We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Yellowstone National Park
from US$ 260.00
More Info
from US$ 250.00
More Info
from US$ 700.00
More Info
from US$ 290.00
More Info
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
113
37
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
37
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming hole cliff jumping life jackets great place to swim protect your feet nice temperature jump off small canyon wear water shoes madison junction great spot to stop beautiful fall great sights hot springs bison geyser basins side road
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stunning views. Out-of-the way loop that we almost missed. Beautiful river with osprey nests, waterfalls. Glad we made this part of our trip.

Thank Phyllis855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After spending ten days seeing all the geothermals, mountains, bison, valleys, etc, we just happened to get on this road near the end of our stay. It was one beautiful pulloff after another. All the picturesque winding river, rapids, forests that could easily been overlooked.

Thank 599tomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Great amazing place - lots of pictures taken, there probably is not a bad place in Yellowstone - highly recommend going in September - cooler and less crowded

Thank C1005IUdavidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Not really a secret, but a really fun swimming hole! It's not cold because of the geyser activity. A bit of a strong current so would not recommend for little ones. Great for stronger kids and adults. Very pleasant little series of rapids to explore!

Thank klvoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Very nice location with turnouts to stop and view the river and canyon. There is a swimming area that can be used during certain times of the year.

Thank 1968ChevyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

This is definitely not a must see. The Firehole Falls ia only about 40 feet and looks more like a rapid. The Gibbon Falls on the road between Madison Junction and Norris Junction is twice as tall and easier to access being on the roadside and more scenic. There were some swimmers by the Firehole Falls but from their expression , it didn't look like the water was that warm. Parking could be a problem as the parking area is quite small. You might end up parking by the roadside. On the positive side, you might be able to take a picture close to the waterfall since it is small.

Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

When on the lower loop, this is a great spot to stop for some amazing background pictures. With multiple locations and less traffic than other areas of the park, this should be on your list for that perfect vacation photo.

Thank JMBailey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

And a swimming hole plus a diving platform just behind the no diving sign. We enjoyed the show and the water. A very popular spot with more great scenery.

Thank jamesbond44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We went here by car as the road is not accessible by RV. We read you can swim here in warm water (warm by volcanic heating). Unfortunately there was too much water in the river so it was not safe to swim. Nevertheless it is a beautiful place to see.

Thank traveladdict3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

The canyon drive to get here is a gorgeous 2mile stretch. You can park roadside and walk down the rocky path to the water. Bring water shoes. My 7th grade daughter and I decided this would be a great experience to say we swam in Yellowstone and after doing some reading up I felt it was fairly safe. Big mistake! We are both fairly good swimmers. If you go and stay just in the bottom part wide pool area the current is not that strong and you can swim or stand or wade and that part was fun. However the the “S” part of the river where many kids were also swimming and sliding off rocks into the river is dangerous. You won’t know it by looking at the water and it won’t appear so but depending how you angle in and where you enter you can get sucked under the water in seconds. We entered the water near the bottom half of the “S” canyon and had done it successfully a couple times before it happened. This final time was quite different than being pushed quickly by a fast moving current and I would described it as a whirlpool that I was dragged into and under and thankfully got out. We had no intention of going under water this day but I did within seconds and lost sunglasses and hat fighting my way back up to the top from being pulled 2-3 feet under. Don’t care about sunglasses etc at all but tell this as emphasis on how surprising and quickly things can go bad. Go if you want and swim only at the bottom but don’t be tempted to enter into the narrow canyon area. Not worth it.

1  Thank LauraA339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews