We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a hidden gem right outside of Yosemite”
The House That Ruza Built
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry living room area of Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry
living room area of Great Room
kitchen area of Great Room
dining area of Great Room
kimono cabinet
king bed in master BR
steam shower in master BR
queen bed in 2nd BR
bunkbed in 2nd BR
two bunkbeds in 3rd BR
top deck with gas BBQ and table
2nd deck with hot tub
view from top deck
view of house from ground level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SHCreview
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a hidden gem right outside of Yosemite”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful, spacious, and serene house that has all the amenities to comfortably accommodate our family of 5 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 infants. We stayed here the week of August 24th. We cooked most of meals here since it was so nice to eat out on the deck surrounded by the beautiful scenery. Scott, the owner, responded to all my questions and requests very promptly and was very generous with information to help me better plan my trip. The property manager, John, is super knowledgeable about the ins and outs of Yosemite and he recommended us where to go sightseeing to make the most of our trip with our young kids. The housekeeper, Sheryl, was really pleasant and hospitable. They all manage this property with great care and professionalism and made us feel right at home. We love our Yosemite trip because they have made it so easy and comfortable for us. This place is just minutes from the south entrance of the park and about a 15-20 minutes drive into the city of Oakhurst where you can find many restaurants, grocery stores, and cheap gas. We would definitely love to stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen was very clean and has all the cookwares that we needed and plenty of bedrooms/beds/ and bathrooms for everyone to use and the nice deck and roomy garage.
Liked least: dust underneath the bed when we had to move one of the queen bed against the wall so the baby doesn't roll down.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alip234
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“None”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful home with lots of space located 3 miles from park entrance. Scott, the owner, is very responsive to any issues. Priced very reasonably and a great place to stay. This is our second time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4fa...
Lakewood, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome 3 bdrm house with a view”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed during the week of August 11. The house was very spacious for 9 people. The House that Ruza Built is more impressive in person than looking at the pictures. Scott was very helpful with providing us with hiking tips in Wawona and Yosemite Valley. The boys loved the hot tub at night. We have great memories playing board games and playing football outside the house. We cooked all our meals in the spacious and modern kitchen. The house provided more than enough linens, utensils, pots, and entertainment for all of us.
You are minutes from the entrance to Yosemite. The house is located at Fish Camp and about 20 minutes from Oakhurst, CA.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to experience a vacation with our family. We have many fond memories of our stay at The House that Ruza Built.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: open floor plan
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea F
1 review
“Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful trip! ”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I've been to this beautiful place on three different occasions, and every time I can say nothing less then five-star!! This cabin is incredible, the location is perfect and just a few short minutes away from the national park! The onsite staff was extremely friendly and helpful, as well at Scott always being so quick to respond to any questions I've had! This place is my home away from home and I would recommend this cozy (spacious) cabin to anyone looking for an amazing vacation! The price is right and the luxury of this place is TOP-NOTCH! Thanks again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alun G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant house just outside south entrance to Yosemite National Park”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Large comfortable house, great amenities (BBQ, Hot Tub, WiFi, TV, Steam Bath).
Owner very very helpful with tips, directions and recommendations.
Clear communications prior to visit and instructions during and post visit.
Close location to park, but note that it will be approx 1 hour journey to the heart of the Yosemite Valley, so plan your days accordingly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the stars
Liked least: Price
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing