We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the expense”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third stay at the Halejulani, we stayed here on our honeymoon a few years ago and its become an expensive addiction. We stayed in Waikiki for 11 nights, but spent the last 4 nights at the Halekulani where we could just kick back and relax. The location is excellent, the staff are friendly, the pool is brilliant and you can walk out the gate to beach and walk 5 steps to get into the water.
What amazes me is that the food prices are totally reasonable. We had breakfast in Orchids twice both times with ocean fronting tables and it cost us around $40 plus tips each time. The views are million dollar!
I also tried the spa for the first time and whilst it wasn't cheap it was the best spa i've ever been too.
There is plenty to do in Oahu so if you're going to be running around the island I would stay somewhere cheaper, but stay in style and elegance if you want to kick back and enjoy the Halekulani's world class facilities.

Room Tip: we always pay for a partial ocean front as it's cheaper and still has a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rimmer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,135 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

You can't beat the attentive yet inscrutable service of this famed resort on Waikiki.
From checking in with the flower- leid desk staff, to your in-room welcome you are in for a treat.
The staff know your name and use it with an authenticity not found in most hotels. Whether you are a first time visitor or returning to Hawaii for your 100th visit expect a warm and caring experience.
The location is a wall oasis in the center of commercial Waikiki, once you return across the threshold and welcomed with fresh, cold pineapple juice expect wonderful views of Waikiki beach, a choice of restaurants with excellently prepared cusines, trade winds and the sounds of Hawaiian music on warm, tropical breezes. Welcome to Heaven.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have best views of Diamond Head. Pool is large with close access to beach if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peripatetic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel makes the big city feel of Honolulu go away. Wanted the best on this trip and this was it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebblebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Absolutely nothing bad to say. If you've got the dough, stay here. If you dont, find a way to get the dough so you can stay here. Worth every penny.

We had our wedding here, and we were very surprised that it wasnt overpriced because the hotel itself is very expensive. Wedding packages were so affordable compared to other not-as-special hotels in the area. We had a relatively small party, less than 80 people, and we were so extremely pleased with the staff during the planning and especially on the day of. Extremely organized and smiles all day long. The amazing food is still being raved about by guests even two months after the wedding. Beautiful and calm setting in the middle of the very busy Waikiki.

You will not regret staying here or having your event here. I promise!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, just stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyKat7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

what an introduction to hawaii!! the fabulous lunch under the Banyan tree on Wakiki after coming directly from the airport!. My familiy & I stayed in the cottage v O Mainland Overlooking the spot wwhere the music And songs were being broadcast on the " hawaii Calls" prgram to the Mainland right next to "the House with out a key. I would go downstairs and go inthe ocean on the beach as soon as I woke up the next morning. It was a fairy tale place which we wll never experience again because the old hotel & grounds don't exist as they were any more and we can't AFFORD IT NOW. truly one of mygreat life experiences and one of the best things I have done for my wife daughter!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
424 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 37,580 - ₹ 46,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing