We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here in April/May 2012 with three friends - we chose this primarily as a golf resort and were not disappointed. Quick, efficient shuttle service from hotel to golf club (3 mins drive) and all staff at golf club were polite and courteous. The course was stunning and manicured to perfection with smooth, fast greens. Its always windy here, so be prepared to hit lots of knock down shots !
The hotel was almost faultless, and the food at all restaurants was excellent. Again, as reported by other reviewers, I found the booking system for the restaurants frustrating. I e-mailed my bookings to the hotel the week before we arrived but when we did arrive they had no record of my e-mail. We were lucky to be able to book Le Chateau for our second week - it was outstanding and highly recommended. My advice is to book your restaurants the moment you arrive at the resort. Would definately return to the Awali but would go a bit earlier in the year as we did get some rain as it was just into the winter season.
Service at the bars was a bit slow - we found if you went up to the bar instead of waiting for service at a table you got your drinks immediately.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,584
    711
    220
    64
    32
See reviews for
925
2,044
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We went here for our honeymoon for 2 weeks in the beginning of May 2012 and wow what a place. When we arrived we were amazed by the lovely entrance where you can see straight out to sea. The smell of sandelwood that hit us (at least that is what we think it was) was absolutely lovely.
We were given welcome drinks and did not have to wait long to get to see our room. Our luggage was taken off us as soon we arrived and taken to our room. In our room we had a gift each –sarong and a t-shirt which was a lovely touch. We also had a Wine bottle and pineapple and sweets waiting for us.
The room was better that we could have hoped for. It is very large and again smells of lovely sandelwood. The bed is big and very comfortable. The bathroom is huge with a huge shower and very large bathtub. We had his and hers sinks and a walk-in-wardrobe.
We booked a beach front room and had a lovely patio area to enjoy.
The resort itself is stunning. The pools are very clean and look very inviting. The water however was a little bit cold. There are 3 pools to choose from and plenty of sun loungers available. The beach is very clean and water amazing and not cold at all. You get your beach towel by the pool bar and change it whenever you want a clean one. You also book your activities at the pool bar. We tried the glass bottom boat which was really nice. You get to see the corals in great detail from the boat. This is included in the all-inclusive package. We were actually very surprised by how much was actually included in this deal. You get snorkelling and all water sports included, as well as gym, tennis, free couples treatment (if on honeymoon), free minibar (which they refill everyday), unlimited amount of drinks and all your transfers to and from restaurants. Included is also a safari which was absolutely lovely! My husband played golf 3 times, again which was all inclusive and he described the course as amazing and could not believe it was included!
We had a few smaller health issues (toothache & allergic reaction) and were pleasantly surprised to find out that they have a doctor on site and creams/tablets dispensed are not charged for.
We hired a driver for a day for about £60. He took us everywhere we wanted and that was the best day there and a great way to see the island..
The staff are all very friendly. Please note that the way of life in Mauritius is slow and relaxed. We Saw some reviews about people complaining about the waiting times -you are on holiday!!! Relax and enjoy instead of stresings about how many minutes ago you ordered a drink! We never had to wait very long for food and to be honest the setting is so nice anyway so you will be happy sitting there waiting whilst sipping your drink. The food is worth the wait anyway. We have never experienced all-inclusive meals like these. They are simply stunning and taste amazing! Try to go to all restaurants.
BOOKING RESTAURANTS – you have to book each evening meal at the reception. Make sure you book straight away for 7 days ahead (you can only book as far as 7 days). We booked the first few nights before we left after reading some of the reviews here on Tripadvisor. We never had a problem because of this to visit all the restaurants throughout our stay. We didn’t realise that we could visit the Chateau more than once (still all-inclusive) and were lucky to be able to do so. We did meet couples who did not manage to go there at all as they did not know about the booking system. The restaurants get fully booked very quickly and if there is nothing else available you can always book a table at the buffet restaurant at the hotel.

Our favourite was the Chateau. The food there is simply beautiful and the setting is amazing. The staff are very nice and professional and make sure you have a fantastic visit. Our waiter showed us around the old building and took photos for us. We did not have a huge bill as all the drinks we had were included (if you are not sure just ask).
Overall a wonderful place for a honeymoon and would recommend this resort to everyone. A special thank you to our lovely cleaner (hope you got our tip we left in an envelope) and also Keshnee (Guest relations Manager) who accommodated our every request! We hope we will see you all again soon! Mark & Kirsi

Room Tip: Call in advance of arrival to book restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KIKKIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just returned from spnding two weeks at the Awali and what a fantastic holiday it was!! The room was spacious and cleaned to a very high standard every day! The food was fantastic from the buffet at Balfon to sampling the food in all the other restaurants available to us! Our favourite was Infinity Blue which Introduced a new menu the second week we were there and this offered a superb choice of meat, veg and of course wonderful seafood! The hotel was just beautiful with lots of activities on offer and fantastic amenties such as gym, cycling, tennis and archery. Also great oportunity to enjoy water activities too. The All Inclusive package is the best I have ever sampled! Wonderful food and the drinks package was amazing! Could have champagne (which was superb), cocktails in abundance and wine, spirits and beer! Brilliant choices! New sunbeds arrived during our second week and certainly enhanced our comfort on the beach. We went on the snorkling and dophin trip which was organised by Hans who can be found on the beach. (Cost a lot less than the tour operators!) We left at 8am, saw lots of dolphins and even swam beside them which was fantastic. We then headed to an area to snorkel and what a great experience - and abundance of all sorts of fish with our two fantastic guys Alex and Kristof leading the trip, giving us lots of information and help to make the most of our day. Following this we headed to a lovely beach shere the cooked a BBQ for us consisiting of chicken, fish and fantastic lobster. This was enhanced by great wine, beer and a Mauritian Cofee (rum and coke!) We were even serenaded by two guys with a guitar and flute made from bamboo! We arrived back at the hotel around 4.30pm after a great day! Would highly recommend it. Also enjoyed a hot stone massage in the Seven Colours Spa and this was amazing. In the evenings the bar was the place to hang out with great music each night. But the most important part of our visit was the Mauritian people!! Staff were superb, couldn't do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. From management to the gardeners our holiday was enhanced by their friendliness and kindness! We will definitely return to this hotel as I think it would be difficult to find a better one on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mentalmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We just came back from Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort. We were there for 7 days in June 2012 on a all inclusive package. The all inclusive option is a must because drinks and food is really expensive.

It is absolutely beautiful!!! If you like lots of sun, i would not reccomend to go in winter. It was lovely and warm but with rain and wind most of the days although you do not really need a jacket because of the humidity. I wish that it was a little bit warmer with more sunshine.

The food, drinks and service were excellent. I saw that some people gave negative reviews which i do not understand because everyone (mauritian people) is so friendly and they are really trying to please you. Yes the food is different but it is an experience. If you arrive at the hotel, try to book your restaurants as soon as possible otherwise you would not be able to experience the other different restaurants. We missed out on 2 of them because it was booked in advance. Sometimes the services was a bit slow but hey, we were on holiday. Just relax!

Everything was just perfect except for the sun which you can do nothing about. The Hotel is on the South which is slighty cooler than the North. We had a lovely room on the ground floor with a back door going to the beach. This was perfect because we have 2 small kids.

We loved the Infinity Blue restaurant on the beach especially for lunch. We went on a snorkeling and dolphin trip which was really nice. I didnt like the 4x4 trip so much because it rained and was a bit chilly on the open vechile. Didnt see much. We went for a half day tour with a taxi which the hotel recommended. His name is Anand and he is so friendly. Do not go to the markets in Port Louis. It is crowded and feels unsafe.

We stayed most of the time at the hotel which was perfect! Will go back!!

Room Tip: You cannot really choose a room. We were told by the travel agent that you can put in your preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursula725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

THE HOTEL is located in the south in a quite place, SO ANYWAY YOU WOULD NEED TO GET A CAR TO GO OUT IN THE CITY. IT`S A GOOD, NOT FABULOUS BUT well_ organized with reasonable prices and friendly staff place. I WOULD RECCOMEND IT FOR A FAMILY HOLIDAYS. There `s also a fantastic kids` club!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.3 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
12.0 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,639 reviews
53.0 km away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,966 reviews
51.7 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,057 reviews
0.6 km away
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,225 - ₹ 52,896
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing