We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's be honest...I wanted a hotel within walking distance of a few bars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gould Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gould Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Let's be honest...I wanted a hotel within walking distance of a few bars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

However, after I booked I started reading the reviews and realized this place had been remodeled in the past could of years. Man, was I suprised.

The hotel has a feel of HIGH END European boutique hotel. The rooms were immaculate, the bathroom very large, the restaurant considered somewhat gourmet (but with decent pricing) and the bar was excellent.

For my money, though, all the amenities in the world can't make up for idiot staff. THAT'S what this place worth it to me to travel 30 miles out my way to stay there if I'm ever in the area again. Impeccable service all around.

If you go, tell Carol at the bar hi from Jim and Joe. Tell her about the guys from the midwest that are believers in Bigfoot---she'll remember.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    112
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
47
174
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hotel Clarence was Great. Unfortunately it was just a stop over on our way through the area. It was the Thursday before Christmas. We were able to get a King suite-front corner room for $100.00!! That location may not appeal to all as it is on the main street at an intersection but he had a view of the bridge and the Christmas lighted street. The Bathroom was huge-2 sinks in a seperate space from the shower and toilet. A very modern sitting area with TV and coffee. The King bedroom was luxuriously comfy and beautiful. As noted by a previous reviewer the thermostat was set to high for us also but we turned and off and were comfortable. We were wishing we had another night to sleep in that bed and eat in their wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packingpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca Falls, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed all over the world in 4 and 5 stars hotels. Usually the rooms are all the same, slight differences, but the general decor and layout are pretty cookie cutter. The Hotel Clarence is NOT cookie cutter. The bedroom is so beautiful. The chandelier over the bed reflects off the extended headboard. Its hard to explain, you just have to see it. The entire suite was great. The staff was very helpful. Great bedding. An awesome place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms *12, *13, and *15 have a view of the main drag in Seneca Falls and a partial canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FingerLakesBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I do like this hotel for the most part. It is very clean and really reminds me of a boutique hotel you would find in Manhatten.

A couple of things though...
Durning the winter the heat is set for "a comfortable 72 degrees". We shut the heat off and opened the windows in the middle of winter because it was so hot. The room never dropped below 70.

The pillows provided are very thick. We ended up having to take them off them bed and do without.

Try to get a room on the inside hall. The outside of the hall is next to the street and sidewalk and you can hear everything.

Staff is barely friendly.

Room didn't have soap when we arrived. They brought us some and the next day took back the one we hadn't opened yet.

There is K-cup coffee provided, but day two they took those from our room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

A lovingly restored building in a charming small town. Rooms are compact, comfy and cozy. Loved the updated art deco vibe, and the restaurant serves quality, local foods and wines to help us out of towners get a true taste of this historic place (yes, Seneca Falls provided the backdrop of "It's a Wonderful Life, but it was also pretty much the birthplace of the Women's Rights/suffrage movement in the U.S.)

A great weekend getaway, whether for the history, the nearby shopping in Watertown/Syracuse, or both.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
15.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
18.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
18.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gould Hotel

Property: The Gould Hotel
Address: 108 Fall St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1472
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,761 - ₹ 14,207
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gould Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gould Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing