon Beginning to Flush
La Cannelle Driveway at Night
A Freshly Harvested Bundle of La Cannelle Plantation Cinnamon
La Cannelle Cinnamon Bundles
One of La Cannelle Plantation's Prolific Mango Trees
Fresh Cashew Nuts from a La Cannelle Plantation Tree
La Cannelle Summer Ale
La Cannelle Apple Tart
Flying Peacock on the La Cannelle Plantation
Peacock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Weligama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wallace B
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Secret Little Paradise”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Cannelle is an exquisitely designed, spacious 2 bedroom villa surrounded by beautiful well manicured grounds all contained within a thriving cinnamon plantation. As soon as Siril opened the elusive gates to the property on our way in from the airport, we felt we had entered a little Sri Lankan paradise. This sense of peace and tranquility was felt throughout our one week stay where we could lounge by the always sparkling clean pool and enjoy an amazing array of birds and other wildlife on grounds. Apart from the magnificent villa and grounds, we were very well taken care of by Siril and Ranjit who kept the place neat and clean, shared with us their knowledge of Sri Lanka's unique cinnamon production, and prepared deliious meals for us from local produce. Their curries were superior to the restaurant versions we tried. There are lovely beaches nearby (Siril will happily order a tuk-tuk for your transport there) and our two teenage boys enjoyed experimenting with the surf. The charming city of Galle is also a short drive away and definitey worth a trip, as is a day whale watching. Also, not to be missed is a tour of nearby Handunugoda Tea Estate - wonderful family run operation. Finally, the owners of the property, Annabel and Alex, have a rich understanding of the area were always happy to share with us their knowledge of local addresses and special places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious modern well designed villa and pool
Liked least: a few mosquitos !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponky58
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at La Cannelle. Beautiful villa in tropical setting. Lovely rooms and bathrooms . Set in 9 acres of cinnamon plantation so very interesting to walk around. The couple Syril and Rajani who live behind the villa and look after it were very kind. They cooked us dinner on 2 evenings after we discussed in the morning what we would like. The meals were absolutely delicious and as Syril had worked in Dubai as a chef he was an excellent cook. The villa had 5 plantation dogs which were fun. We slept under mossie nets so no problem sleeping at night. Very comfortable beds !
If you want to go to Mirissa or Weligama by tuk tuk , check the price before you get in as the first driver did try and double the fare . We then used some local boys who were great.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YKL1atx
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite stay of our trip, Can't say enough fabulous things about La Cannelle!”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Cannelle was the perfect oasis for 3 nights of our weeklong trip around Sri Lanka. The villa and grounds were gorgeous and very well-appointed. We felt like we were at home instantly and did not want to leave! Everything you could possibly think of was provided... from pool+beach+bath towels, books, games, fresh coconut water (upon request), fast wifi, tv and satellite inside the four poster beds to fall asleep to, etc. The two rooms were huge and could comfortably fit 2 people in each bed plus 1 twinsize for a 3rd or child. The groundskeepers, Siril and Ranji, were so lovely and kind. They took such great care of us during our stay, including making delicious breakfasts and dinners (we were usually out during the day and didn't have lunch). We made this our homebase in the Southern coast while visiting Galle, Unawatuna and Koggala during the daytime. On our last morning, Siril took us on a walking tour around the grounds and showed us how the cinnamon was made. What an adventure, especially through the jungle part! We loved every moment of our stay at La Cannelle and can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny F
kuwait city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful holiday we had at La Cannelle.!”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The house was beyond expectations and is one of the most beautiful settings I have ever been in. The staff made the stay even more special. They are so kind, attentive and warm and helped us with everything, not only in the house but organising transport for our excursions and local trips, and their cooking was the gastronomic highlight of the vacation. We were so excited to visit Sri Lanka and it did not disappoint in any way. The view of the colours of the pool, the sky, and the greenery across the verandah when we opened the bedroom door in the morning will live in my memory and brighten up many a dull day in London. I do hope we can go again some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house & gardens
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like. (Maybe the coffee could have been stronger!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda M
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis on a cinnamon plantation”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of five spent three days here in this beautiful villa hidden away on a cinnamon plantation near Weligama. The managers Cyril and Rajeni were lovely and very helpful. We enjoyed doing a tour of the plantation and relaxing by the pool after a hectic couple of weeks of travelling. Our kids loved surfing down towards Midigama (the owner Jack recommended Michael Bromley at Lions Rest for surfboard hire etc), plus eating out at Zephyr at Mirissa, Our stay here was really lovely. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, relaxing, hidden location with beautiful grounds and pool.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing