We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Diamond Head location, nice rooms, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Lotus recently and were very pleased with the service, and the size and design of the room.

LOCATION: The hotel is on the quiet “Gold Coast,” in front of Diamond Head, across from Kapiolani Park and next to the Outrigger Canoe Club. All rooms have lanais that face Diamond Head, which looms very large and close, so you’ll have a nice view. If you’re on a higher floor, you’ll even get some ocean.

STAFF: The staff could not have been nicer. They lay out coffee in the morning and wine in the evening on a table in the lobby. Anything we asked for, basically they accommodated.

THE ROOM: The room had a very modern, clean design. Whites and teal blues. Sliding shutter doors closed out the sun. Nice flat-screen TV and complimentary wireless.

THE PROPERTY: The only thing to note is that are no restaurants and there is no pool. But, you are right next to San Souci beach and the hotel will give you free beach chairs and towels. Much better than any pool.

I would highly recommend to those who have done the busy Waikiki thing and are interested in staying a bit off the beaten path – just far enough – and don’t have the need to sit around a pool and be waited on hand and foot. A walk to the Halekulani for drinks is around 20 minutes or so.

Tip: it’s $10 per day for valet parking, cheap enough, but there is ample meter parking across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Exploricon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. You touch on all of the things that make this a great property, location, staff, and amenities. We are in the process of opening the restaurant and hope that by the time you return we will be in full scale operation.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Lotus soon.
Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 828 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

The Aqua Lotus hotel is truly outstanding in quality and service. It was a little tricky to find at first and the check in lady was a bit grumpy, but when we opened our room door we were so pleased we had chosen this hotel. The feeling certainly intensified after going out on our lanai.....amazing views!!!
Complimentary wine between 4 and 6pm was well received even if it did mean we had to have a little nap before dinner!
Location is perfect here as it is quiet yet close to everywhere you want to go. I even had a crazy exercise moment and made use of the complimentary bike to peddle round the local park.
Our only issue is with with parking. Maybe it's because we are from the UK where valet parking is rare, but I found it annoying to be charged $20 a night for parking, then have to tip the valet every time you wanted to pop downtown in your car, especially when my car was parked right next to the valet station. It did make me smile though when the valet would only move my car 10 feet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acemedsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see that you took advantage of the wine reception in the afternoon and were able to fully enjoy the excellent location and other amenities that we have at the property. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years. It is a great small boutique hotel located near Diamond Head and out of the way from the crowds of Waikiki. The sevice and staff are excellent and they have just remodeled the rooms which are spacious and well appointed with dark wood floors and new furniture. The hotel does not have a restuarant or room sevice but I like the quiet location and apacious rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you are as pleased with the results of our renovation as we are. We look forward to be able to open the restaurant space again soon and completing the transformation of the property back to its full service capabilities.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Beautiful rooms and very affordable rates. No food service, but if you are a member or guest at the Outrigger you have a great place to eat right next door. Location is awesome; staff friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurapavloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

We can’t wait to see you back here at the Aqua Lotus Honolulu! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are working hard at getting the restaurant space opened with the right tenant that will make you want to drive in from Haleiwa to want to stay with us again!
Aloha,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were extremely happy with our entire stay from the moment we pulled into the parking lot until the time we checked out. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet and the staff were all pleasant, helpful and very accomodating with all of our requests and questions. Our room had a spectacular view of Diamond Head as well as the ocean. We were away from the crazy downtown area and all of the noise there but within walking distance to everything when we wanted the craziness. The beach near us was beautiful and never crowded and only a minute away from us. We also had a small convenience store a stone throw away from the hotel. We especially enjoyed the complimentary wine every evening. They offered beach towels, mats, and chairs, as well as bikes free of charge. We would definitely stay at the Lotus again and would highly reccommend it. We loved it there!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.
As you note, we do have a number of complimentary amenities which we are proud to offer and feel set us apart from many of the other Honolulu properties.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,186 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4002 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 15,445 - ₹ 29,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing