We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
32 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$388
View deal
Hotels.com
$388
View deal
Destinia.com
$311
View deal
Alohilani$382
Travelocity$388
Prestigia.com$450
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,126)
Filter reviews
2,126 results
Traveller rating
1,191
427
230
140
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,191
427
230
140
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swell bar long board waikiki beach infinity pool ocean view across the street beautiful hotel hot tub abc store pool staff guest services diamond head our honeymoon oceanfront room longboard oceanarium jones
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 2,126 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2022

I would have left on the first night if it hadn’t been for the excellent location and the amenities provided by the hotel. We paid for an oceanfront room, which was rather disappointing and did not look anything like in the pictures they advertise. The room has clearly seen better days and is in desperate need of renovations. And with the hard bed, the noise from the AC unit and the loud neighbors who were constantly opening and closing the ridiculously heavy balcony door, it was nearly impossible to get a good night's sleep. Moreover, the bathroom was not only minuscule (6 ft), but also filthy, and it was begging for a thorough cleaning. On a particular day, the housekeeping even left us a towel with fresh lipstick on it. If I ever return to Honolulu, I will think twice before deciding staying in Alohilani again.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarotteDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2022

Aloha CarotteDG,

Mahalo for staying with us. We are deeply sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced. Our top focus is giving each guest an exceptional experience, and we value your comments very much. We are dedicated to sustaining the best standards of cleanliness and comfort. Our Director of Housekeeping has been informed, and additional measures will be taken to solve this issue. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to the opportunity to host you again.

Mahalo nui loa
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

Beware ..they take a deposit which they then won't return within 7 days ..apparently that's how long it takes to credit a card in this hotel ...they then tell you it's not their responsibility as they don't own the credit card machines they use ...and to cap it all they ignore emails to resolve and refuse to resolve face to face

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank X4175GAsimonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2022

Aloha X4175GAsimonb,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We're deeply sorry for the inconveniences you've experienced. We hope you can give us a chance to discuss your stay further, and we kindly ask that you reach out to us directly and ask for the Manager on Duty. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2022

This hotel is located right in the heart of Waikiki Beach and conveniently located right across the street from the beach! We had a great room with the Long Board Club access which offers excellent service and delicious breakfast and evening pupus and tasty array of wonderful wines and beers in the evening. The hotel pool promenade transforms from a day club into an evening event space with food and live entertainment. Special thanks to Alex (Guest Relations and Rooms Manager), as well as Micah (server at Long Board Club) and Shade (morning hostess at Long Board). They all work above and beyond to provide personalized service that our anniversary stay so special.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2022

Aloha NMTC,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your anniversary. We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us. We're also glad to hear that our staff was able to deliver top-notch service and that you liked our perfect location and Long Board club's amazing amenities. We hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2022

Hotel was great, nice location, friendly staff. Wi-Fi was stable and fast. Room was clean, can hear little bit from hallway (acceptable) but didn’t hear noise from rooms next to us. Oceanfront view room was really beautiful.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CiciT829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2022

Aloha CiciT829,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your recent stay in Honolulu. We are delighted to know of your perfect rating. We're also glad you enjoyed our excellent location, welcoming staff, and pristine room. It was great hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2022 via mobile

If you and your family would like to get bitten by BED BUGS, then this is the hotel for you! Absolutely DISGUSTED with my experience here and will NEVER come back.

We reported the issue to the front desk, where they repeatedly assured us that housekeeping had been notified and that after we gathered our belongings, the room would be sealed so a third party could come and inspect the room. When we were done at the front desk, we immediately returned to our room to collect our belongings.

Upon returning to our room, we found the maid in our room. She was just finishing up and was about to leave. She had already stripped the sheets off the bed (with bed bug evidence) and remade it with clean sheets. If we had returned a minute later, we would have missed her. We told her about the situation and asked her to check with her manager. At the time, I thought it might just be a simple misunderstanding. But looking back on everything, I definitely think that’s too much of a coincidence.

After a few minutes, the housekeeping manager, Joseph, shows up. He takes pictures of the bites on my husband and tells us that he’s been trained by two companies on how to spot bed bugs and that the bites on my husband looked like bed bug bites. He began tampering with the bed while we were in the room with him even though we were repeatedly told that a third party would be the one to inspect the bed. We eventually left the room but Joseph remained.

While the room was being inspected, we were unable to access our room for about 4 hours. The housekeeping manager suggested that we eat breakfast at the hotel’s restaurant, which is something that I expected because of the inconvenience of it all (and this supposedly is a 4-star hotel). He told us he’d take care of the meal for us… however days after we checked out, I found the charge for the breakfast on my credit card. I had to contact guest services to sort the situation out.

After the inspection was complete, Joseph called to inform us that the results came back as negative for bed bugs, and he told my husband that the bites he had were likely due to an allergic reaction to something… (yeah…an allergic reaction to the BED BUGS in your hotel!)

All in all, we cut our trip short and left the hotel immediately. They had upgraded our room from city view to partial ocean view, but I’m a local and could care less about the view. At this point, I was only concerned for the safety of my children (a 2-month-old and a 3-year-old). All I wanted to do was soak everything in Clorox and pray to god the bugs didn’t make it into our home.

The hotel staff definitely brushed the whole situation under the rug. Worst hospitality I’ve ever received! Upon checking out, the front desk made it seem as though they went out of their way to help us… but all that we received was a not-so free meal and a $100 credit for our stay. What underwhelming customer service! Spend your money elsewhere!! There is no Aloha at Alohilani.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jazmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2022

Aloha Jazmine,

Mahalo for staying with us and bringing this to our attention. We sincerely apologize to hear about your experience. Providing an exceptional guest experience is our number one priority and we greatly value your feedback. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort at our hotel. We have alerted our Director of Housekeeping and will be taking extra steps to address this concern. Please accept our deepest apologies and once again, thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo nui loa
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews