We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful historical hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mosman, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful historical hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel needs nothing done to it. It is perfect as it is. The staff are a delight...enthusiastic and involved. We doubled our entended stay and could have doubled that again, if we had had the time. My only complaint would be that some of the towels were in need of replacement, but that would be the only one. The beakfast buffet was superb, but on our last day, we ordered from the breakfast menu. My husband chose the steak and eggs, which he was still salivating over many hours after we left. I hopefully look forward to going back one day. It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjpooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Good afternoon kjpooley,

Thank you for coming all the way from Australia to see us! I am so happy to read that you had a great time and that you extended your stay. I agree that our towels are in need of an upgrade; I am happy to report that we have been working with our linen provider to get us a more appropriate towel. We look forward to seeing you again one day!

Warmest regards,
Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    726
    322
    174
    101
See reviews for
756
1,203
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SAn Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This historic hotel is the "icing on the cake" on top of the natural beauty of Yosemite. Stephen, the Concierge, was amazing in how special he made our honeymoon stay. Everyone on the staff should be commended for their friendliness, their great customer service, and their kindness to the guests. I highly recommend this hotel for a special place to stay while visiting Yosemite. Get the bed and breakfast package and you'll also have the most delectable first meal of the day- the scrumptious buffet.

Room Tip: Choose a "featured room" with its own balcony. The largest balcony room with a king bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lw3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Good afternoon lw3251

I am glad to hear that The Ahwahnee was the "icing on the cake." Thank you for your kind words about Stephen at the Concierge desk. I have personally recognized Stephen and passed along your kudos. Come back and see us sometime!

Warmest regards,
Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent the first part of our honeymoon at the Ahwahnee, and they treated us like absolute royalty. Starting with the front desk clerk, who congratulated us and literally gave us the key to the Ahwahnee hotel (an extra key from a re-keyed lock for our scrapbook). We were given a beautiful corner room on the fourth floor with gorgeous views on two sides and a balcony. A personalized note and gift were waiting for us in our room. We ate in the Ahwahnee dining room two nights, and each night were seated at a special table in the "alcove". We felt like everyone that worked in the hotel knew we were on our honeymoon and tried to make it as special for us as possible. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Good afternoon Becky 727
I am so glad to hear that you had such a great time on your honeymoonw. Thank you for spending this special time with us! I will be sure to share your kudos with the entire staff. Don't be a stranger; we hope to see you on your first anniversary!

Warmest regards,
Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Built in the 1920's The Ahwahnee is reputed to be the most magnificent lodge in all of the National Parks. If you are lucky enough to get a reservation, enjoy the experience and be sure to take the guided tour to learn the history. Very expensive but special rates often available in early December. We visited in December in the snow and had magnificent view of Yosemite Falls. Our goal has been to stay in all of the N.P Lodges and The Ahwahnee is truly the pinnacle.

Helpful?
Thank EWL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Got a coupon and decided to splurge and spring for a two night stay at The Ahwahnee. Bottom line: it was a great experience but I could've got most of it for free.

I came during a slow time in the year when there was still ice in the parking lot. It didn't help that the parking lot was full and driveway to valet parking was all backed up. The valets were very pleasant but it took a while to get the car up to the driveway and unloaded. But once we were checked in, all kids love the rubber ducky in the bathtubs. Very nice touch!

My daughter was surprised at the quality of the furnishings in the room though. That's it? It's like we were staying in a regular place at half the price. That's the problem with a world heritage site and historic hotel: rooms are small with older furnishings. But the views are great. I had a view of Yosemite Falls from the room while my brother had a view of Half Dome.

We went out to the main lawn and had a great time just sitting in the sun in the Adirondack chairs. At 4 PM, kids went out to get cookies and hot chocolate from the lobby. Very relaxing. It was a short walk to the river and about 1.5 miles to Mirror Lake. that was the best part of the stay, enjoying a sunny day in the lawn.

that's when I realized that the best part of the Hotel was free. We could have bought some drinks from the restaurant and hung out in the lawn and then leave. Sure, the rooms had great views, but the same views were available from the lawn. And I could buy a rubber ducky and put it in my hotel bathroom and save myself $200.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
28.8 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
2.1 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
26.3 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
30.9 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
18.4 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 44,634 - ₹ 59,359
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing