We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Favorite stay of our trip, Can't say enough...”
other travellers have booked this property
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
La Cannelle Plantation Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
La Cannelle Plantation Villa
La Cannelle Pool in the Afternoon
La Cannelle Villa Pool at Night
La Cannelle Day Beds
Doors to La Cannelle Planter's Suite Private Veranda
La Cannelle Cinnamon Beginning to Flush
La Cannelle Driveway at Night
A Freshly Harvested Bundle of La Cannelle Plantation Cinnamon
La Cannelle Cinnamon Bundles
One of La Cannelle Plantation's Prolific Mango Trees
Fresh Cashew Nuts from a La Cannelle Plantation Tree
La Cannelle Summer Ale
La Cannelle Apple Tart
Flying Peacock on the La Cannelle Plantation
Peacock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Weligama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YKL1atx
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite stay of our trip, Can't say enough fabulous things about La Cannelle!”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Cannelle was the perfect oasis for 3 nights of our weeklong trip around Sri Lanka. The villa and grounds were gorgeous and very well-appointed. We felt like we were at home instantly and did not want to leave! Everything you could possibly think of was provided... from pool+beach+bath towels, books, games, fresh coconut water (upon request), fast wifi, tv and satellite inside the four poster beds to fall asleep to, etc. The two rooms were huge and could comfortably fit 2 people in each bed plus 1 twinsize for a 3rd or child. The groundskeepers, Siril and Ranji, were so lovely and kind. They took such great care of us during our stay, including making delicious breakfasts and dinners (we were usually out during the day and didn't have lunch). We made this our homebase in the Southern coast while visiting Galle, Unawatuna and Koggala during the daytime. On our last morning, Siril took us on a walking tour around the grounds and showed us how the cinnamon was made. What an adventure, especially through the jungle part! We loved every moment of our stay at La Cannelle and can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulafoley
kuwait city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful holiday we had at La Cannelle.!”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The house was beyond expectations and is one of the most beautiful settings I have ever been in. The staff made the stay even more special. They are so kind, attentive and warm and helped us with everything, not only in the house but organising transport for our excursions and local trips, and their cooking was the gastronomic highlight of the vacation. We were so excited to visit Sri Lanka and it did not disappoint in any way. The view of the colours of the pool, the sky, and the greenery across the verandah when we opened the bedroom door in the morning will live in my memory and brighten up many a dull day in London. I do hope we can go again some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house & gardens
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like. (Maybe the coffee could have been stronger!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda M
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis on a cinnamon plantation”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of five spent three days here in this beautiful villa hidden away on a cinnamon plantation near Weligama. The managers Cyril and Rajeni were lovely and very helpful. We enjoyed doing a tour of the plantation and relaxing by the pool after a hectic couple of weeks of travelling. Our kids loved surfing down towards Midigama (the owner Jack recommended Michael Bromley at Lions Rest for surfboard hire etc), plus eating out at Zephyr at Mirissa, Our stay here was really lovely. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, relaxing, hidden location with beautiful grounds and pool.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T J
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's paradise”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in La Cannelle. It's a great place for relaxing and honey moon. It's clean, quiet and safe. The service is considerate and the food is very delicious. The owner arranged a car to pick up us from colombo airport and took about 2 Hrs to arrive. The Villa is fantastic. We saw lots of animals (no danger), such as birds, peacocks, fireflies, and monkeys in the Villa. It's close Weligama Bay and takes less than 5 mins by car.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcamb...
phnom penh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“sensational”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Last Xmas 2012/13, I had the fortune of being able to rent one of the most wonderful houses in Southern Sri Lanka. The house is located just outside of Weligama on a 9 acre Cinnamon plantation: the house is a modern style with class and character and purpose built for pleasure. Each of the two bedroom suites features private internal and exterior showers, wardrobe space, very comfortable beds and classic furniture. The kitchen is a Chef's dream (being a chef much appreciated) and the lounge/veranda area is perfect for lazy hazy days of Sri Lankan summers.

The veranda wraps around half of the house and is completely open. The Planter chairs are perfect for putting ones legs up to gaze across the Estate. Mornings are especially brilliant for wild life with wild peacocks flying and the sound of monkeys in the distance. It is a bird watchers’ paradise as well.
The staff are excellent, and live on the property. Tea, a Sri Lankan staple, is served as wished in a proper tea set. The staff also cooked some excellent Sri Lankan dishes when we felt inclined to just hang out at the House.
---

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing