We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel - One of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were in Cincy for a mini-vacation with our 2 y.o. daughter and the hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. I agree with all of the other reviews about the friendliness and cleanliness, I didn't think a hotel could be so clean. The room was very spacious and very quiet. It gave us plenty of room to move around and play hide and go seek. The kitchen in the room was great and had everything you would need to cook and eat (they even have tupperware). The windows even open a little bit to let in some fresh air. The staff spoiled our daughter (in a good way) and made the trip extra special for her. There is a great closed in patio with green space and a fountain that is a great place to relax. We could sit back and relax while our daughter ran around in the grass and played. The breakfast had plenty to choose from and the food was great. The hotel is close to everything, 10 min to the museum or zoo and 5 min to the aquarium. It is also a very short walk to Fountain Square. There is a great little park across the street with a little playground and there is a much larger park and great big playground down by the river litterally 2 minutes away. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OSUBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are excited to hear that you not only enjoyed the suite and the staff service but also made good use of the area surrounding the hotel. Most importantly though, I am glad to hear my team treated your princess like a princess! We know how important it is when traveling with family to have each member of the family treated with the same kindness and hospitality.

We hope if your travels bring you back to Cincinnati that we will again have an opportunity to WOW you.

David Meisner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    78
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
168
149
13
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our Daughter attends Xavier University in Cincinnati. We made several visits to the area before she decided to attend. Each visit we would stay at a different hotel to get to know the area better. That was until we stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown. Words can't describe what a pleasure it is stay as a guest. From the moment you pull up front, being greeted by the most friendly staff to the special greeting each time you return to the hotel. We spend nearly 100 nights a year in hotels and this is by far out most favorite!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavierdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that we are now your hotel of choice when traveling to Cincinnati. The team here at the hotel strives to provide an exceptional experience in all areas at all times and it is great to hear we hit a home run with your stay.

We look forward to seeing you and your family and providing you with another wonderful hotel experience on your next trip to Cincinnati while visiting your daughters.


David Meisner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Overall, we stopped over here on the way from Chicago to the Smokies. From the moment we checked in, they staff at this place catered to our every need. They actually walk from around the desk to come talk to you when you check in! They gave plenty of great suggestions on where to have dinner outside the hotel area, shcih was great! The rooms are all suites. The breakfast rocked! The bar was cool. Only complaint was no pool, but we didn;t have time anyway!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjnbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for the great review and I am extremely happy to hear that you and your family (including your dog!) enjoyed your stay. Our team takes a great deal of pride in the experience we create for each and every guest and I am happy to see we lived up to our expectations with your stay. I hope when your travels bring you back to Cincinnati you will once again give us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience.

David Meisner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I spent 4 nights at this hotel, from April 1-5th, and was very impressed. The room they gave me was a corner 1 bedroom suite and it was spacious and bright (huge). The bed was super-comfy and the bathroom was also very large. From the moment I checked in to the moment I left the staff was super-helpful and really made me feel like I was a valued, long-time customer, even though this was my first stay. I cannot stress enough how great the service was - they really are a cut above most of the hotels I have stayed in (I used to be a former road warrior and have travelled extensively for work). They have a wonderful grocery shopping service - you get your order in before 9am and they do the shopping and put it away for you. The kitchen was perfect for my needs - granite countertops, huge fridge, two-burner stove, microwave, coffee maker, full set of dishes, etc.. everything one would need for a long or short stay. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance or a short cab-ride away. The hotel even provides a list of restaurants that will deliver right to your room. The free wi-fi was fast and dependable. I was verypleased with my stay here and am looking forward to returning later this month.

Room Tip: My room was 914 and the only noise I heard was the fireworks going off at the stadium one night duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortMoodyGal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for the amazing review! The team is extremely excited to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you had an opportunity to enjoy the great amenities our hotel has to offer. Most importantly though, I truly appreciate the feedback you provided about the team and our service, we believe we have a great team and are glad to know our dedication to service is making a difference in our guest experience. I look forward to meeting you when you return next month and providing you with another great experience.

David Meisner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Absolutely loved everything about this hotel. The accomodations, food and staff cannot be beat! Every staff member from the valet to the person busing the tables is outstanding. This location is a great example of how customer service should be if you want your business to be the best. There is a reason that this hotel is Number One in Cincinatti. The hotel is remodeled and very chic without being ostentatious. Everything was clean, new and upscale. The hotel serves a hot breakfast in the morning and in the afternoon and evening you can order drinks and hot food in the bar. They have plenty of cosy and welcome seating indoors and out. The bar menu includes everything from sliders to salads and such. Even the desserts sounded very interesting but unfortunately we did not get a chance to try them, maybe next time.

Room Tip: Courtyard has a better view but those units not facing the courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickierthanU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Our entire team is excited to hear about your great experience at the Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown. We take a great deal of pride in the experience we create for each and every guest and it is great to know we hit one out of the park for you. I hope that if your travels bring you back to Cincinnati that we can again have the opportunity to provide you and yours with an other exceptional experience.

Thank you again for the great comments; they will be shared with the entire team!

David Meisner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,213 - ₹ 21,523
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, the all-new Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown offers Cincinnati hotel accommodations that blend old-world splendor with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing