We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday,fantastic resort,wonderful staff”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from 12 nights at Tamassa celebrating our honeymoon and a special birthday and all I can say say is WOW! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were looked after like royalty. Check in was very smooth,hot towel,drinks then a quick explanation of restaurants etc. (although after 17 hours travelling it's a lot to take in) and we were shown to our room(1007 in a quiet part next to the beach) which was lovely-huge bed,big bathroom with bath and walk in shower and his n hers sinks and it was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay.
As many have already stated the staff here are truly are fantastic and work tirelessly to ensure you have a perfect holiday. We found all the staff polite,friendly and extremely helpful and it does seem unfair to specifically name certain ones as it is the whole team that makes it all work (often those behind the scenes that aren't seen)from the chefs , the gardeners, the security guards,receptionists to the staff raking the beach every morning to ensure it all runs smoothly so thank you to each and every one of them. However there were a couple that we built up a rapport with who, for us, just went that extra mile and they were Altaaf in the buffet restaurant-thank you for looking after us so well throughout our stay,always smiling and asking if you could help us in any way and also for organising that specially cooked meal when I was poorly (and to the chef who prepared it), I was so grateful for that and your excellent customer service really stood out,Sherna and Nirma in the buffet restaurant and B bar, lovely Jonathan and his wonderful guitar playing, singing and boundless enthusiasm and last but not least Rafik down at the Playa Bar-if ever there is a section in the Olympics in the future for racing up and down a beach serving drinks this man would win gold. We hold you responsible for serving me and "the boss" far too many cocktails and we now need to go alcohol free until Christmas!! We reckon Dayesh is your apprentice in training as he is coming a close second!
You actually feel that if you asked for the stars from the sky they would try their hardest to get them for you. Parvesh is an amazing Customer Relations Manager-he takes the time to chat to everyone and genuinely listens to you and if you have any issues or there is anything you need you can rest assured he will sort it immediately-can't thank him enough for all he did for us whilst we were there-5 star service thank you.
We had a breakfast on the beach one morning which was amazing and also a special honeymoon meal with our own menu and delicious food-all very romantic.
I would have no hesitation recommending Tamassa to anyone-book it, you will love it.
Mauritius is a beautiful island that is worth exploring and the hotel provides you with a substantial picnic if you are going out and about and I would go back in a heartbeat. Only wish I was there now instead of the wet,dark UK

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parvesh J, Guest Relations Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Alison M,

Your amazing review truly delighted our day.

Millions of thanks from team Tamassa for sharing the wonderful experience you had with us.

We are thrilled to read so many praises especially for our team members who, I truly believe, are the central pillar of the resort and they are the one who make the fifth star of our resort even being a 4 star resort.

I can see that Altaaf, Sherna, Nirma, Jonathan, Rafick, Jayesh who are without any doubt among our stars really made your stay even more fabulous as along with the team they will never let any stone unturned to ensure that our have the best experience ever.

I wish to dedicate your wonderful review to the hard work, extreme passion and genuine friendliness of our team members. Believe me, it will definitely be a great boost of motivation of each one of us to help our guests celebrate life even more.

We all wish to have another wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again and again!!

Sincerely yours’,

Parvesh Jugmohun
Guest Relations Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 5,472 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from spending twelve nights at the Tamassa, this time was even better than the first and we were incredibly impressed by the service, surroundings and food - Go for the beach rooms as these have lovely views. To the staff and management, thanks so much for providing us with a superb holiday. See you again for our third visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BARBSThanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parvesh J, Guest Relations Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear BARBSThanet,

Team Tamassa joins me in thanking you for your loyalty towards our resort.

It is always a great feeling when our guests trust us and come back to celebrate life with us and it makes us so happy to see that your renewed experience was even better than the first one.

One of our values is creativity and at Tamassa, we strongly believe in innovating at all time and we all know that it will be definitely beneficial in enhancing our guests experience and your review truly shows that we are on the right track.

Be back soon, we promise you another wow experience.

Sincerely yours’,

Parvesh Jugmohun
Guest Relations Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Having travelled 12 hours straight and arriving early morning, it was a pleasure to be greeted warmly at the hotel entrance. We were then led to the B-Bar where, over drinks and pastries Boleh and his team welcomed us and gave us an introduction to the resort, whilst smoothly booking a group of about 20 of us in - I have to say this worked really well.

We were then personally escorted to our room which at about 10.00 in the morning was already prepared for us. Two minutes later our luggage was delivered to us - a really nice touch. Our accommodation consisted of a huge bedroom and sliding doors which opened up into the large bathroom - corner bath, enormous shower cubicle and his & hers sinks. We also had a mini bar, safe and a large balcony overlooking Pool A - there are 3 pools in total. The room was brightly decorated and very clean - in fact it was cleaned twice a day (including towel arrangements and flowers on the bed - thank you!) and the mini bar was refilled daily with water, soft drinks, beer etc.

The resort itself was immaculately maintained with an army of cleaners, gardeners, all of whom would acknowledge you with a greeting and a smile - this added to the enjoyment of our stay.

Having heard so many reports about the “burger van” we had to try this out on our first day. Wow - the range and quality of the food served by Reshma and the team (again with smiles and greetings) ensured that this was a firm favourite at lunchtimes - you must try the Chicken burgers and also the Tamassa burger.

Most of our evening meals were eaten at the Show restaurant which, after being shown to your table and drinks orders taken, is self-service. The quality and range of food was absolutely superb - you would struggle not to find something to eat - and again (this is a continuing theme) the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant also had themed evenings to keep the offerings as varied as possible. One suggestion I would make here is that more cutlery is placed on the tables as you do have to use the same knife and fork for both starters and main course.

There is also the Playa restaurant situated on the beach, which offers a wide and varied lunchtime menu with a more limited, but delicious evening menu. Be warned that you do need to book a couple of days in advance and men must wear long trousers.

Breakfasts were a real treat with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, hot food and the nicest omelettes freshly cooked by Davita and Anju.

We spent most of our time at the beach - no problems getting sun beds and hotel-supplied beach towels could be changed at the cabana (so no need to pack your own). The beach itself is sandy and was swept every day to remove the coral. The water was crystal clear and warm, but sea shoes are needed as there are lots of sea urchins on the rocks and in the shallows. The marine life was wonderful, with multi coloured fish feeding from your hands in the shallows - make sure you bring an underwater camera .

There are lots of free water based activities - pedaloes, boating, snorkelling trips and a glass bottomed boat - all of which were offered by the friendly staff in the beach hut.

There is also beach service for drinks and a massive thank you goes to Avish who looked after us so well, to the extent that we would have drinks waiting for us when we returned from swimming. Also thanks to Adish, Cool and the other staff.

We spent most of our evenings at the B Bar, having first watched the spectacular sunsets on the beach, being served a variety of lovely cocktails and local rum - thank you to Nirma, Marina and Sabrina for keeping our drinks topped up. The only issue we had here was the entertainment manager who did not interact with the guests and seemed only interested in dancing with the bands, who I presume are friends of his.

Jonathan played guitar and sang throughout the day - at breakfast for special occasions, lunchtime at the B-Bar and also at the weddings on the beach - you are a real star!

Evening entertainment was varied - the dancers at the Sega evenings were very good as were some of the singers/acts.

A special thank you to Parvesh, Benoit and others who helped me to resolve a problem of my own making with warmth and good humour.

On our last day we had an early start to our homeward journey but even this was made very special as we were served with breakfast on our balcony and had our luggage collected

To summarise my very lengthy review, Tamassa is a beautiful resort in lovely surroundings where everything you could wish for is available. What really makes it special and memorable are its people - those I have mentioned individually but also the many others in the background. It definitely deserves its 5 star rating. I think that this has been our best holiday experience and we look forward to returning in October 2018






Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank rayrids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parvesh J, Guest Relations Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear rayrids,

Millions of thanks from team Tamassa for sharing your amazing holiday experience of TripAdvisor.

As we say, the first impression is always the last impression and I am glad to see that you had a fantastic experience from your very first step in our resort, meeting with one of our amazing star, Bhola

I can see that you took a real pleasure in enjoying our room comfort along with our swimming pools. Your review nearly made our Executive Chef, Vinay to jump out of his chair, I can see that Vinay along with his team did not let any stone unturned to ensure that your palate is being pampered. At Tamassa, we all know that good food is one of the key factors of an amazing holiday and your praises will definitely help us in continuing the wonderful job accomplished so far.

It will be a real pleasure to share your wonderful praises to Bhola, Reshma, Davita, Anju, Avish, Adish, Cool, Jonathan, Marine, Nirma, Sabrina, Benoit and the whole team who worked with passion and so heartedly to ensure that you have the best holiday experience ever and which will remain as everlasting memories to cherish.

Once again huge thanks from the whole team as your review will definitely serve as a great motivation for all of us and we truly wish to have many more opportunities to welcome you back in not a distant future.

Sincerely yours’,

Parvesh Jugmohun
Guest Relations Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Me and my wife stayed here on our honeymoon Oct17.

The hotel is in absolutely gorgeous setting. The private beach is amazing. great for snorkelling and diving.

The food was ok - Buffet style.

the Burger van is amazing.

They also sorted out a private honeymoon dinner on request - at the beach front - candle lit dinner.

Our reps Joanna ad Veenu were superb. Thanks guys


Snorkling was a bit of mixes experience. As a first timer - it was difficult and the initial trainer was poor. Did not give me chance to get familiar with the equipment. Gave up and asked me to go with the beginners - bit disappointed with his attitude ( cant remember his name tho). However the two guys - Nick and Sebastian were brilliant and helped me enjoy the rest of diving experience. love to do it again.

Room Tip: the beach side rooms def have great view - especially at sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gajen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parvesh J, Guest Relations Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Gajen B,

Thank you for choosing Tamassa to celebrate your honeymoon.

At Tamassa, we know that this special occasion means a lot for our guests and after reading your review, it is such a great feeling to read that you had a fabulous experience with us and most of all that the genuine friendliness of our team members like Venu, Joana, Nick and Sebastian was the highlight of your holidays.

My apologies for the shortfall you encountered whilst starting your first diving initiations which I can reassure you is definitely not how we showcase our standard to our guests and I am glad to see that Nick and Sebastian really went the extra mile to ensure that you enjoy the best diving experience ever to such an extent that you already want to renew this experience.

We all wish to welcome you back very soon to celebrate life.

Sincerely yours’,

Parvesh Jugmohun
Guest Relations Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I came here in July for our 5 year anniversary. The experience from the second we came to Tamassa was spectacular.

The staff at Tamassa really do go over and beyond. Massive thanks to Parvesh for his hospitality.

My husband and I are both vegetarian, and were initially worried about the food. We met with executive chef Vinay who told us not to worry and introduced us to chef Subash and chef Hardeep to make sure we had tasty meals throughout our stay. Even though we were offered this, we found that the veg options were plentiful!

For our 5 year anniversary meal we had dinner on the beach. The setting was super romantic and we even had a personalised menu!

The cocktail list on the all inclusive is pretty extensive and most are pretty tasty!

We decided to get our Padi dive license whilst in Mauritius. There is a dive school on the resort and our dive instructor Nitish was awesome! He was really patient and an excellent teacher.

All the staff at this resort deliver exceptional service and make you feel so welcome. Would definitely recommend this resort!

We wish everywhere we stay in the future can as pleasant as this.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Menni-ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parvesh J, Guest Relations Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We were truly amazed this morning while sharing your review as I can notice that you stayed with us in July and we feel so proud to see that you are still cherishing the wonderful moments and experience you had with us.

Huge thanks from team Tamassa for showing the whole world how we help our guests celebrate life at Tamassa. It is so nice to see that Our Executive Chef, Vinay along with Chef Subash, Harjeet did not leave any stone unturned to ensure that your palates are delighted.

At Tamassa, our team members are what make the difference and is a real credit to our resort by ensuring that every single needs and request of our guests are catered to ensure that you have the best experience ever which will remain as everlasting memories.

I will definitely pass on your sincere appreciations to the whole team and we truly wish to welcome you back again and again to celebrate life.

Sincerely yours’,

Parvesh Jugmohun
Guest Relations Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
12.3 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,157 reviews
0.7 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
24 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.1 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,506 reviews
61.4 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,977 reviews
51.6 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: ₹ 17,887 - ₹ 39,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing