We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel So Mauritius(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$ 352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$ 548
US$ 368
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamassa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$ 405
US$ 379
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$ 340
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 265
US$ 258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Indian Resort(Le Morne)
US$ 288
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 271
US$ 181
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,138)
Filter reviews
2,138 results
Traveller rating
1,689
287
101
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
287
101
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet blisscavendish barcolonial styleginja restauranthalf boardgin jajunior suitekids clubc beach clubkite surfingsister hotelrange roverheated poolour honeymoonwater sportschoice of restaurantssea view
Filter
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 2,138 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just finished 2 weeks of vacation in Mauritius. first week in the Telfaire and second week at the Anahita. We are a family we 2 kids (3 and 6) and are playing golf. We have been last year for the first time ion this hotel and we made our second holiday this february. I think it's important to describe what you are aiming for to understand a review.

The very good.
- Senior Suite are very nice and big (but also expensive) which is good with 2 kids.
- Hotel colonial Style and garden are very nice.
- Staff is lovely are really listening to you (a majordome is assigned to your room and always looking that things goes right.
- SPA is very nice, but treatment are expensive for Mauritius
- dinner are usually very good at the Annabel's (main restaurant). Food is changing every evening. We had a indian buffet which was great (but again way too expensive)
- 3 other restaurants are available, so you can change (but they are too expensive for the quality)
- golf course is excellent
- The new C restaurant is a good alternative and the location is great for kids

The Good
- Beach and sea are nice
- Main Pool is good but you can find a lot better on the island. But nor really adapted to small kids (C club is better alternative here)
-kids club is good but we found better quality at the anahita



To Improve
- Ginja restaurant quality has decreased since last year, but the price are still very high. I m ok to pay if the quality follows. This was not the case this year. We went just once.
- Restaurant price are too high for the quality. Specially for kids and the wines. Price for special buffet is way to high too.
- Service at the Annabel's does not meat the 5 stars level. Slow, forgetting sometimes what you asked, some team member shirt were wet already during the breakfast (a bit disgusting).
- too many people at the Annabel's restaurant during breakfast or dinner, sometimes had the feeling of cantine.
- We had golf included in the room price but had to pay for the golf cart which were very expensive (1900 R)

Overall we had a very good stay at the telfair. Certainly one of the best hotel on the island, specially if you can get a good price on some website like Ebookers. The week after we went to the Anahita which was in our opinion better in some areas for about the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sylvie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

What a great hotel !

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly!

I think there should be more half board menu options available at the other restaurant/s to make dinning more exciting.
Was going to make a mention of the drinks prices but then stayed at the Sofitel ïmperial the week after and saw their drinks were MORE expensive for a lower quality hotel.

Cant wait to return !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

What we always loved in particular about LeTelfair is it's closeness to nature and the beautiful colonial style architecture, not mention the staff, many of which have become our close friends - almost like family. It is a true paradise.
The reception arrangement is royal, at least you feel like one.
The Cavendish bar is an exceptionally beautiful building.
The Awali hotel next door has been acquired by the company since our last visit. We have not actually stayed there, but a brief walk around on the Awali premises was more than enough.
Not everything with Le Telfair is singing and dancing, though.
We paid for an extra day to be able to get to our room already in the early morning, immediately upon arrival. The room was not ready! No explanation, no apology, no compensation offered.
We asked for a specific room, in which we stayed before and we understood that our request might be possible to fulfill. Not so, we were given another room, which wasn't as good as the one we wanted. No explanation, no apology.
A complimentary wine bottle in the room at arrival was a part of the package we paid for. There was none, no explanation, no apology.
The beach is still excellent, but not as stunning as before. The feeling is, that the water has become shallower than before, maybe because of deposits from the river outlet. Also there is a lot more seaweed floating by. At low tide there are plenty of sandbanks reaching above the water surface. A considerable number of boats are anchored just 10-15 metres from the shoreline, placed just outside the best spot for swimming. There is also a lot of boat traffic along and close to the shore, some just for the fun of the staff. All these facts subtract signicantly from the beauty and enjoyment of the beach. The customers top notch beach experience is an asset that should have an exceptionally high priority. I suggest that these issues are carefully looked into.
The new sun bed towel scheme seems to work better than anything we have seen so far, anywhere.
We required the attention by a qualified doctor, which came to the hotel once a day with the required medicine. Very convenient and efficient as we did not need to go anywhere.
You have free Internet available, but only for an half an hour at the time, and only in the Cavendish bar area, but note that no mains is available. You can have Internet in your room, but to a significant cost. I fail to understand the Internet policy of this hotel. Does it really pay off, is it good PR? I do not think so.
We had halfboard, of which we used the breakfast and the dinner, both at Annabella. The food was delicious throughout the visit, although the availability of vegetables at meals was surprisingly limited, The dinner menu always contains three courses with three choices in each. Our absolute favourites were fried ombrine fish as well as tuna wrapped in nori sea weed. Delicious! Our favourite from earlier visits is ox cheek, unfortunately not on the menu this time! The food is not very spicy, on the contrary.
If you want to visit the other restaurants, including Awali, the halfboard may be used as a part payment. During the two weeks we spent, the food already fell into a slightly repeating pattern. Note that most of the food is centrally prepared. Luckily there were breaks in the pattern, e.g. treats like a Mauritian evening and a Sunday brunch are offered, but to an extra cost. If you really wish to have more variation, or cheaper alternatives, there are no viable options available. The nearest village is Bel Ombre, but there are two small shops with an extremely limited selection.
If you want to celebrate a honeymoon or an anniversary it might be a good idea to arrange the dinner at the LeTelfair Chateau or the Gin'ja restaurants. Note that the restaurant does not freely acknowledge the celebration, even in the smallest of ways. Perhaps it is a cultural thing?
The rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished, and there is plenty of space e.g. for clothes. Beds are comfortable and the quality of sleep is remarkable. Rooms are spotlessly cleaned, but timetables vary a lot, Flower buds are sometimes picked from the trees around by the staff and strewn over the bed and the table. All wishes put to the room service were promptly addressed. The A/C is impossible to set at a low level enough and without causing a draught. It is better to set the A/C to cool for the evening when you are away and then shut it off for the night.
The laundry service was very fast and of a high quality.
You may borrow high quality bicycles, helmets and rucksacks from the gym without charge. A good deal!
All in all, the issues referred to above do not prevent us from wanting to return again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you want to have direct access from your room to the beach, the ground floor is the only option. It is priceworthy to select at least halfboard, If you are a hungry person then choice is fullboard. To eat without an arrangement is clearly more expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LorfHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

really a hotel that deserves its stars, rooms are well appointed, meals are fit for kings, location and facilities are fabulous, one of the best hotels i have stayed at in mauritius

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andr_S312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have been to Le Telfair three times and it has always been excellent. There has been changes over this time, with the addition of a new beach club and an refurbishment of the Chateau. The staff are very friendly and efficient and the food is superb. We met the GM who is always on hand to make those special arangements, for birthdays etc. We hope to be back again to what has become our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews