We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Symphony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Symphony Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived late, so had to call and get the manager out of bed to come down the street to let us in. He was very accommodating, offering us a glass of wine and a nice chat. He tried to help us find someplace to get food late at night. The room was small, but completely clean and comfortable. In the morning, there was a fantastic array of bagels, muffins, etc and fresh fruit with yogurt. My boyfriend and I actually felt bad that we paid so little for such a nice experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTRHotel, Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We are always here to accommodate all of our guests needs & love doing it as well!
Thank you so much for staying with us in our boutique hotel in OTR, it was a pleasure meeting both of you! Hope to see you again soon on your next stay in Cincy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    29
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
73
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Visited Cincy and had a blast in the
neighborhood. Loved the OTR area with its unique neighborhoods and activities Loved being able to walk a few blocks to great restaurants and to very cool Coffee Emporium. Yes it is an old neighborhood and yes there are homeless people but we walked the neighborhood both day and night for 2 days with no incidents.

Staying at the Symphony Hotel was not the high point. It sounded better on line than in reality. It is an old dark hotel with the motif of classical composers but little more going for it. The above mentioned dark red drapes, poor in room lighting, dirty cracked windows and extremely hot rooms made for an uncomfortable weekend. We had to ask repeatedly to have the heat lowered as it was unbearably hot. There was an in-room air conditioner but it was so noisy it was like running a turbo engine in the room.

The chef was very nice and the food adequate but not above average. He was helpful in suggesting ideas around town and clearly liked his job.

Our room was straightened after the first night but not cleaned. Glasses we used Friday night were still in the room when we returned late the next day - still with the left over wine in them.

I can't give them a high recommendation except that they are close to interesting things. That may be worth it for that reason. Not a bad place. Just not a great one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
Hi there,
First of all thank you so much for staying with us & I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was not a great one. We would be more than happy to make it up to you if you would be willing to give us another try. We here do think that our rooms are very nice & are as described. We have a lot of return guest that always keep coming back! Yes there are times some of the rooms do get a little hot & bet you stayed in Rachmaninoff, which is directly above our boiler system. We have addressed the situation & hope it makes for a better stay! Thanks Symphony Hotel Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Hotel: The owner was very accommodating and friendly as he upgraded my room to one with a bathroom and offered me a glass of wine as we talked about O-T-R and CinCin (I am an Urban Planner). Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the furnishings were appropriate, and the continental breakfast was good.
OTR: This is an AMAZING collection of intact mid to late 1800's buildings that are either restored, in the process of being restored, or awaiting restoration. The entire neighborhood has been down on its luck for decades and is currently regenerating at light speed. Day or night OTR is moving into a better economic future as restaurants, creative-class business, galleries, etc... are popping up from downtown going northward. Although conditions exist in the OTR environs that will make some people nervous, get over your TV/movie influenced fears and walk around and enjoy the beauty of the area. This area is changing so quickly (for the better) that earlier comments (2+ years) should be ignored (as should my observations in a few years).
Future: The park in front on the Music Hall will be finished in 2012 and the Streetcar line (say a prayer) will be finished a few years later. These two improvements will dramatically speed up the regeneration of the area and I predict that OTR will be (at some point) in the league of Beacon Hill or Charlston or old San Juan. It is that impressive!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LarryFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

What a great experience! Such a charming and warm environment and so close to Music Hall it made it fun to "walk next door" to the Symphony! Chef David Buchman made the very best dinner and breakfast we have had in a long time! It started with the squash soup which was to die for and was wonderful all the way to the pumpkin cheesecake and drinks later with him in the bar! Breakfast was delightful and the wonderful aromas from the kitchen woke us up! He is a wonderful host and the service was so personal. Thank you, David! All the best-Julia Wesselkamper

Room Tip: Ask David! He'll personally pick one for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi there!

Catching up on reviews....Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments with your stay here at the Symphony Hotel! Glad to hear you enjoyed the Jazz music & the cooking! We try to put everything out with Love. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Symphony Hotel. This seemed like a more interesting alternative than a large, urban hotel. We were called by the hotel on the day of our arrival to plan our arrival time-a nice touch. When we arrived, we had a reserved parking space at the front door. David, who manages the hotel was kind enough to offer some wine and discuss our plans for the evening and following day. Overall, a welcoming alternative to the usual wait-in-line check-in experience in a larger hotel.

We stayed in the Bach room, which was comfortable and very quiet given the city setting. This room has a sink in the corner of the room, and private toilet/shower off the bedroom. Overall, the house is a solid, late-1800s Italianate building with tall (10 ft?) ceilings, stained glass transoms above doorways, fireplace mantels, a grand staircase, and with some original art throughout. It is a little dated but that is more than compensated by the character of the building and the friendly atmosphere.

The neighborhood may or may not be comfortable depending on what you are used to. David pointed out that the homeless shelter in the area (not directly near the hotel) adds to the mix of people. The hotel faces the side of the Music Hall. The windowless wall of brick plus the lack of development on either side of the hotel make for a kind of barren feeling when you step outside. So we preferred to drive rather than walk. The nearby Washington Park is under major construction and one gets the sense that the area will have a more contiguous developed pattern rather than more spotty development as it is now.

Overall, you should consider the Symphony Hotel if you want a more personal place to stay in the Cincinnati city-center. If you are attending a concert at the Music Hall, it's perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandpohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#13 of 51 in Cincinnati
867 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,076 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,252 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symphony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Hotel

Property: Symphony Hotel
Address: 210 W 14th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-7507
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,827 - ₹ 27,833
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Symphony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symphony Hotel and Restaurant: located in Historic Over the Rhine, next to Washington Park and Music Hall. The hotel has 9 composer themed guest rooms. We include a relaxing, gourmet brunch prepared by our chef on Saturdays and Sundays. Monday - Friday we serve a complimentary hot continental breakfast for hotel guests, which includes made to order eggs dishes. For your convenience we offer: free parking, flat screen television with satellite, high speed internet, an outdoor rooftop deck with a gas fire pit and guest rooms with individual heating and air temperature control. The Restaurant's historic dining room is open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday for two, three, or five course gourmet dining. All Pre-concert dinners are 5 course. Happy hour is on Thursday from 5-7pm. Taste bourbon and wine in our tasting room and relax with a glass of wine or craft cocktails in our lounge offering complimentary live jazz on Friday and Saturday evenings 8-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Symphony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing