We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We recently visited Heritage Awali and have nothing but praise for the place. Unlike previous reviews we booked our restaurants the day after arrival and had no trouble at all booking into any of them. My favourites were the Chateau and Ginja. The old plastic sun beds on the beach were abit tired but these were replaced by new wooden ones two days into our stay. Sometimes service in the bar was a bit hit and miss but nothing to really complain about, after all we were on holiday so were pretty relaxed. We were in room 6002 which was described as ocean view villa, the view of the ocean was through an arch in the middle of a lawn so not exactly the ocean view we were expecting. The golf course was one of the best my husband had ever played and lunch up at the golf club was a very nice experience in a beautiful setting. The free 4 x 4 trip was excellent with Fabrice as our guide, also the free massage which lasted for 50 minutes was very good and relaxing. All restaurants served exceptional food, the drink was all good quality, the service in the restaurants and the buffet was very good. Overall one of the nicest hotels that we have been to.

Room Tip: 6002 was classed as an ocean view room but not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicestershireWebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,079 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Heritage Awali and found the 2 weeks excellent value for money with great accommodation, food and sports/leisure/tourist activities. The beach front room we had was excellent and it was great to walk out onto the lawn and then beach and sea every morning. The buffet restaurant had something for everyone for breakfast and dinner. The speciality restaurants [make reservations early and often] were superb and we visited each one twice during our stay. The quality of food and wine[ on all inclusive menus ] were to a very good standard. The beach was lovely and you could walk for a couple of miles in both directions. The staff were friendly, efficient and always pleased to help. One thing for couples on honeymoon and other couples to be aware of is the Hotel's policy to let children attend the themed restaurants often late at night - I like children but have no respect for the parents that keep them up way past their bedtime and then do nothing to entertain them when they get tired, bored and crotchety and let them disrupt the enjoyment of other diners by running around and behaving like all tired/bored children will do - this was a common occurrence during our stay. Apart from this everything else was commendable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and on this basis would recommend it with only the above mentioned proviso - beware of children in an adult environment.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor beach front room - it was so convenient for beach, great views and lovely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukpompeypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Food great, service great. Live bands go on until eleven so a quiet early night not really possible. Restaurants book up quick so reserve when you first arrive. Trips are a great way to see the island and are reasonably price. All inclusive package is very good, though the menu at Annabells restaurant is limited to what's included in the package. Water aerobics instructor and Tai chi instructor were both great guys. Imagine it gets very busy in peak period as it seemed full/busy off peak (June). Would use the chain again, overall a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Heritage was perfect for relaxation which is just what we needed after South Africa. The all inclusive option was great as you could eat in six wonderful restaurants – you could pay extra and get a different menu at most restaurants but we never needed to. The lunch options were also comprehensive and varied. The drinks package included was brilliant as it included pretty much everything including French Champagne, premium spirits and all cocktails. Another great thing about the Heritage is that we got to do loads of activities (all included) too including the spa (I had a facial), a snorkelling trip, a glass bottom boat trip, archery and tennis. On the minus side the service was slow and at times unfriendly and we quite often didn’t get the drinks we ordered but something completely different! The booking system for the restaurants also needs relooking at as we tried to book restaurants for the week as soon as we’d arrived and reception told us that most places were booked up all week . After some negotiation we got into most restaurants but when we actually went to them we found them nearly empty, which we found really sad as a lot of people would have missed out on a great meal as the restaurant was apparently “fully booked”. Nevertheless the Heritage was a good chill out hotel with a great all inclusive offering.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manchestergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me and my wife are currently staying at this hotel and its half way through our holiday and we don't want to go home. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. We are staying in block 3000 and we get to wake up to a gorgeous view of the ocean. The room is very spacious and clean. The atmosphere is great and the resort is so beautiful.

The food is so amazing and varied. The breakfast and dinner at the bafalon is great. They have chef's in the evening that will cook for you, to suit your tastes. The food and view from the beach restaurant infinity blue is recommended. Make sure you book the restaurants quickly.

One of the things that really set this place apart is the amount of activities included such as golf, tennis, mountain biking, kayaking, peddle boating, archery, a trip on a glass bottom boat, yoga, going to a nature reserve and lots more!!!! If you are all inclusive you do not have to pay a penny for these. I did everything on the list i mentioned above and it was all amazing, I would recommend to everyone.

If the activities are too much, do not worry the beach and ocean is clean and stunning outside the awali.

Today we went to the golfing part of the resort and had fun practising on the driving range. The staff there were so helpful. The food was brilliant there as well.

To the staff at awali thank you so much for making our stay here one of the best experiences of our lives.

j singh

Room Tip: Block 3000 is where we stayed and would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jasvinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.2 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
11.8 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,098 reviews
48.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,423 reviews
51.8 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,712 reviews
53.1 km away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9, Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: ₹ 23,822 - ₹ 54,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing