We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
36
105
86
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
105
86
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riverside room riverside location lounge chairs cold eggs breakfast average plenty of hot water the air conditioning sunset
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

2 day stay, upon checking in, reported lack of hot water to disinterested staff. Following morning, the same. Upon returning from day long trek, no water at all. Manager turned and walked away while we were speaking, clearly distracted and uninterested. I can deal without water, but in the hospitality industry, being hospitable goes a long way. Tired facility. Overpriced, even if water in the bathroom were to be included.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank petef69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful location on the banks of the river with a grass section and swing beside the river. Riverside rooms have a balcony with lounge chairs. But... tired rooms, no water pressure, breakfast is average - ovens instead of toaster, cold eggs... - good enough, but not great. Good location to get to restaurants...

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravellingWithKidsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Busy hotel, superb location on the river but the hotel - oh dear. Tired, very tired. Needs a good clean and renovation. So much potential but it's lost. Staff average, breakfast average. Not much else to add.

Room tip: If you don't mind the noise, go for a riverside room
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

That resort looks quite old but is in good condition.
There is a lot of boats parking right in front so if you pay more for a riverside room you end up having a very noisy room in the morning and late afternoon when most people go for a cruise.
The breakfast is at most avg. never saw the burners below pots on between 8:45 and 10am so most food was cold. ( eggs, fried rice, rice soup)
Staff is friendly

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank donkey257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

The pictures on the website look really nice, and this is how the place could be.

Let me start with the good points (I try to be a positivo):
- Location: The place has definitely one of the best locations, as the restaurant is so close to the river and gives a wonderful view of the sunset. The constant activity of coming and going boats is entertaining.
- Rooms: we were travelling as a family so the set-up of our rooms was brilliant: two rooms connected, so we could open a door inside the room.
- The balcony of the bungalow had lovely relax-chairs.
- It was really silent at night (no music to be heard after 22:00) even though we heard a lot of music from the other side of the river earlier in the evening.

However...
- The bathroom in one room had a very unpleasant smell.
- The rooms were dark, totally worn out.
- There was a safe in the room, but it was not possible to use it. There is a safe at the reception desk you can use if you want to.
- There were many ants in the bathrooms (but maybe that's difficult to avoid, so I didn't think too much about it.)
- Breakfast was a the saddest of all: the choice of what to eat was very limited and there were many ants crawling around in the bread (which should not be that difficult to avoid...).
- Upon arrival, we had no hot water so we took cold showers.
- When we got up, we had no water at all so we could not shower. (This is really too bad if you call yourself a resort with three stars, seriously!)

When looking at this place, it gives me a melancholic feeling. This place could have it all as it is all there already! The garden is a tropical pleasure, the riverside, the sunset, the infrastructure. But a refurbishment of the rooms is so desperately needed: take away those sad, brown, dusty covers and replace them with crisp clear white linen and some colorful Laotian textiles. (Re)Paint the walls white. Hide the electricity and switches behind simple panels. We don't need a television from the '70s (so take those dinosaurs out) but improve the WiFi in the rooms. Hang clean mosquito nets over the beds and add a refreshing fan on the ceiling. Open those windows to invite fresh air in. Fix the bathrooms and make sure people can shower...

This place has the potential of being a unique hidden gem, but instead it's something that looks like it wants to remain hidden... So sorry.

Room tip: If you stay here, you need a riverside room.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenabroad2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews