We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK...”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

very busy even in February. Can't imagine what it is like in the summer.
Once you have staid at the Snow Lodge in Yellowstone most everything else in the National Parks become old fashioned. This is OK, but is in need of a revamp.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellight47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    1,471
    746
    295
    170
See reviews for
1,368
1,557
96
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Every couple of years I attend a professional conference here. I stay at the lodge because the Ahwanee is so expensive. Each time I hope the rooms will be renovated. My room actually looked like it was painted recently. It was marginally better than the room I got two years ago. There was mold on the grout above the tub. There were chips where enamel was missing. It was dark and dingy. The rug on the floor was industrial. It was like a motel room. But once you walk outside the room, you are in one of the most beautiful places on earth, so you will not be staying in the room unless the weather is terrible. It was quiet at night, and I had no trouble with the heat. In the morning, though, if your neighbor takes a shower, you can hear it loud and clear.

Stay there anyway. The only other places to stay in the winter are the equally dingy Camp Curry, and the three-times-as-expensive Ahwanee. Or you can stay outside the park and dirve an extra 25 minutes each way. Just use the room as a base camp to sleep in. The DNC employees who you will encounter are all friendly and courteous, and will help you out.

My advice also is to go in the winter when the park is quiet.

So overall it's a three star experience based on the incredible location.

Room Tip: I like the rooms to the north of the check-in desk. Some give you a full, or filtered view of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at the Lodge over Presidents Day Weekend. It was crowded, but the service was great. We came from the dump called Curry Village and were blown away by how much nicer the people were at the Lodge.

It is perfectly located in the heart of Yosemite Valley. Our room had a view of Yosemite Falls from the balcony.

Our room was really large with high ceilings on the second floor of the Willow building. There were four of us and two spacious queen beds. The bathroom was clean and everything in general was what I'd expect out of a nice National Park lodge.

Best part is that all the food, drinks, etc are a 1 minute walk from the lodge. We had dinner every night at the Mountain Room and drinks before hand at the Mountain Lodge. Definitely the best places to eat and drink (well, other than the Ahwanee) in the valley. There's a cafeteria there too where we had breakfast in the morning.

The best part is that it is very reasonably priced as well. Only $200/night on the busiest weekend of the winter to stay in the heart of Yosemite. I'll take that any day.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResidentAlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We plan to stay in Yosemite to wake up early and take advantage of the trails. We chose the Lodge for the great location and not be as expensive as the Ahwanee. The location is great, but the rooms are far below expectations. We are a couple of simple habits and we do not require luxuries, and we are accustomed to rustic and inhospitable places. For the price we paid, we expected something better. The smell of mildew, peeling walls, exposed wires and accumulation of silt on the tiles;this has nothing to do with rusticity. It has to do with poor hygiene and lack of maintenance. It was winter, and thermal sensation was an 1 F!. There weren't enough blankets, air conditioning was poor and we had to use a portable machine, incredibly old and rusty, which made ​​me fear for our safety. This is definitely not green or sustainable, and has nothing to do with the proximity of nature. I believe that if we pay for a roof and shower, they should at least be clean and warm in a place . Yosemite is one of the best places on earth, and I hope that the hospitality of the Lodge becomes proportional to its reputation.Surprisingly, the Internet was free and fast.

Room Tip: Go during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nadia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This lodge would rate much lower if not for the location. The buildings feel like an old dorm room, the rooms are drafty and could use updating, the bed was uncomfortable (for me, not my wife or kids), no coffee maker or microwave in the room.

The upside-you are in the middle of one of the most beautiful places on earth. You can walk out of your room and see Yosemite Falls, El Capitan or Granite Peak without shifting your feet. The Valley shuttle bus, which runs frequently and takes you to all of the accesible trailheads in the valley, is only steps from your door.

You can walk to the cafeteria (or whatever they call it) which serves three decent, reasonably priced meals a day (with vegetarian options), go to the sit down restaurant on site (we did not because of our small children), or take the shuttle to the Ahwanee for dinner.

If you are willing to overlook the lacking ammenities, this is an ideal launching pad for Yosemite Valley adventures. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
27.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24.3 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
26.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
16.4 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,781 reviews
30.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,085 - ₹ 28,424
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing