We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perferct Place for a New Beginning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perferct Place for a New Beginning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My entire family and I stayed at Moana for my wedding ceremony and honeymoon. The staff at the catering and the hotel management made me feel at home with their willingness to accomodate my requests to the detail. Who said anything about Hawaii time? This is a place where even a New Yorker like myself find their immediate attention quite pleasing. What a great beginning to a new journey! Mahalo to all my Moana Surfrider friends, including Joanne (catering), Jimmie (my priest), Darcy (guest relations) and Miho (F&B Sales). Thank you guys, and I hope to you see you again on one of my anniversaries!

Room Tip: If you are styaing on the Diamond Wing, the lower the number, the quieter the room is at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMiles4U17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,377
    1,426
    559
    250
    228
See reviews for
1,341
2,155
192
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Was lucky enough to spend a few days at the Moana in April and loved every minute of it. This hotel is wedding central and you can see why as soon as you see the lobby, it's just gorgeous! The historic section of Honolulu's oldest hotel is blended in well with the newer wings and a fantastic property that I'd live at if I could.

Spend a few nights in the original wing in one of the gable rooms which was huge and comfortable but had tiny windows, so after a couple nights we asked if there would be any availability to move to the new tower and they did so immediately, very prompt friend Front Desk.

We always managed to find a spot at the pool and the F&B service there is really nice. I cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noxy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I am just now deciding to write a review for this hotel! We stayed at the Moana Surfrider in June 2010 for our honeymoon....ignore the date listed! We were there for about a week. It was such a neat hotel! Like another review stated it's a little bit of the old and new! The staff was great while we were there. They helped us with whatever we needed. The pool was pretty good. We only used it once. The beach was very nice but kinda small and you definitely have to get down there early to reserve a chair and spot on the beach. We did eat at the restaurant once and loved it!! My favorite part had to be the rocking chairs on the front porch and I loved all the windows/doors that were open all day in the lobby. The ocean breeze would blow through the lobby and it was just amazing! Oh, and our room was small but very cozy, nice and comfortable! We stayed in the main building of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rphelps26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

stayed here the beginning of janary 2011 for 5 nights on honeymoon. very busy hotel alot of weddings happen here. was not impressed with the size of the pool for the size of the hotel.. rooms were lovely. hotel situated on wakikki strip so access to beach and lots of shops. spa was lovely and the gym. had a nice back massage. loved the rocking chairs out the front of the hotel loking out onto the street.. bit noisy at night from the street

Room Tip: get a room over looking the sea not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainequain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Gloria at the pool has what must be the toughest job. People show up at 7 a.m. when the pool opens and leave stuff on the lounge. Then they go to breakfast. Rule is-- not back in an hour, you lose the lounge. Gloria has to keep track of all this, find seats for people who are actually present and do it all with grace and a smile-- which she does.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 40states30countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,793 - ₹ 41,361
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing