We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A Worthwhile Endeavor

With the loss of natural habitats (human encroachment) and other human activities, these... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
WagnersParsifal
,
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Wonderful orphanage with some rare animals

Situated on the Mount Kenya Safari Club property, this animal orphanage has many types of animals... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
GailDez
,
Vienna, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal orphanage tour guides are rock hyrax different kinds bongo llamas enclosures pet ostrich baby conservancy tidy species leopard tree mount kenya
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

With the loss of natural habitats (human encroachment) and other human activities, these conservancies are an important effort to preserve wildlife. It's a good way to spend an hour or so. Getting close enough to a cheetah to hear him purr was a thrill. Like so many others, we made a nice contribution to further their cause.

If you're staying at the Fairmont, it's worth the short walk.

Thank WagnersParsifal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the Mount Kenya Safari Club property, this animal orphanage has many types of animals. If you didn't see a cheetah or leopard in the wild, here's your chance. Monkeys, rare bongos, ostriches... a variety of species some of free-roaming and some in enclosures. The tour guides are fascinating, and there is no rush. Spend a couple of hours enjoying.

Thank GailDez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got to see the animals up close and also got to feed them!
Charles, our guide was amazing! A must see!

Thank chandipatel182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our visit to the mount Kenya Wildlife Conservancy was arranged by our our director Agoi Hosking of Affable Tours and Safaris.

This was definitely one of the best places that we saw on our trip to Kenya.

Thank indianamoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a wonderful place to visit and the only place where I saw a chewi (leopard) on my trip. Pigmy Hippos and several other species

Thank HI_Nokaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

I enjoyed my visit to the orphanage. Saw a variety of animals and species who were rescued and brought to the orphanage. Learnt a lot about the animals from the different species, how to spot a male/ female. Service was amazing from the moment you get to the gate, all through the tour within the orphanage. I would recommend this place to everyone; both young and adults. The gate fees are affordable.

Thank Aggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

good intro, saw a lot of animals for the first time. A little domesticated but still very interesting

Thank ksdkjlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The Conservancy is a 10- 20 minute from Nanyuki town, and it's a wonderful experience for kids and adults too. There is a wide variety of animals to see, some of them are not caged, and this provides a wonderful opportunity for kids to interact freely with the animals and to snap beautiful photographs. The guides are very knowledgeable, professional and you can easily tell that they love what they do and they take conservation work very seriously. Highly recommended !

Thank Brigitta_N_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Very enjoyable experience especially for the young ones. The guides are knowledgeable and where else do you get to cuddle a baby zebra, buffalo and warthog? Don't miss it.

1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I loved the experience, the animals are clean and health! The tour guides are well informed and very friendly. Seeing the beautiful cheetah at close range was the height of my tour.

Thank DAROKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2018

Dear Daroka,

Thank you so much for taking time to give your review. We really value your review.

We are thrilled to hear that you found our animals to be very clean and healthy; our guides well informed and friendly.
We are also very happy that we were the height of your tour.

Thank you so much once again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews