We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
322
124
41
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
124
41
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area swell bar huge aquarium waikiki beach abc store downstairs ocean view lobby bar kids pool morimoto restaurant tennis courts beautiful hotel diamond head we loved our stay pool staff perfect location across the street oceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Alohilani is an amazing place with really good location, friendly and professional staff, and a nice overall settings. The only problem with this place is the price that does not match the expectations you have in mind while you reserve.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coastal05938964218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, Front Office Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope you got to enjoy our Swell bar and the beautiful O Bar next to the aquarium. We feature our Welcome Mai Tais that you can pick up at Obar or Swell. The rooms offer a Keurig maker with to-go cups so you can take your coffee on your walk along Kalakaua. Our refillable water bottles and water stations help to reduce our carbon footprint and go green. Maile offers wonder products in their shop just around the corner from the lobby. They even offer a free gift with purchase! Our relaxing pool has great views of the sunset. Island Club and Spa offer classes that are FREE for guests of the resort. On Sundays we have a family night at the Kids Pool where we play family movies and offer snacks. Our business center allows you to print your boarding pass while enjoying the aquarium and a cocktail. Please come to visit us again soon!

Mahalo,
Ami Sueyoshi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff was amazing! The free classes the resort offered were great (well, I guess it’s not free when you think about the resort charge...)
Location was great, cross the street and you’re on the beach, lots of food nearby, you could walk to shopping etc.

If you know a lil about Hawaii you probably know it’s expensive, so I’m not gonna fuss about how pricey every lil thing like food, parking, drinks etc is, just know you gotta have some shmoney.

Room was always clean, I have no clue what kind of sorcery they use to get the sand out but they did and they have great toiletries available.

All in all I would stay again and I would recommend it.

If you wanna see pics I’m @ brokeassgirltravel on all social ✨

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Brokeassgirltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, Front Office Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope you got to enjoy our Swell bar and the beautiful O Bar next to the aquarium. We feature our Welcome Mai Tais that you can pick up at Obar or Swell. The rooms offer a Keurig maker with to-go cups so you can take your coffee on your walk along Kalakaua. Our refillable water bottles and water stations help to reduce our carbon footprint and go green. Maile offers wonder products in their shop just around the corner from the lobby. They even offer a free gift with purchase! Our relaxing pool has great views of the sunset. Island Club and Spa offer classes that are FREE for guests of the resort. On Sundays we have a family night at the Kids Pool where we play family movies and offer snacks. Our business center allows you to print your boarding pass while enjoying the aquarium and a cocktail. Please come to visit us again soon!

Mahalo,
Ami Sueyoshi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was not the original hotel we booked for our one week visit to Honolulu but it was quite lovely. The strong points were the gorgeous pool area with upholstered, umbrella-ed seating by the bar, the lobby bar with the endlessly fascinating aquarium, and the attached award winning Japanese restaurant. Our room had two excellent(and I mean excellent) queen beds with feather pillows, a small table with two chairs, a huge TV on the dresser and an Asian toilet which provided much entertainment. We had quite a spacious balcony and a limited sea view. Our air-conditioning worked perfectly and the room was spotlessly cleaned. We had only two negative comments, being no clock/radio and no room service. I'm sure there was a logical-to-the-hotel reason for this but these are both essential to me. We weren't positioned quite where we wanted to be on Kalakaua but we learned the city buses ran both ways on Kuhio, just one street away. We received a bit of special service when we mentioned it was both our birthdays during our visit. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Some rooms have partial sea views from the balcony and some are directly across from the beach and have a better view.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Marilyn,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and our Swell infinity pool and bar, our O Bar Lobby lounge with 280,000-gallon Oceanarium. All our restaurants do offer take out, but I am glad that you were able to experience them fully, especially our signature "Iron Chef" Morimoto restaurants Asia and Momosan. We greatly value your feedback and I am sorry to hear of any disappointment you had with our room features. It was a pleasure to host you. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out if we can be of any help in planning your next trip to Honolulu!

Mahalo nui loa, Matt Grauso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location and appearance of the resort was exceptional. The staff and service were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and lobby were always immaculatey presented.Couldn't fault anything at all with the overall experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Excursion12640422754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Excursion12640422754,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your recent stay in Honolulu. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location across from Waikiki Beach, our transformation, and our friendly and helpful staff and service! Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to host you. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out if we can be of any help in planning your next trip to Honolulu!

Mahalo nui loa,
Matt Grauso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved this hotel. We were lucky to be upgraded after they initially assigned us a double queen room instead of the King size we booked. All credit to them, they reassigned us to a wonderful king size room on the 17th floor to make up for the error. They delivered a beautiful fruit platter, bubbles and two monogrammed Bubbly glasses which we were told we could keep as a momento of the holiday, The staff were lovely, the pool area was classy and a great spot to watch the sunset. We received breakfast boxes each morning as part of the deal which gave us a pastry, scrambled eggs, bacon and fresh fruit. A great start to the day. Awesome central location across the road from the beach and near to excellent shopping.
The room was very clean and the bed was super large and really comfortable. The bathroom was rather compact but clean and perfectly adequate. I wouldn't say luxurious but a really comfortable stay, well positioned and very clean. Would certainly consider again as an option if we could get a good deal on price as was the case. We booked via treat me luxury escapes which was$2700nz for 6 nights. They did try to add a resort fee at reception but I argued that we had paid that as part of our deal because that is what I was told when I booked. It was all inclusive. Watch out for that as this also happened at The Modern Hotel and I think believe this is very normal. Make sure when you book any hotel via any of the sites that you are not going to get stung an additional resort fee. Double check you are being charged an all inclusive fee.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 175pipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, Front Office Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha! Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We apologize for the mix up on the bedding type and for any miscommunication about the resort fee. Our resort fee covers use of Island Club and Spa, complimentary cultural classes, Wifi, in-room coffee, refillable water pouches, complimentary Mai Tais, and so much more. We hope you were able to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room and amenity. The sunset is awesome up on the pool deck! It is one of our favorite places to watch the sunset and sunrise. The infinity pool reflects the rays nicely while you are enjoying a drink at Swell.

We do hope that you come back and visit soon!

Mahalo,
Ami Sueyoshi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews