We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and very wonderful”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just came back from Tamassa and I can tell you, it is the most wonderful hotel where you can feel being like a princess. Treated with so much love and care as if you are the apple of their eye. As soon as we got out of our car, the bell boy greeted us with a huge smile. Already we knew that our stay would be excellent.

Reception and formality procedure did not take us long compared to the other hotels. Our room.. Oh my God.. Amazing.. As we are not a first time client, we got a surprise gift in our room. Everything was neat and shimmering. Very nice. The bed very well done and very well arranged. the color aspect made it more pleasant to the eyes.

The bar lounge, the swimming pools, the spa, the jalsa night club, the playa restaurant, the night entertainment, everything was great. The night club jalsa also very exciting with dj's. All our song requests were approved without any problem. Thank you to Mr Gino. Service at b.bar and playa restaurant on the beach was superb. Great Service.

Now the Show Restaurant: No words. Amazing in such a hotel you get so many nice staff. Very friendly and helpful staff. Buffet was very good. We were treated like princesses. No words to describe how good it was and what make it more wonderful is the pleasantness and politeness of the head of the restaurant, that is the restaurant Manager, Mr Yasveen and the supervisor, Mr Vikash. They made it a must to check on us if all is well and they did that for every client during the dinner time.

Very charming staffs. Thank you to everyone and I highly recommend the hotel to the others looking for a holiday trip.

Room Tip: room near the playa restaurant wonderful.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Leena B,

Your comments posted on our Team Members notice board has pulled in quite a bit of a crowd!!

From all of us here at Tamassa, THANK YOU.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,160)
There are newer reviews for Tamassa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,732 - 2,736 of 5,160 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

30 degrees C during the day & lovely warm pools - you couldn't knock it while the UK was enjoying minus temperatures. We were all inclusive which we try to have every time we go away as it's so good. Good news is that the mini bar (beer ,wine,& soft drinks) in your room is included in the all inclusive package (replenished daily) all inclusive covers 11:00 - midnight daily for your eating & drinking..
The hotel is light and airy in the main buildings - you don't have to wear one of those annoying bracelets some hotels insist on if you are an all inclusive guest. You do however have to sign a receipt after your meals & when ordering some drinks - This does not appear on your bill so I assume this is for guests who are not on the all inclusive package.
Our hotel transfers was by private taxi - took about 50mins to complete due to the winding narrow roads.
The bedroom was quite roomy & clean with both roller blinds & curtains, although we did have to report a problem with the air conditioning (noisy & not very cold) 5 times before it was fixed. The bathroom has his & hers sinks, a bath tub & a walk in shower. The wardrobe includes an electronic safe (no charge).
A Hair drier is included in the room - the electrical sockets are mostly the UK 13 amp type although there was 1 Euro round pin socket too. TV (built in dvd player) shows French & South African channels (Sky news too)
No iron or ironing board is available either in the room or at reception. If you need anything pressed you need to use the hotel laundry at a very modest charge. Bathroom towels are plentiful and Beach towels are placed in your room daily - a tablet of soap & various shampoos & gels are included in the bathroom, as are facial tissues. Hot water was plentiful.
A kettle with tea/coffee & 2 mugs is also in your room
The swimming pools are a good size, not too deep and are of the "infinity" type. One major pain was the ring of nasty sharp gravel surrounding the poolsides (other reviews mention this) - the sunbeds all sit on this horrible stuff - sandals are a must all the time, but the gravel still gets you. What were they thinking?
Plenty of sunbeds are available near the beach (on a grassed area) - a better alternative to sharp gravel. Some attended service at your sunbed by bar serving staff in this area - which is handy.
Food was varied & plentiful & freshly cooked - plenty of fish (Marlin, Tuna etc) lots of choice with locally baked bread - we saw small and medium sized birds flying around in the restaurants - one morning a sparrow was having a dust bath in the coco pops! The birds will land on any uncovered & unattended food. Pigeons were walking around under the tables. There was netting on some windows but they still get in.
Service in the restaurants & bars was pretty good - just sit down at the bar area & someone appears to take your drinks order - as soon as your glass is empty they reappear. There were large groups (18+) of French / Russian & Italian guests who all want to sit together in the bars & restaurants - they can be a bit loud when the drinks flow.
At the end of our stay I put money into the tip box at reception - this is distributed amongst all the staff. WiFi available in most areas. We did have 1 day of wind & rain due to a nearby passing cyclone. A disabled toilet included in the main reception building, although signage is a bit poor. A toilets in the public areas are air conditioned & very clean. Bars & restaurants are not air conditioned but most have ceiling fans.
Generally we thoroughly enjoyed our warm relaxing stay for 1 week , although it's a 12 hour flight by Air Mauritius direct from Heathrow. Hotel checkout is 11:00 am on your final day.

Room Tip: a ground floor room was great - put the air conditioning through it's paces when you arrive .
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GarySkuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Garyskuse,

FIrst of all, apologies for the delay in getting the air conditoning system fixed. At one stage, it was so hot that some of our compressors just could not cope so new ones had to be bought in - again sorry.

Overall, glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves amongst us.

On another note, we cannot have thinner sands around the pool as these will get blown into the pool (and pumps) and drinks during windy season. Rest assure that we are looking for an alternate product that will go with the architectural design.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We flew from heathrow with BA, flight was excellent with free bar! myself and my husband went to tamassa with our 2 friends as our annual holiday in may 2011, We was not disapointed.

First impression of hotel is Wow and it was so quite, You are met with the pool view and no one seems to be around the pool, But why travel thousands of miles to sit around a pool when you have gorgeous sea views.

ROOMS :- Queen size beds, gorgeous bathrooms with bath and showers, Plenty of hanging space for clothes (wardrobe each) and stunning views of the beach. Can not hear your neighbours either, even with inter connecting doors.

SEA:- gorgeous view, a little bit rocky so sea shoes are required, and they sell the shos at the shop and are quite cheap.

FOOD:- Always something to eat in main buffet restaurant, and speciality restaurant is very nice, usually a set menu but always very tasty.

BARS:- main bar is really good and where all the activities are at a evening, had a fashion show on and a fireworks night which was excellent, staff are always walking around refilling your drinks and not to keen of people sitting at the bar or going to the bar yourself, The beach bar is where we tended to sit most night except when watching entertainment, The beach bar is lovely and relaxing and staff are brill, always up for a laugh and very friendly.

TRIPS:- we did safari quad bikes, OMG never laughed so much it was fabulous must recommend that all adrenalin junkies do this, we saw a zebra's, ostrich, pigs, moose's, reindeer's, and many more! you are actually sat next to them or touching them rather than them being in cages.
We also walked with the lions, Best expeirence of our life's, you get to walk with 2 baby lions for around an hour or through the woods and then taken in a cage after wards to have photo's taken with more and you are stroking them. You can do both the above trips in one day (you are not told this at the time of booking though) saves going to the same place on seperate days.
Also did catarmran trip which is also brill.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, quite a distance from the airport and an early morning trip to airport on way home but overall a brill holiday.

BAD POINTS... bar staff tend to bring you over what you think are free drinks and if you refuse them, they drink them and you still end up getting charged for them at the end of your stay so beware of over charging.
Also having to sign for everything, it can be quite annoying, whether its a quick drink or relaxing having dinner. Oh and beware of the french - so rude they do tend to just push in at the dining room they do not do manners.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spenny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Spenny05,

The barmen said they were tasting....yeah right!

Sorry about that but necessary procedures have been set in place since and lets hope such 'tasting' does not happen again.

We are extremely happy to read that you have had some thrilling moments, not only in Tamassa but Mauritius as well.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

From the arrival to the departure we were pampered and welcomed.The night club jalsa also very exciting with dj's. Service at b.bar and playa restaurant on the beach was superb. Will definitely recommend to others to have some holidays over there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khedun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Khedun V,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.

I can see that you are from Vacoas and kinldy note that we have special Day packages at Tamassa.

Just drop me a line at info@tamassaresort.com and i will send the details over.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our stay at Tamassa was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful staff. Buffet was very good. We stayed there for around a week and we were given a royal treatment by the staff.

My wife is a vegetarian, and the moment chef / staff knew about it, they ensured she get pure vegetarian food, whenever we visited the restaurant.

Even rooms are very well maintained and me been a cleanness freak ; i liked the standard to which rooms were maintained.

Beach is little rocky, but that does not kill the fun !

We also had a candle light dinner @ palaya which was great !

Also a tip to travelers, water is very expensive. A single bottle costs around 100 MUR.
Overall, very satisfied with the resort and I am happily referring it to all my friends.

Room Tip: Take room on first floor. You get good view and good privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Ritesh_Bisht,

Thank you so much for your positive comments which reflect your experince among us.

We are happy to read that we have passed your 'Cleanliness' test :-) and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Oh by the way, i am not sure of you tried snoekelling, but the rocks hide such a wonderful and amazing undersea life.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
12.3 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
48.7 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
52.9 km away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.4 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,630 reviews
24.0 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
45.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: ₹ 21,541 - ₹ 48,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing