We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday rental, lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors
Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
A drone shot of the property taken by a previous guest
Studio as seen from entry sliding patio door
View from entry patio door
View from comfortable sofa
View of studio from sofa
Large and very comfortable studio with TV,  Fireplace and Dinning Table
View of  well appointed kitchenette
Super comfortable Queen Bed and Large Armoire
View from Kitchen area
Living / Dinning Room Area
TV  and Fireplace Area
Picnic Area as viewed from upstairs deck area
Picnic and BBQ Area
Enjoy a Relaxing Aftenoon Float!
Firepit and Pool Area
Local Traffic
Wine and Sunsets, the Perfect Pairing!
Nearby Angel Falls
Just the right amount of snow!
Picnicing / Fishing / Kyaking on Lake 2 miles from home
Hiking the High Country in Yosemite
Tunnel View, a view not to be missed or forgotten
Something for Everyone
Ponder the Yonder
Visit the Woodpecker Tree
The End Of The Rainbow Is Here
Local Air Traffic
Half Dome as viewed from Glacier Point
Historic 'Overhang Ledge' @ Glacier Point
View from Picnic Area
View from Pool Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Swedish first
Any
English first
MrsKP2804
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great holiday rental, lovely location”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed for three nights during a trip around California for our honeymoon. This is a fantastic holiday rental, nicely decorated and very clean. We had a great time exploring Yosemite during the day and retreating away from the crowds for the evening. Bob was very friendly and welcoming and encouraged us to knock on his door if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Great studio with mountain view, outdoor grill and firepit, and modern (cooking-living) amenities”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Had a delightful 3-night stay in the upstairs studio. The bed was comfy, the room had upscale tile flooring, and the bathroom and kitchen areas were very nicely and newly renovated. Excellent cooking equipment and flatware available. Free WiFi and streaming NetFlix were nice perks, too.

Easy 35min drive to Yosemite, where we hiked during the days. At night, we grilled on the Weber charcoal grill and ate around the raised firepit, which had quality seating, a great mountain view, and nicely seasoned firewood stacked and ready for use.

The ability to cook for ourselves, and relax comfortably and privately outside at night, was exactly what we were looking for in our Yosemite retreat, and Bob's mountain view studio delivered these features remarkably well.

The nightly price, while high, was reasonable for the region and comparable to places nearer to Yosemite but without any of the excellent amenities and personal touches that this place offered. Would highly recommend to any of my friends looking for Yosemite/Bass Lake accommodations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzy4puff
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely place”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I loved staying here at Bobs house. Had every thing you could ever need plus more. There was so much info about what to do in the area. Yosemite park is amazing its in my top 10 places to go.
Thank you so much Bob you are a great host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The room was amazing and to be in the country
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianaDr...
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodations and Extra Special host”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We were truly blessed to find Bob's getaway close enough to Yosemite and yet not in the midst of the busy campgrounds. After visiting Yosemite, we were thankful of our choice both for the accommodations and the reasonable price. We arrived one evening to meet Bob who was waiting to greet us with his warm smile. He helped us settle in and got our daughter set up with her airbed. The space was beautiful, clean...really clean. Everything was thought out and we had anything we needed, even a cooler to pack with our own goodies purchased at the nearby town market. In the morning we awoke early to make our 35 minute drive to the South entrance of Yosemite and into the Mariposa Grove (which deserves its own review~amazing!). Bob has a guest book with suggestions from other travelers on what to see while in Yosemite as well as everything they enjoyed about his home, built by none other than "Bob,the Builder". We did not have the time in our short stay to fully untilze the extras at Bob's, but we would return again and would make plans to stay longer to enjoy the inviting yard complete with fun-sized pool fit for all, fire pit and relaxing atmosphere. We did, however, take in the the breathtaking view of the night sky, complete with an endless sea of stars unlike any we had seen in our city travels. A romantic mountain retreat is exactly what you get plus the added bonus of Bob's gracious hospitality. We also got a chance to peek at his Bed and Breakfast before we left and would gladly stay there as well. We highly recommend Bob's place and feel fortunate to have made a friend across the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was more than we expected!
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosfan...
Lincs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picture perfect way to relax in quite beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this magnificent apartment for 3 nights whilst we explored Yosemite National Park and we could not have asked for a better apartment, host (Bob) or surroundings.

Having driven several hours from San Francisco we were greeted by Bob who was waitng outside for us and who could not have been more helpful, accomodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for him.

Bob quite literally hand built his home and this apartment and choose a location with spectacular views, it was a joy to return to after a long day trekking through Yosemite. Deer, hummingbirds, bluejays all make regular appearances during the morning and night.

We were bowled over by the lengths Bob had gone to, not only with furnishing the apartment but all the brilliant small touches, such as a travel pack for Yosemite National Park, previous guests experiences comments book, cooler box, hair dryer, complimentary bottle of wine and beers in the fridge, Wifi, Netflix movies just to name but a few.

Based just outside of North Fork (Centre of California) you are about 55miles from the centre of Yosemite (Mariposa Grove 40miles, Glacier Point 55miles & Tioga Pass 55-120miles) this will take around 90mins to drive along some of the most spectacular mountain roads anywhere in the world with incredible views, so have your camera at your disposal. Bass lake if you like fishing, water sports and eating at nice restaurants (Dueceys) is just 10miles away.

In terms of value for money compared to hotels inside the park, there is simply no comparison, I would choose Bobs Mountain Retreat every time, it is a fraction of the price with much more to offer.

Had we known this was going to be this special we would've spent several days more here. We can't thank Bob enough for his hospitality and kindness, really made our time here something we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking in the morning and watching the sunrise over the mountains. Apartment was without fault.
Liked least: Could not find fault with any particular aspect of our stay
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing