We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from our first visit to Mauritius and have had a wonderful holiday at Le Telfair. On arrival we were met by the very friendly and professional reception staff and were also welcomed by the General Manager. Our ground floor river view room was lovely, spacious and light. The gardens are beautiful and very well cared for. We went all inclusive and found that this was a good choice as we could eat in any of the restaurants and drinks were included. The breakfasts served at Annabellas were excellent and catered for all tastes. We dined at Annabellas, the Chateau and Gin'ja and the food was of a very high quality and the staff were efficient and friendly at all times. We did dine at the Balafon (Awali) one evening but prefered the restaurants at le Telfair. The beautiful Cavendish Bar was the place for our pre dinner cocktails and snacks and after dinner coffees with attentive and friendly staff. The pool and beach bar served drinks all day, light lunches and then pancakes in the afternoon and a visit to the beach for drinks and snacks at sunset is a must. The spa was so lovely I had three visits! We made use of the bikes at the Activity Centre and had several good trips out with a guide. Overall our first visit to Mauritius was a wonderful experience and we could find no fault with the beautiful hotel and excellent service from the staff in all areas. We loved the way many members of staff greeted you by name every day and made you feel special.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,116 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Almost exellent and friendly staff. Nice bar with dinnermusic. You can hear the air con working, but its not really a noisy. TV ist not the best but on top range. Watersport ist not possible every day due to the sealeavel, but the are good alternatives.

Allow at least one night for dinner at the chateau!
Buffee at the Balafon (sisterhotel next by) is not that good. You dont have to go there....
Recommendable is the Gingars (asia cousin) with their on little herbs garden.

Our room was next to the bridge, close to the beach club. really nice, seaview and birds at your balcony.

Room Tip: rooms on the beach in the south have sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgraenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the Le Telfair between 10th March and 24th March and had a wonderful relaxing holiday. This was our third trip to Mauritius we had previously stayed at the Maritimbut we decided this time to try the South. We were originally booked in the Heritage Awali but a few days before depature the travel agent asked if we would consider moving to the Telfair (due to overbooking) on the assurance this was an upgrade. We were a bit apprehensive at first but our concerns were completely unfounded and on arrival we found this to be much better hotel. The colonial style building and gardens are beautiful, we had a river view room on the ground floor which was very spacious, light and clean. We were all inclusive so we could eat at any of the restaurants on the al a carte menu or buffet at the Balafon at the Heritage and drinks were included. We dined at the Balafon and Infinity Blue (Awali) and Annabellas, Gin'ja and the Chateau for the Mauritian experience. We were a bit disappointed with the food in the Awali restaurants but this was probably due to the fact that we had already been spoiled by the excellent food and service in the Le Telfair restaurants. The pool and beach bar Le Palmier also served light lunches and pancakes in the afternoon. The quality and flavour of the food at all the restaurants was superb. In early evening at the Palmier they set up tables and chairs on the beach and serve drinks and snacks which is a perfect place to enjoy the sunset. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to help and they really made the holiday very special. We had a few spa treatments which I would recommend and also made use of the gym, tennis courts and bike rides at the activity centre. We had cocktails every night at the Cavendish Bar which is a beautifully decorated room in the Colonial style, the staff were very attentive and they also served a variety of snacks with the drinks. Overall this was a perfect holiday in fabulous surroundings, beautiful hotel and with excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We recently stayed at Le Telfair for a week with our 3 year old twin boys. We had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the stay immensely - so much so that on the penultimate day I was trying to see if I could change our flights and extend for a few days, which unfortunately was not possible. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. We tried to get the boys to stay in the kids club so we'd have a bit of a break ourselves, but they absolutely refused to go so it was a real family holiday in the end!

I used the spa and had 3 lovely hours being pampered in a really relaxing environment. My husband went scuba diving - divers note the diving is not particularly impressive. We ate at Annabellas as we had the kids with us in the evenings and found it easier if we had a table outside so they could play with the least disruption to the other guests! Minor niggles - birds in the restaurant were a bit of a nuisance. And the pillows were lumpy things, plus they did not realise there were 2 children (this could have been the travel agent's error) so had to hurriedly put up a makeshift bed.

We took the half board option and in hindsight I think it might have been better to go for all inclusive as the lunch and drinks were quite expensive - but although for South African wallets it might seem expensive, I think the prices were consistent with a 5 star hotel.

Beach is lovely and we also really enjoyed the C-Beach club which was better suited to the kids than the beautiful pool area in the hotel. I was too lazy to make use of the gym, but it was extremely well equipped and looked great.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with river views, with a balcony which was a bit nerve wracking with 2 inqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I've travelled all over the world, 47 countries in total, and this is the first time I have felt so positive about a hotel that I committed to take the time to write a report on TripAdvisor upon my return. Le Telfair was a a five star experience in all aspects. Beautiful hotel, with a refreshing, colonial style and very well maintained. Food in Annabella's was first class (we took the half-board option). It didnt involve a buffet melee which suited us. We had a lovely meal and experience at the Mauritian night at Chateau Bel Ombre and Lobster meal on the beach, under the stars.

One key factor in choosing Le Telfair was not only the look of the hotel, and the positive reports on TripAdvisor but the golf course which was complimentary. Beautiful course, very well kept and an all round first class golfing experience. We played eight times ! Apparently its now the No 1 golf course in Mauritius.

Super modern gym, with David a personal trainer on hand. The Thai Chi was very relaxing. Some nice touches like an on site nurse (all are included in the price with no extra charges). Nice spa although like many in these good hotels, quite expensive.

One main differentiating factor was the quality of staff who delivered excellent customer service in a very natural, friendly manner. All obviously had very good training and most we spoke to had been there since the hotel opened 7 years ago, always a good sign. Very reliable, if someone said they were going to do something, they did it and in a timely and professional manner. Management very visible and proactively sought feedback for continuous improvement.

All in all, would highly recommend.. Note: Le Telfair is certainly a level up from its sister hotel The Awali next door.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
11.6 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,150 reviews
23.5 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,667 reviews
54.9 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
6.5 km away
Shanti Maurice Resort & Spa
48.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: ₹ 15,023 - ₹ 46,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Wellness Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing