We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent two nights in Wawona hotel last December. From the outside, this hotel seems to be very attractive. The lounge and the dining room are charming also. But we were very disappointed with our room which was not situated in the main building. When we arrived at around 4.00 p.m., it was very cold inside and we soon realized that it was not heated. We were there in December ! First of all, we thought it was a careless omission. But when we reported it to the reception, they just explained it was perfectly normal : rooms were only heated from 6.00 p.m. !!! Meanwhile, we had to wait in the lounge... We also had a problem with the bathroom : one night, there was no hot water at all ! Moreover, the welcome, at the reception, was completely impersonal.
As a consequence, we would not recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank DETIGE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    750
    304
    175
    88
See reviews for
507
1,053
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We travelled there in late September and had a marvelous time. Although the drive to Valley and other parts of yosemite were a bit long -35min to an hour- the price was right and it was a different atmosphere because of laid back and less crowded environment. Had a real early 20th century feel to it. Breakfast was good and we had one delicious dinner while there. Room was small but very comfortable even though we had community bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahaus, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just the perfect spot for staying at Yosemite. Quiet, historically interesting and very authentic place away from crowded Yosemity Valley itself. Traditionally furnished rooms are a little thin-walled, but that what makes it quite authentic. You feel set back in time when sitting on the veranda in the evening, listening to the live piano music. Restaurant is delicious and offers good veggie cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaLiGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The location of this place is fantastic; but that's the inherent problem with this place because if there was any reasonable competition it would fail.

The check-in was fine and the staff helpful. We had a room with a bathroom, but the water supply was hopeless; furnishings were basic and shabby. The breakfast was good, but the evening meals awful.

In general the standard of service was way below what I've experienced in the USA. This was exemplified when we moved on to Lake Tahoe, which was way better and cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kb241152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

CelticRambler here.... With another California explanation that may be helpful.

The Wawona Hotel is the kind of rustic lodge that may have welcomed Teddy Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover. I loved the place when I was a kid. Very few changes. During my last visit, a wonderful entertainer brought the old-timers together and we sang Yosemite campfire songs from fifty years ago. I shouted, "Let the fire fall!" We watched home movies from the 1940s and even earlier. "Bully!" as Teddy Roosevelt said.

For some folks, this sort of thing is great. For others, it's tiresome and, yes, the hotel is a bit shabby and it's not much by Las Vegas standards. The dining room food is a bit ordinary. Although the whole crowd joined together for breakfast songs. If Teddy Roosevelt had marched into the dining room, we would not have been surprised.

Advantages? The Wawona is close to the heart of Yosemite. It's still comparatively inexpensive. The staff is friendly and very helpful. What more do you want?

Room Tip: When you make reservations, tell the staff what you need. Do you need a lot of extra space with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CelticRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
22.2 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
36.6 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
22.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
22.2 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
18.5 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,043 - ₹ 24,271
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing