We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter or Summer, this is the place to be!”
The House That Ruza Built
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry living room area of Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry
living room area of Great Room
kitchen area of Great Room
dining area of Great Room
kimono cabinet
king bed in master BR
steam shower in master BR
queen bed in 2nd BR
bunkbed in 2nd BR
two bunkbeds in 3rd BR
top deck with gas BBQ and table
2nd deck with hot tub
view from top deck
view of house from ground level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alondra O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter or Summer, this is the place to be!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was my fourth time staying in The House That Ruza Built, and each time it seems to get more spectacular. I still can't decide whether I love it more during the warmer summer and fall months or when the house is surrounded by snow. In both instances the house is a wonderful place to come home to after a long day, or just to curl up and relax.
Travelling with children and a teenager can be a challenge, but this house makes it seem like we never left home. With three bedrooms and three baths there is plenty of room to spread out, the only challenge is choosing which room you like best! Perhaps the best part of staying at the house are the amenities. The washer and dryer are indispensable after a long hike in the valley, as is the fully loaded kitchen. Then, whether you want your dinner inside in the rustic living room or outside on the deck overlooking the Sierra National Forrest you are guaranteed the pleasure of a peaceful evening.
As always we were excited that we were so close to Yosemite, but definitely don't miss the great hike at the bottom of the drive. The National Forrest is just as beautiful as Yosemite and is perfect for a morning stroll or run. There are a few different trails, so you can tailor your hike to your group's needs. The entrance to Yosemite is about 10-15 minutes from the house and there's a steam train about 10 minutes in the opposite direction that the kids love! They also offer nighttime rides for a more romantic atmosphere. Also if you need groceries there are two supermarkets and plenty of shops one town over, only about 20 minutes away. Truly, you could not ask for a better location!
Last but not least, Scott was instrumental in making our trip a success. His directions to the house were clear and we so greatly appreciated his suggestions for places to stop along the way to keep the kids from getting too restless during a long drive. Additionally, the caretaker, John was helpful in giving us directions and suggestions for nearby hikes and food that were perfect, even for the two year old. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted M
Tigard, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vacation house”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The house was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed eating outside on the large deck. It was very peaceful. John Miller was especially helpful and provided great tips for our visit to Yosemite. Having two washers and dryers was especially handy for our crew.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globalkds
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect Yosemite location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

With only two miles to the South entrance to the park, this property is absolutely perfect for those who wish to explore Yosemite. This home is beautiful and offered all of the amenities wanted after a long day of hiking. The owner is excellent with travel and house directions, recommendations during your visit, and timely communication. After many days of visiting the park (with an hour long drive to exit the park in most cases), the best part was that home was just a few minutes away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views from the deck
Liked least: Some dropping of wifi, but to be expected in remote areas
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb3838
Dunbar, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing... a hidden gem, relaxing place to call home while in Yosemite”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Thank you Scott & John for wonderful vacation. The House that Ruza Built was the perfect place to relax after hiking all day. Peaceful, quiet, ample room for our children, well equipped kitchen & spacious for fun family-cooking & then relaxing on the deck. It is a hidden gem... very close to the Park entrance. John gave us tips on where to eat & also one of our favorite activities last week.... secret waterfalls & a swimming spot that is not in the Park. We celebrated our anniversary there & we were touched by the gift of wine that John left for us. It was a family vacation that we will never forget.

Regards,

Barb & Dean Neels (& family)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious, lots of trees surrounding the property - stunning, well-equipped kitchen, linens etc.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although the house was beautiful, the owner was very pleasant to work with.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing