We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We came here for our anniversary and this trip topped our honeymoon. The service in the hotel was wonderful. Rooms were clean and well-appointed. This hotel is an oasis in the middle of a busy city. The hotel restaurants and breakfasts were wonderful. Our every need was met. I have no complaints and would be happy to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cougmonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    451
    148
    52
    38
See reviews for
637
1,167
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

There is no getting around it that this place ain't cheap! Spent three nights here after checking out early from the Royal Hawaiian early (small, dark rooms and 3 star-not 5 star service- at 5 star price). It was worth every penny and was definitely the way to end our trip. We loved it so much we paid the half day rate so that we could stay in our room until our red eye left on the last night. The Diamond Head view room was incredible. Quite frankly we didn't want to leave the room. Our first night we had drinks and dinner on our Lanai and listened to the music below and if it weren't for my foodie instincts to get out there and try other restaurants we could have been very happy doing that each night. What a unique room service experience. Better view than any restaurant can provide you on the whole island. If you are looking to take that special trip with your wife/husband and you can stretch your dollars a stay here and at the Kahala will leave you with memories that are hard to beat. We just did that for our 15th wedding anniversary and I am already thinking of doing the same trip again for our 20th!

Room Tip: Diamond Head view room is worth every penny. Best view from a hotel lanai that I have ever experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the diamond head ocean view rooms for a weeklong honeymoon, and we couldnt have been any happier. Upon check in, we were given a personal tour of the grounds by our reception clerk. She pointed out the restaurants, lounge bar, pool and access to the beach. The high point of the tour was when she opened the door of our room and we saw our view. Truly amazing! 180 degree view of the water and diamond head. We spent most nights with the slider door open so we could hear the waves crash as we slept. The rooms are very tastefully, and luxuriously, appointed but without going overboard. They all have a very nice lanai where you can sit and enjoy the view. The staff were all fantastic, and even knew our names after a couple of days. Sitting in the pool area, we were treated to complimentary ice cream bars and ice cold towels every afternoon.

The only issues we had, and they are nitpicky, are the following: Wish we could see the ocean from the pool area, they need a jacuzzi/hot tub, and the furniture layout of the rooms should be reversed so you can enjoy the ocean views from the bed. The grounds are so beautiful, quiet, and peaceful that you really dont feel that you are in Waikiki at all! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay in Waikiki for the nightlife, but still wants a quiet place to stay! If I could afford it, I would live at the Halekulani!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brutale04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Thanks to the recentl renovation, the hotel looks like 5 star again. When I stayed there 2 years ago, I was a bit concerned about the tired look. It would be a shame to lose the 5 star status despite the great food and service. I am glad it came out so beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of Diamond Head are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kck0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed for our 25th wedding anniversary. Room had ocean view, good size. Food and service excellent but be.prepared to pay !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 37,778 - ₹ 48,431
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Agoda so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing