We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite Vacation Homes
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Yosemite”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Firstly I would recommend additionally searching Tripadvisor under Hilltop Cabins as I think this is also the name of these group of cabins.
We stayed in Lupin cabin, part of Hilltop Cabins (4yosemite.com) for 3 nights of the end of May 2011. I could not recommend this cabin more - it was so perfect and serene, we loved it so much and didn't want to leave. A perfect base for discovering Yosemite and inside the park boundary. Privately owned by Sue, it is clean and nicely maintained, the cabin suits 2 perfectly but there is also a small cute loft area and I believe the sofa can be turned into a bed. The kitchen facilities are good, the bed is large and comfy, the views and windows are great - stargazing on the patio is a must at night. The hot tub is a lovely way to unwind after a day walking in Yosemite. There is a BBQ should you wish to use it. There was also a selection of the latest magazines (climbing, Time etc), a DVD player and some DVDs, board games and wifi. There is no television but this is to be expected in Yosemite - and who needs it anyway! Well done Sue - long may Hilltop Cabins continue in this very special part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelhols11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Dear Doe & Chris,
We very much enjoyed having your lovely, clean home to return to each day after hiking the trails in Yosemite. So much nicer than a hotel room. Your home is warm and inviting. Just like the two of you.

Our experience was a great one from the very beginning. You two were came across so warm and friendly on the phone. You made us feel welcome long before we arrived.

You seem to have thought of everything. The books and magazines you left for your guests to read were great, gave us a better idea of Yosemite and info we didn't have. We also enjoyed your husband's pictures (he is a great photographer). We learned about the "T" markings (found this in one of your books). It was very helpful in finding many of the trails. Also which trails to hike if you want to get away from the crowd. Like Lake Elizabeth, Lake May, and Lake Gaylor. Each with a beauty of their own.

Since we ate all our meals at your place it was thoughtful and considerate that you left some spices, condiments, etc. So thoughtful. Thank You.


Doe it was nice to meet you. You are as pretty as you are nice. We enjoyed our little visit with you.

We will be sure to spread the word to our friends and acquaintance's about what a score your place is.

Thanks again,
Bob & Irene Palmer
Kissimmee, Florida

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Reamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, WI
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This place had goods and bads. It is in the park, is between 30 - 40 minute drive from the Yosemite village (road has been under construction which can make the drive longer - obviously not owners fault). It is in a subdivision. There is housing construction going on in the subdivision. I think the driveway was my worse nightmare trying to back a full size van out past the other cars parked in the driveway. It is the upstairs of the owners home (not a good option for handicap accessiblity), owner was not home, but a list of who to call if problems is on the frig. Suite Sunshine is decorated cutely, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils - wasn't missing much if anything and all was in good condition. Has dish washer, nice frig/freezer. Gas grill worked wonderfully. However, you must remove all of your trash when you leave, so you need to pack the garbage up in your vehicle and haul it out. Realizing you are in a park, you do expect some bugs and for the most part, place was bug free, however whoever cleans needs to dust out the cobwebs in the light fixtures and windows.

Payment was 50% down with a generous refund policy if you cancelled more than 30 days before planned stay. They do not take any credit cards, and prefer a check (I rarely travel with a checkbook on vacation).

Would recommend this to others and would probably stay there again should the occassion arise to be in Yosemite again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchingtotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Charming, quaint, close to everything - - can even walk, quiet, absolutely enjoyable !
This was our second stay, so that pretty much tells you how much we like it !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

There appear to be few choices regarding staying in Yoemite ie limited accomodation within the valley -which apparently gets booked up early, or to stay outside of the park and travel in. So it was great to learn through Trip Advisor about rented accomodation within the park. We stayed in the duplex 'Suite Sunshine' which is located in West Yosemite which is a small community of private homes within pine woods. West Yosemite is a couple of miles from the turning to Glacier Point Road and about a 20 minute drive to Yosemite valley [which is a short journey given the immense size of Yosemite National Park].
Vacation Homes essentially advertises private homes for rental but note that there is no central office or contact - the contact is made directly with the owner so it is important that you keep a record of any correspondence between you and the owner and ensure contact leading up to your stay. Our owner was not set up to take any card payment so she had to set up a paypal account for our deposit and we paid the balance in traveller cheques. Suite Sunshine has two double bedrooms and a pull-out bed in the lounge. There are two bathrooms and kitchen. There appeared to be a laundry room/cupboard but it was padlocked but you may be able to have access to it if you ask the owner. There is also a small terrace with a big table and a BBQ. This is a lovely sun trap from lunch time . The owner is lovely and gave us some advice on which hikes to do first. There is a good library of guide books and maps which really helped our stay. Regarding shopping, it is wise to stock up on food and drink before you arrive since there is only limited provision in the park.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
23.1 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,581 reviews
22.3 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,049 reviews
36.2 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
23.3 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.5 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Vacation Homes

Property: Yosemite Vacation Homes
Address: Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,211 - ₹ 29,319
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unique vacation homes and cabins that are located inside the entrance gates of Yosemite National Park.With long lines common now almost every day from April to October at the entrance gates you can beat the crowds by staying inside Yosemite Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Vacation Homes Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing