We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would keep walking next time....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Historic Pioneer Restaurant - CLOSED

The Historic Pioneer Restaurant
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Quaama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would keep walking next time....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very plain food and the "famous" prime rib was not so great....
Very basic food and service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank norelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    158
    100
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not the best for sure”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The resturant is right outside Zion National Park so you figure they get a lot of tourists.
Maye 10 people in the place for breakfast. Ordered juice - only comes in one size, so you're stuck drinking a milk glass size juice. And of course, not cheap. Pancakes on the side were HUGE - and just okay - very heavy. The bacon and sausages were floppy. Yech. The eggs were undercooked. Distressing - it's breakfast - how hard is breakfast? Staff sort of confused and slow. Made me wonder what they would be like in the summer when there are a lot of people in town. Anyway a disappointment as I'm generally a sucker for places with Pioneer in their name!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrmdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sub-par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Food was not very good. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great food and plenty of it. Staff seemed very busy and rushed - we had to ask twice for milk and the check.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank raelarder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice dinner and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were looking for a nice place with good food for good prices after a long day of hiking and we found it here. The dinners and sandwiches we had were great with good portions. My son's club sandwich was the biggest I've seen. My beer came in a cowboy boot mug which all made us laugh. We ended dinner with some super good pies ala mode. Couldn't have been better, glad we picked this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffdogdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Historic Pioneer Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing