We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again - I wished I had read the other reviews” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zion Canyon Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zion Canyon Campground
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never again - I wished I had read the other reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our last stop on a 16 night trip and I thought we would like the showers, but they were so filthy that my husband would not use them. I wore my shower shoes and was careful not to touch anything! As another camper pointed out to me, it is better to bathe in the river. The bathrooms did not have toilet paper and were also disgusting. We should have stayed at the park and will next time. If the park is booked there is another, better maintained campground down the road a bit. This was the dirtiest and poorest managed campground I have ever seen. Next time I will read the trip advisor reviews before making reservations. I hope this saves someone from the mistake of staying.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrCOsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    79
    47
    20
    33
See reviews for
86
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koudekerk aan den rijn, Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The place is very close to the Zion Canyon entrance, a short walk to the shuttle bus stop is easy to do. At the otherside of the road there is some kind of : adventure company": where you can rent stuff and go on hike with. We had a tent site located at the virgin river. Nice location for the tent. That was the good part.
The showers and restrooms were dirty and not well maintained. You can get tokens for the shower at the reception desk. One per person per day. You get 6 mins of shower for that. There was free wifi throughout the campsite, but there was no reception at the sites near the river.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvdp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

This campground is okay. We stayed here one night because we were unable to get a site in Zion National Park, and that is the only occasion I would recommend staying here. The pluses: the campground is literally right next to Zion National Park and the Springdale shuttle stops almost directly in front of the facility, the restrooms have running water and showers, and there is a swimming pool and small playground which is nice for families with children. The minuses: at about $35 a night for a tent site, it's a bit pricey, the restrooms have no soap dispenser, the tent sites are small, offer virtually no shade, and are completely covered in rocks. It's like pitching your tent on a gravel road. Seriously. You get a token for the shower, and the water runs for only 6 minutes. That's a pretty speedy shower, especially if you're filthy from several days of backpacking like I was. All in all, for the relatively high price, I would have liked to have seen a few more amenities, at a minimum they could at least have soap dispensers. Like I previously stated, this place makes for a decent Plan B if you can't camp at Zion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegasStew, Manager at Zion Canyon Campground, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
We appreciate your comments. It is unfortunate that the National Park does fill up quickly and the few overflow tent sites that we keep for those that did not plan ahead have little shade. On the other hand our river sites, and J tent sites are booked regularly by our guests who come back time and time again. Yes, we have now added soap dispensers in our bathrooms, and our pool is completely remodelled with solar.Unlike the National Park, we pay very high premiums for our utilities, taxes, etc., and try to be very reasonable for the location and amenities we offer. We are also very "Green", being the only facility in town to have on demand water heaters, Solar heated pool, and energy efficient lighting. Again, we will strive to consider all your comments, and correct those that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Ended up staying here after campgrounds in Zion NP filled up over Easter weekend. Sites are average size. The main frustration were the cleanliness of the restrooms and the lack of soap, soap dispensers or any identifiable way to wash your hands. The main shower door had been simply removed from the hinges. Never saw maintenence or cleaning personel at work in 48 hours. Office staff were only slightly interested in the issue while we stood in front of them using their bottle of alcohol sanitizer that we had noticed at check in. Yuck. Not sure how they are getting around the health department on this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoSeeDoEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

As a campground there are only a few things to that need to be done well, friendly customer service, clean facility, and a bit of space. Zion Canyon Campground failed on all levels.

Linda the camp host is a nasty woman. The term "host" is used very liberally in her case. She is demanding, does not listen, and barks out orders. She needs to give up her host duties and join the Marines.

The restrooms and pool area area not well kept. The toilets were overflowing with tissue and waste.

Spend your money elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yodie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.0 km away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 km away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.6 km away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Canyon Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Canyon Campground

Property: Zion Canyon Campground
Address: 479 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Springdale
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private campground offering riversites, full hookups and showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zion Canyon Campground Hotel Springdale
Zion Canyon Campground Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing