We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sunset Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunset Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The best place to watch sunset, have wonderful Mai Tai's and see Kanoe hula. Also if you stay for dinner, the coconut cake is THE BEST!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    457
    150
    52
    38
See reviews for
643
1,180
66
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stay here twice a year and we never want to leave. Favourite place it the world. It is great to be in Waikiki with lot's going on but as soon as you walk onto the property it is calm, relaxing, and it feels like you are in a secluded resort.

The staff are amazing, when we come back after 6 or 8 months they even remember our drink orders by the pool. The cleaning staff even refer to you by name when you pass them in the halls.

We have stayed in a lot of top hotels around the world and nothing compares to the Helukulani.

Be prepared to pay for it. I have read negative comments on here from people that are cheap. If you are cheap, stay at a cheap hotel, this probably is not the place for you. It is excellent value if you appreciate it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

What a special hotel! From check-in, to check-out, we were treated like royalty. Our ocean front room was stunning, a view to die for. A lovely fruit platter, a box of chocolates, and a bottle of champagne on ice were waiting for us as we walked into our room. The pool area is wonderful, and we enjoyed several excellent mai tais while reading and relaxing in the sun! Room service breakfasts served on our lanai were delicious and memorable. But what makes this hotel so truly amazing is the service. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, and address you by name from the moment you arrive. We are already planning to return this winter. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VancouverWestwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third stay at the Halejulani, we stayed here on our honeymoon a few years ago and its become an expensive addiction. We stayed in Waikiki for 11 nights, but spent the last 4 nights at the Halekulani where we could just kick back and relax. The location is excellent, the staff are friendly, the pool is brilliant and you can walk out the gate to beach and walk 5 steps to get into the water.
What amazes me is that the food prices are totally reasonable. We had breakfast in Orchids twice both times with ocean fronting tables and it cost us around $40 plus tips each time. The views are million dollar!
I also tried the spa for the first time and whilst it wasn't cheap it was the best spa i've ever been too.
There is plenty to do in Oahu so if you're going to be running around the island I would stay somewhere cheaper, but stay in style and elegance if you want to kick back and enjoy the Halekulani's world class facilities.

Room Tip: we always pay for a partial ocean front as it's cheaper and still has a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimmer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

You can't beat the attentive yet inscrutable service of this famed resort on Waikiki.
From checking in with the flower- leid desk staff, to your in-room welcome you are in for a treat.
The staff know your name and use it with an authenticity not found in most hotels. Whether you are a first time visitor or returning to Hawaii for your 100th visit expect a warm and caring experience.
The location is a wall oasis in the center of commercial Waikiki, once you return across the threshold and welcomed with fresh, cold pineapple juice expect wonderful views of Waikiki beach, a choice of restaurants with excellently prepared cusines, trade winds and the sounds of Hawaiian music on warm, tropical breezes. Welcome to Heaven.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have best views of Diamond Head. Pool is large with close access to beach if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 38,214 - ₹ 48,202
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing