We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The deck, the pool and the laguna
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The deck, the pool and the laguna
Lunch on the veranda The living room with TV and DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The deck, the pool and the laguna
Lunch on the veranda
The living room with TV and DVD
The view from the veranda
The deck
The kitchen corner
The Villa from the river
The massage table
The inside patio
The inside patio
The inside patio
The inside Dining room
The dining Table
The living room and the dining room
One of the main bedrooms
One of the main bedrooms
One of the main bedrooms
View on the patio and the bathroom from the bedroom
The inside and outside ensuite bathroom
One of the two main bathrooms
The small room
The small room
The ensuite small bathroom
The ensuite small bathroom
The pool and the view early in the morning
Your boat at sunset
Your boat at sunset
Your drink at sunset
Nightime
Drink
The garden
The green and white garden
Ganesh welcomes you
The inside patio
The inside patio
The Villa
Sunset in front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambalangoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
rachel e
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This villa really has a Wow factor. It is light airy and spacious.Very well appointed and beautiful interior design. It really ticks all the boxes. Fantastic riverside location.
The manager Sampath and his team couldnt do enough to help us. They arranged trips for us to the beachvery nearby. Boat trips. Turtle hatchery and also air conditioned transport wherever we wanted to go.
Kuma the chef and his colleagues cooked excellent dinners and lunches and were at our beck and call whenever we needed them.
There were 6 of us staying and found all amenities very adequate for our needs.
We would highly recommend this villa to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for your message. We are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay in Gangananda, that's why we and the team are working! :-)
We will be happy to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donatienn...
1 review
“Fabulous location ”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Wonderful place in a secured area, well looked after, perfect for a family and children, beautiful view an surround, close to many interesting and/or historical sites. Great staff and great food, we would recommend it to anyone who intend to visit Sri Lanka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thank you Donatienne, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Gangananda! We will be happy to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Nicole & Bruno
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGJONHer...
HEREFORD
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My idea of paradise”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed in this Villa for 2 weeks over Christmas and the new year 4 adults and 2 children. It was amazing I have to say the best Christmas holiday ever. The villa is even better than the photos, all the staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. We ate most nights at the Villa including a BBQ on the beach on Christmas Eve and another on New Years Eve at the Villa with fireworks . The Villa is located in a small village where we were made very welcome and even played cricket with local children which they loved.
We visited the Turtle hatchery and went for a safari to see the Elephants etc also a trip to see the whales ( but be aware it is 2 hours on the boat but would not advise for young children our grand children 6 and 4 did not enjoy ) Wasantha the manager at the villa and his staff made everything perfect you will not be disappointed. My son loves to fish and they will take you out on the lagoon or you can use the Kayak, also the wild life in the garden Chip monks, Fruit bats, Iguana mongoose and huge monitor lizards in the lagoon and a haven for bird life Eagles king fishers herons etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackH1182
1 review
“Better than the pictures!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Where to start?...

The Villa itself is absolutely stunning and quite simply the pictures do not do this place justice? The villa is 5 star and the location is amazing. At the end of a track in a rural Sri Lankan village sitting on the edge of the lagoon. By day we saw eagles, monkeys, lizards and went fishing and by night we watch fruit bats and fire flies.

The pool was perfect for all levels of swimmers and the house was kept to an immaculate standard for the entirety of our stay.

The Staff...

The staff of the villa made this holiday for us. They were absolutely amazing. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The house manager Wasantha helped organise every bit of the holiday from days out to a new laptop charger which he personally collected from Colombo. The boys at the villa were welcoming, polite, attentive and hard working. The way they interacted with us and our children was absolutely amazing and we will miss them all very much. Some of the friendliest, caring and nicest people you could ever hope to meet.

The local villagers also made the holiday very special. We played cricket in the evenings out on the street and they invited us to their street party one evening which was very special.

If you are looking for the holiday of a lifetime look no further.

We can't recommend this place highly enough. 10/10 across the board.

Thankyou so much for having us and making our holiday so perfect.

Jack, Emma, John, Jenny, Scarlett and Charlie

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Total relaxation!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at this villa for 9 nights for our honeymoon and the place completely exceeded all expectations. From booking through to departure, we can not find any negatives to comment on. The surroundings are beautiful with so much wildlife to enjoy. We spent all our days by the pool which was so quiet and peaceful listening to the birds chirping and the flow of the water in the lagoon. The manager Wasantha and the other staff (Batika, Kumar, and the chef (not sure of his name) made our stay even more enjoyable. Wasantha especially went out of his way to ensure our stay was perfect. He even presented us with a personalised gift for our honeymoon on departure which was a lovely touch. Each morning we were served breakfast at our chosen time (the fresh fruit plate they serve first is delicious!), and you can order lunch and dinner from the menu with a few hours notice (we usually ordered lunch after breakfast but did not eat dinner at the villa). The food was cooked freshly by the chef in the service house and was very tasty, generous portion sizes and reasonably priced. The owners of the villa have a boat which they can take you out in on the lagoon. We did this twice and saw huge water monitor lizards swimming in the lagoon. Although we went to Hikkaduwa for dinner each night (cost between 700 and 850 rupees each way) there is actually no need to leave the villa at all. There is a small shop just outside the villa which sells everything you would need. The villa is in a small village so if you do venture out you can see how the locals live which is really interesting. Overall we had an amazing stay and can't recommend this place highly enough! We hope to be back one day soon!For anyone looking for recommendations of things to do/places to eat in the surrounding areas please see my other reviews around this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing