We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Stay for Business Travel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Recent Stay for Business Travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just completed a 7 night stay at the Doubletree Alana Moana Hotel, nice rooms, property is located in good area near the hilton hawaiian village and many other hotels.

The big negatives: Pool area is not worth hanging out at, only one bar/restaurant on property, service is hit and miss.

Don't bother asking for late checkout if you are on a redeye flight back to the mainland, I am a hilton diamond member and they did not care.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, air conditioning in rooms is lacking cold air especially when it is hot/humid outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caravan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    514
    301
    111
    51
See reviews for
332
315
105
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Checking in, usually the worst part, was a breeze. Kristen was super patient in helping me with room options, and was really friendly and welcoming. Every employee we encountered was friendly, actually.
The room was well decorated and clean, and just perfectly laid out. This is not a luxe hotel, of course, but terrific value at this price point.
The only neg would be parking, which is expensive ($30/day for valet only) and limited. Kamaaina is free though, so this is more a comment for out of towners.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallieNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Because, heaven forbid, if your plans change (or there is a problem w/your flight), & you try to cancel less than 3 days from your expected arrival date, they will charge you anyway. Like another reviewer, I have never had this kind of problem w/a Hilton hotel but lesson learned-will not book another stay here; I'm sure the Marriott will be more than happy to have me back anytime.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Aloha txrus,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry our 72-hour cancellation policy didn't meet your needs. It is a very similar policy to many other hotels, especially here in Hwaii. While this policy helps insure rooms' availability, it is important for us to hear from customers who the policy does not help, to make sure we can regularly review them and make sure they still help the majority. Our apologies for disappionting you and best wishes in your future travels.

Mahalo,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here near the end of March. Anyway, I'll just dive right into it.

At check in, we were met with a sense of false security. The agent just wanted us to go right to our room. We were offered cookies, both of which were cold. Our room was located in the dull part of the hotel-the 5th floor, near the streets. Walking out of the elevator, our floor looked completely dilapidated. Our room however, was very clean and the bathroom even better. Shower products were by Crabtree and Evelyn and came in mini shampoo, conditioner and body lotion bottles containing citron and cucumber. Our balcony unfortunately did not shine nearly as close as the rest of the room. The view was street side and noisy. Also, our air conditioning was broken. No upgrade offered to us for being members. Also, do know that it is valet only and charged every day.

The service was tiresome. On my first night, I requested a toothbrush. The front desk handled my request in a very timely manner. The person that delivered it to me though handed me the toothbrush by holding his hand in front of me, didn't look/acknowledge me and walked away without saying anything-very cold response. We did enjoy the daily newspaper though.

On our last day, we printed our boarding passes complimentary at the business center. We were handed a copy of our bill and two cookies, this time warm. My take on it is simple. There is a cold arrival and a more than warmer get the hell out of the hotel already attitude. I wish I could have experienced what others speak of on their comments-in a positive light. I'm glad they enjoyed themselves. I, on the other hand, will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Aloha Nick K,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience here at our hotel. We're very sorry that you did not encounter the warm and friendly service that we are known for. Our Ohana does do our best to make sure that all of our guests have a rewarding stay, but we do miss a few. We can and will get better though.. We've addressed these issues with our team and hope that next time you're in Honolulu, you'll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service.

Mahalo again for your comments,
The Doubletree by Hilton Alana Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed for 12 nights at the end of February and prior to arriving and reading all the reviews for this place on a variety of travel sites we were a little afraid that we had chosen to stay at the wrong place......we were wrong. This hotel is a hidden oasis!! From the moment we checked in the whole stay was a pleasure. The cookies at check in were divine and we managed to get two lots of them!!! The pool was reasonably sized and wasn't ever crowded when we used it, who goes to Hawaii and just uses the hotel pool anyway? Our room was on the 18th floor and had great views to the mountains. The room had been recently renovated and was very nice. In all the reviews that I read people were complaining about the size of the shower and that you couldn't turn around in it... maybe not if you were the size of a sumo wrestler! It had fantastic water pressure and a huge shower head. As for all the complaints about noise well you are on one of the main roads into and out of Waikiki, we weren't bothered by road noise. The hotel was within walking distance to the heart of Waikiki and Ala Moana shopping centre. Close to the lagoon and Friday night fireworks. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Honolulu!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winky24273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,363 - ₹ 21,289
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing