We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel to suit all age groups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamassa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamassa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel to suit all age groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of February (not the BEST time of year to visit Mauritius), but this hotel and the staff more than made up for the humidity and cyclone threat!
The welcome was well organised and a full explanation of all the facilities was given by one of the welcome hosts. Our bags were efficiently delivered to our room, while we were escorted there and given an idea of the whereabouts of the pools/gym/spa etc. It is quite a complex layout until you've been there a few days and the plan of the hotel is a little bit small, but that means it's easily popped into a pocket/bag....
Our room was modern and bright, with a fantastic bathroom with 2 basins, very large shower, and bath. There is not a great deal of storage in the wardrobes, but most of my husband's clothes remained in his case so I got the shelf/wardrobe space. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Our fridge was replenished daily and all the contents were part of the 'all inclusive' package - however, I believe there is more than one type of 'package'.
The family accommodation seemed to have been situated in its own area, which helped to segregate children to a degree, allowing for peaceful sunbathing. There are 3 pools, plus the spa has its own pool and lovely lounging area. (I felt that the prices were high, but this is the norm for the island) There are plenty of sun beds, both round the pools and along by the beach. The beach is beautiful white sand and the lagoon is turquoise blue and so clear! There are beach sellers, but they are not a problem and can only come onto the hotel property if you invite them. We walked for about a mile along the beach to the right and it was extremely scenic and interesting, with locals that are happy to chat and befriend you!
The main restaurant serves a huge selection of food and it was beautifully presented.and always hot. Breakfast is first class and even the bacon is good quality, which is quite rare when you are abroad! Omelettes, eggs etc are cooked to order. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. The Beach Bar/Restaurant was also very good, with an a la carte menu and the wine which is served is of a good standard, which is not always the case in an 'all inclusive' package.
There was a welcome evening where we were introduced to all the heads of department and that was well organised and helped us to get to know other guests.
So, full marks to The Tamassa and the staff!

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was fine and therefore we had no reason to look any further. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LesleyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear LesleyNorman,

Remember that last great letter you read where each line you read brought an even larger smile to your face?

Same just happened to me!

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,433
    569
    104
    32
    17
See reviews for
1,254
2,100
67
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tamassa for three weeks in January / February 2012 on a fully inclusive basis in a standard room.

The hotel is about 45 minutes from the main airport and as with all the hotels has gated access with security guard on duty 24 hours a day.

The hotel reception area is impressive with a light, spacious and airy feeling which is due to the open nature of the design. There are large open windows looking out onto one of the pools and the ‘B bar’. There is an international phone kiosk by reception where you can make free calls to virtually any part of the world.

Rooms are located in blocks of 4, 6 or 12 set in the beautiful tropical gardens full of palm trees fragrant frangipane and a host of brightly coloured flowers. All the room blocks are well spaced apart in the gardens and there is a general feeling of spaciousness. The rooms are arranged around a pool and in total there are three pools.

There is a large beach area with a boathouse where you can book snorkelling, glass bottom boat rides, canoes and pedaloes all free. They can also arrange more adventurous trips such as deep sea fishing and speed boat rides. The apartments run down to the beach where there is also another bar called The Playa and an a la carte restaurant. We found the staff attentive and friendly. The lagoon in front of the bar has many fascinating colourful fish you can see just by paddling out a few metres but you get a better view snorkelling.

The design and layout of the hotel and grounds are just wonderful and you can’t fail to be impressed. Book a table for lunch or dinner at The Playa restaurant and you can have a drink at the bar over looking the sea and then dine on the veranda and watch the sun go down. Quite spectacular. I remember thinking – if this isn’t paradise then it’s damn close.

Staff are friendly and helpful throughout the hotel and always ask if everything is OK and are you enjoying yourself. There are plenty of staff on duty throughout the hotel and a whole army of cleaning and gardening staff busily keeping things in order.

The main dining room, the Show restaurant is large and again, open plan. Therein lies, what was for us the only downside to our experience at the hotel. Because of the wide open, windowless and open door design, there are quite a number of wild birds flying in and through the dining area. For us there are far too many sparrows, mynah birds and pigeons swooping and landing on tables. At breakfast and lunch they are at best a nuisance and at worst a health hazard. We did raise this with our tour representative but nothing really changed. It is a pity that for all its other attributes this hotel seems unable to deal with the problem.

Food in the main dining room is served on a buffet basis and at breakfast there is a wide range of fresh fruit on offer. Melon, pineapple, grapefruit, mango, papaya are all available. There are plenty of cereals, eggs done any way you like and a range of fresh bread. At lunch and dinner you can expect at least 6 choices and there is plenty of fish and meat. Marlin and Tuna were regularly on offer and chicken, lamb and beef dishes in various forms were available. The food tends to be fairly non spicy to cater for different palates but we asked the chef for a spicy curry and the next day he prepared one just for us to our specification. That is really good service. They have their own pizza oven producing some excellent pizzas.

Down a La Playa the food is not so good if you opt for the all inclusive menu and this is mainly because there is too much emphasis on fried food. A confit of duck turned out to be nothing of the sort, just a fried spring roll with fried vegetables and a trace of duck - somewhere! A soufflé turned out to be a blob of ice cream and a frozen ginger compote – absolutely nothing to do with soufflé at all. However, if you go for the a la carte menu which you have to pay for, the food is really good. We had lobster and fillet of beef that were absolutely superb. The real advantage in dining here is the beautiful location and the waitress service.

Drinks at the bars and restaurants are free if you are fully inclusive and I think this is the only tariff the hotel operates. Local beer is very good and there are lots of different cocktails. Wine is South African and best ordered by the bottle so that it comes in an ice bucket and served to you.

Entertainment is provided each night and is of varying quality. There was a very energetic and colourful South African dance group but equally there were some frankly awful bands.

Bedrooms are well appointed with large screen tv showing several English sports channels, sky news and English films. Air conditioning is very effective and necessary at night. There is a very large comfortable double bed and bathroom with shower, toilet and double wash hand basins plus wardrobe space and a room safe.

A fully equipped gymnasium with cross trainers, rowing, cycling etc, all in air conditioned coolness is very popular. There is also a tranquil and very professional massage spa centre where you can book a whole range of treatments.

Room Tip: Suites are located by the sea but likely to be pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Julian P,

Indeed, the sparrows in the Show restaurant are as famous as Jack Sparrow!

But behold.....we may have found the solution to the birds! We hired in a new pest control company (hope the CEO does not go too unhappy when seeing the bill) and they have been here for the past week now. They have installed all sort of non visible gadgets and visible ones and these seem to be doing the trick.

Cross fingers, it stays as it is now - that is only one or two 'Jacks' flying around.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
257 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have been at the Tamassa from the 20th to the 27th of Feb 2012 with my wife and my daughter of 2.
It was my first time in Mauritius and I have choosen the hotel based even on these Tripadvisor comments...but unfortunatelly what we found was..much below our expectations.

First of all we arrived at 9.00 o'clock in the morning and, even if we had the early check in in our reservation, we didn't have the room until 2 o'clock in the afternoon, after complaining at the reception.

Our room was ok at the first glance, but then we discover that the AC didn't work properly, it worked only at full speed...and was really noisy.
In the bathroom close the the basins we had a colony of ants going back and forth from the window to the basin. I have highlighted it to the reception, but it was temporary solved only for the first night. after that we had the ants for the all week.
Towels...especially the beach towels (red once) were smelly...I have doubts that they have nevere been replaced with fresh once.

Food: I'm Italian, so a little bit pretending in terms of food...but in this case it was really really bad!! The quality of the buffet at the Show restaurant is really poor and tasteless.
My opinion is that Tamassa is offering the All Inclusive but to do so they are buying and offering cheap food and drink!!!

Overall I would not advice Tamassa!!!
I'm really really surprised to read so many positive comments in Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VGItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear VGItaly,

I am very sorry to read taht your first day among us started on the wrong foot.

Again, i would invite all readers to double check your iteneary before leaving your travel agency. Our check in time is 14h00 and check out is 11 am. If the hotel is fully booked the previous night of your arrival, we cannot guarantee your room to be ready on arrival unless same has been prebooked form the previous night.

Furthermore, as expalined in our room directory and as part of our Eco-Friendly program, if your towel is not in the bath tub, same will not be changed.

Nevertheless, we will ensure that same communication is well explained on arrival to our guests.

SIncerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

First time in Mauritius and very pleased with choice of hotel, found hotel to be quiet and relaxing. Food was really good and only used A la carte once as preferred the main restuarant as there was more choice and not so formal. Hotel set in its own grounds and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 1100 was ideal for us as close to pool and close to restuarant and only shhort walk from beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Jimmy-Brenda,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

Again, nice to read that we made your stay among us as comfortable and easy as poosible.

SIncereley,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We visited Tamassa en route to our new life in Australia, we chose Tamassa due to it being a very good price and the childrens facilities, along with the fact it was not hours from the airport. We travelled Air Mauritius, which we will never again, but they were on time and we arrived safely which is the most important thing. So then Tamassa!

Arrival

Greeted with a cold towel and a drink, the lobby was beautiful. The check in was a little slow, but it is a very relaxed place so that wasnt too bad

Rooms

Rooms are very nice and modern, clean and with all the facilities you need, we had a standard room, although we had booked a family room, but it was fine for the 3 of us, so we didnt complain as we had a really good spot central within the hotel.

Restaurants

The main restaurant was fine and had a good selection of foods, although breakfast was pretty repetitive, but it had the omlette station etc, so you could always find something. The food quality was good, but the service was often very slow, sometimes you would be halfway through your meal before your drink would arrive, this happened frequently, and we often had to ask more than once for our drinks. The restaurant is very spacious but can get quite loud during busy times. The hotel was quite quiet when we were there with only a few children, this meant that often the childrens buffet was not available, this was not a problem for our 4 year old as she is a good eater, however this I think could cause some problems for other parents.

The snack bar at the beach was our favourite lunch stop, lovely pizza's, satay, fries and fruit, samosa's etc, this is all we needed at lunch time and the food was always cooked fresh and was always very good. Cocktails are also excellent from here :)

The beach restaurant, which you have to book as soon as you arrive at the resort as it gets booked very quickly was excellent for the evening, but we werent impressed with the lunch time offering, simply because it was usually just transferred down from the main kitchen. The set menu and al la carte were both delicious and varied. The kids menu is also good, but consists of the usual fish and chips, chicken and chips etc, one day our daughter wanted prawns and vegetables, so we asked could she have that and they provided the biggest prawns I have ever seen and they were excellent. We ate here about 3 times, and it was excellent, the service here is also excellent.

Beach

Beach is a small beach and is a little rocky, we were there in September and found the sea quite cold, but it was absolutely fine for playing on, there are many urchins washed up so maybe with little ones wear footwear when on the beach.

Pools

An abundence of pools which are never crowded, the top pool by the main bar was our favourite spot as the staff there are excellent, snacks are also yummy there, especially the samosa snacks in the evening.

Kids Club

The kids club here is very good, as long as there are other kids around, like I mentioned previously there were only a couple of kids when we were here and luckily our daughter made a friend and was more than happy to spend as much time as we would allow in the kids club, they made various items, there is a shaded sand pit, a tv area and a kitchen where they provide drinks and snacks, the great thing about here is that the kids club is open until 10pm, which means that adults get an opportunity to have dinner alone if they require. On the days that the friends were not around however, my daughter wasnt keen to go to the kids club.

Overall, this was a good, clean hotel and a good choice for families travelling to Mauritius, it was excellent value for money, and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsWoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Mrs. Woodie,

So, how is it going there down under?

I hope you and your family has now settled in and the new life in Australia has started well.

Thank you for your comments detailing the areas of improvement and we are also gald to read that overall you have had some great time among us.

To our readers; Please note that in the event that there is no children buffet in our Main resaurant, a child menu is always available - please ask any one of our hostesses.

Sinecerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
12.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
61.3 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,941 reviews
52.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.4 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
60.9 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa

Property: Tamassa
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,245 - ₹ 47,022
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HRS so you can book your Tamassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing