We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you are a day hiker, short hiker or don't hike at all you will love this B & B. The owner, Karen knows the park inside and out. She can help you arrange your time in the park so you don't miss anything. Karen goes above and beyond. She has maps, backpack in each closet and just about anything else you may need to make your stay in Yosemite memorable. The view from the deck is wonderful - yes, there are 88 steps to climb before you enter the B & B but once you set foot inside you'll be glad you chose it over one of the crowded hotels in the valley. She keeps soda, juice, coffee, tea, cookies, cereal, yogurt, milk and fruit for the enjoyment of her guests. Breakfast was not gourmet souffles or smoothies. Instead it was wonderful down to earth hearty food. She made her famous German pancake with fruit and sausage our first day, French toast, fruit and links the second day and a wonderful egg fritata with toast and bacon our third day. The house is decorated beautifully and very clean. Our room was very nice and you will love the bathroom. Shower is so big and roomy. If you feel the need to get in touch with the outside world she has TV in her great room. We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend the B & B.

Room Tip: Stop at a supermarket before entering the park. We purchased a precooked chicken, salad, cheese, cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I booked our trip to Yosemite a month and a half before we were going. The only place we could find in the park or around it that had vacancy was at this B&B and we saw it had good reviews so we thought we would try it out. It is in the park which is nice.

I booked on the phone through Bob who allowed us to stay for 2 nights (usually a 3 night stay minimum). He warned us that they do not refund our money if we want to cancel for any reason. That is very true and they stick to it! We were worried about the huge fire going on at the time and tried to cancel a few days before. We were hearing from so many people in San Fran that we shouldn't go because of air quality and getting into park might be hectic. Karen reassured us on two occasions that the fire was not affecting the valley or where she is located. She would not give us a refund so we decided to just go. We are very glad we did because she was right and it was a great time there.

They offer you insurance if you think you might cancel for any reason and need a refund. GET IT! You never know if you need to cancel and they will NOT give you your money back.

There are 88 stairs to get up to the B&B entrance. I am 31, slightly out of shape, and was huffing and puffing once up to the top. Do not stay here if you are out of shape and can't get up a flight of stairs.

Cell service was very spotty for us at the B&B (we have verizon). Therefore, get the entry code before you enter the park! The only place we had free WIFI and good service was at the Lodge in the valley. There is no WIFI or internet at the B&B. Karen did allow us to use the B&B phone if we needed to.

We stayed in room 2 right next to the kitchen. If you are a light sleeper bring a fan or have an app on your phone for white noise because sound carries throughout the B&B and people going in and out of their rooms will wake you.

Room was very clean, bathroom was clean and they provide shampoo, conditioner, and soap. The bed was queen and had a memory foam topping which was comfortable. There are laminated hiking maps in each room as well as a backpack.

Beware: You are not allowed to cook or microwave food while there. The nearest restaurant is a good 30 plus minutes away so bring food for other meals if you need to. Karen lets you put food and drink in the fridge but you can't cook there.

The breakfast was okay. Nothing to rave about and we did wish we had eggs or something other than the pancakes and meat she provided. The table was set up very nicely and she provides coffee/tea and or OJ if you want it. Just be aware that bfast isn't served until 815 or later. It would have been nice if it was served earlier because you don't get out and on trails until 10 or later.

Bring at least 2 bottles of water per person for hiking! Not kidding, you will need it and there is no where to buy extras near her B&B.

If we were to go back I can't say 100% we would stay there again. Reasons...we really prefer a king bed, wifi would have been nice, and eating other meals was difficult.

Any questions? Ask away!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights back in 2012 and loved every minute of it! Beautiful building and wonderful views of Yosemite! The scenery is one of a kind unlike any other! Wonderful place if you enjoy the outdoors and hikes, very easy to get too! The B&B was unlike any other, we just felt wonderful staying here, almost VIP if you would say. I recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone who likes to feel fancy. :D

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeartonFire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed nearly a week at the Yosemite West lodge. We found it conveniently located near to the valley for the hikes there. It was closer than the valley to the hikes on the south rim of the valley. The B&B was very clean and our room was comfortable. The food was good fuel for our hikes: omelets, crepes, or cereal and yogurt were available if we wanted an early start.

What we liked best was the hostess, Karen. She spoke with us just about every night at length about the hikes we were considering for the next day. She gave us great advice on what the hikes would be like and when we should schedule them. She also was kind enough to loan us some equipment for our hikes. She had plenty of maps for us to borrow.

Our hiking was awesome, and it was great to have a nearby base of operations and an attentive hostess to give us advice for the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mark_S56701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in May and were delighted. Here are some of the positives we loved:
1. Karen and her daughters were great and knowledgable hostesses. The breakfasts were very good and got us ready for the day. They greatly assisted in our planning our days, so that we had fine activities just suited for what we wanted, as well as avoiding the crowds that were there on a busy holiday weekend.
2. It was in the park, so we did not have to cope with the lines re-entering every day.
3. In our shower, they had nice body wash and shampoos that did not require disposal of plastic containers every day.
4. The room was spacious and comfy, and the common areas were, also. We delighted in watching the sun set each night from the balcony.
5. They had fresh fruit and beverages available and gratis all the time.
Overall, it was a great choice for us.

Room Tip: Room 2 was by the kitchen, but was fine for us. Not noisy, but the people there were considerate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.8 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,722 reviews
15.1 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,968 reviews
28.3 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
12 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,230 reviews
35.3 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7460 Henness Ridge Rd, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: ₹ 16,850 - ₹ 19,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Yosemite West High Sierra Hotel Yosemite National Park
Yosemite West High Sierra b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing