We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique and Beautiful Hiking Trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mist Trail

Mist Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 115.00*
and up
Yosemite Day Hike from Glacier Point Including Panorama Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eminently accessible and popular, the Mist Trail takes hikers through Yosemite National Park to Vernal Fall Bridge, the best place to watch the waterfall.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique and Beautiful Hiking Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is one of the most unique trail hikes ever! It is not an easy climb, especially towards the top. In the spring and summer, when the nearby water falls are at their peak, you will get wet from the misty spray. Many folks use large plastic bags as a "disposable" rain coat. The scenery is spectacular. It will be an experience you'll never forget!! Take snacks and water with you. Wear good shoes...no flip flops or sandals. And don't forget your camera!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BSalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    107
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
work
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Mist Trail....Do it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were really looking forward to this hike. We had a perfect 50 degree/sunny day. It is a memory that will last forever. Hard hike= great reward :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank vickirprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Plan your journey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hike took us nearly five hours to accomplish. The last hour or so was difficult to say the least as my hiking boots were squeezing my feet. It does not take away from the opportunity to view and witness some great natural settings and views. During this hike you will pass several Falls and if following the entire trail will reach an apex of a ountain in the Park. There are alot of tourists along the way and a portion of the trail is devoted to horseback as well (or maybe not) hiking.
If I had to do it over agin, I would select better hiking boots and bring food. We did not bring any food and wound up very hungry after the hike. In the past, we have always been very careful to bring something but for some reason we just did not make the connection with the food thing. Bring water too. There were areas that had rushing water from the falls although swimming is not allowed and my opinion is there is enough Park Personnel about the enforce that rule. I would definitely do this hike again if given the opportunity in Spring or the height of summer.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank callme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Trail was great and took about an hour each way because we had to stop for the younger children. We didn't continue on to half dome because of the weather conditions

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Minarod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The steps to get to the Mist trail are only the first 700 to Half Dome. The trail is tough and need to take your time if only doing that part of the trail that day. Well worth it!!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank EmDve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mist Trail also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Mist Trail? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing