We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous but eccentric hotel.”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous but eccentric hotel.”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Wawona, being a 'Hertage Hotel', has loads of period charm but you have to accept the lack of modern en suite facilities. The hotel provides robes for the sprint along the veranda to the shared showers and wash/rest rooms which are well heated for the chilly mornings and evenings.
You can pay a lot extra for your own bathroom.
Our bedside tables had chocolates and ear plugs provided as the old wooden walls did not keep out the sounds of the folk next door. The hotel setting is fabulous, right in the National Park which is vast. Thepark is staggeringly beautiful, beyond description.The hotel is handy for the Mariposa grove of giant red woods.
It had a very good 'old time' feel about it and some people go every year. We will stay there again.
It is,as they say, 'all about the experience'!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    779
    309
    178
    91
See reviews for
531
1,079
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is very nice from the outside and certainly has some charms. The room was ok, the shared restrooms looked pretty bad. We had a constant feeling that the hotel tries to sell the shortcomings as features. They even mention not installing telephones and TV's to retain the room's original charms. Can't see how having WiFi everywhere (instead of only in a Lounge) would have hurt, though.

None of these is a serious issue and for a lower price we would have considered it a charming, though slightly run-down place. But at the 170 USD we paid for the night it's simply way overpriced. If there was any competition around they would not get away with this. I'd suggest staying outside Yosemite unless your schedule requires you to.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Wow - we went last year (2011) for the first time and loved it! This year we came back and brought a friend up. We were all shocked by the issues we had.

1. The breakfast buffet is NO MORE / mgt's cost cutting efforts changed this two weeks ago. We had no idea. We awoke starving only to find out it was a HUGE wait for Costco crap food. We tried to eat it - but it's SO processed and rubbery, it could NOT be any more disgusting.

2. We had to go to Oakhurst - a drive out the park - just to get a real breakfast the next morning.

3. For $250 a night, I got to stay in a hotel
room with a broken leg ripped off the Victorian Chair, with the broken chair leg lying on the floor!! Someone cleverly pushed the chair up against the wall / hoping no one would notice. TOTAL safety issue - Never seen this in my lifetime actually.

4. For spending $800 on a friends room and our room I expected an edible breakfast and a functional hotel room. Curry Tent cabins are a better deal and better sleep than the Wawona. You can at least walk to decent food from there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xbot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend for 3 nights and found it to be a charming, relaxing place removed from the hectic pace of the Valley. We were lucky to have a sink in our room and the shared bath just around the corner. Also we had private parking out back. So the key is to book early and request room 89 in Moore Cottage. There are probably other desireable rooms, but ours was perfect. No TV, but do you need it? With everything around you , it's a nice break to be away from it. Breakfast was acceptable - if you want more, you can order from the menu. Prices are high though. We ate dinner on the porch twice with food from the deli and in the restaurant one night. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAthens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I really liked sitting out on the veranda in the late afternoon, enjoying the scenery. I enjoyed the look of the hotel. The rooms were 'cute'. We had two rooms with a bath in between (a Jack and Jill set up). Our rooms were billed for 3 people - NO WAY! There was a double bed in our room and a twin - luckily only two of us needed that room - we slept in separate beds since the double was so small. The room would have been better with one king or queen bed.

Bathroom - mold on the ceiling - and a traditional claw tub shower that when you get the hot water going, the shower curtain sticks to you. Yuck.

Lastly, if we wanted only one room with a bath, then our bath would have only been separated from the next room by a single door - any sound can easily be heard in the rooms adjoining the bath rooms.

Check in was friendly but so slooowww.

Overall, it was a good location for us since the next morning we got up early, walked the Mariposa Trail up to Wawona point and since we were so close, we got there early and beat the crowds. This is the only reason you stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath so you don't have to schlep to the bathrooms at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
24.4 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,602 reviews
23.6 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,815 reviews
22.2 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
454 reviews
6.8 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
22.4 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,018 - ₹ 24,865
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing