We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymooon destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

stayed here the beginning of janary 2011 for 5 nights on honeymoon. very busy hotel alot of weddings happen here. was not impressed with the size of the pool for the size of the hotel.. rooms were lovely. hotel situated on wakikki strip so access to beach and lots of shops. spa was lovely and the gym. had a nice back massage. loved the rocking chairs out the front of the hotel loking out onto the street.. bit noisy at night from the street

Room Tip: get a room over looking the sea not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainequain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,911 - 2,915 of 5,226 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Gloria at the pool has what must be the toughest job. People show up at 7 a.m. when the pool opens and leave stuff on the lounge. Then they go to breakfast. Rule is-- not back in an hour, you lose the lounge. Gloria has to keep track of all this, find seats for people who are actually present and do it all with grace and a smile-- which she does.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 40states30countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had wedding reception at roof garden, Moana Surfrider and it was such a beautiful place to celebrate our special day.
Food was fantastic and the view was gorgeous.
Everyone had a great time..
The service was excellent ( Bob and Stewart were fantastic! Thank you again)
Their catering service was great!!
We really appreciate for all your excellent service to make wonderful wedding!
Aloha and Mahalo !

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Soyouen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is am incredible place to stay on Waikiki-the history,culture of this hotel is amazing.
We stayed in the old wing of the hotel-there is a veranda on the second floor but there is no access to it, that is a shame as demand for the beach chairs at the pool would lessen if people on that floor had access to beach chairs if they are placed on the veranda.
The rocking chairs in the front , the chairs at the veranda overlooking the courtyard and the atmosphere in the whole hotel is incredible and the only reason this is not a 5 star review is for the for the reasons at noted below.
The pool area is the only negative my wife and I had an issue with, nothing to do with staff but with the hotel policy. People have to come in before 7:00am to get some beach chairs, not all the chairs are available as the hotel markets reserved chairs-a perk not available to all, if you question the staff they point you to a rental option on the private beach for $50.00 per day, after staying in a hotel like this that attitude cheapens the experience-it was not an issue for us as we dont like to spend the whole day at the pool, sad to see people in groups hog 7-8 chairs, use them for 10 mins, show up before the alloted 60 mins are up-use them for another 10 mins and be gone again-the staff cannot change the policies management can-the staus quo sucks.....

Room Tip: Stay on the old section the history is incredible, romms are noisey if facing the courtyard but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aft43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

When I checked in, I dealt with Irene, she was outstanding, very personable and friendly just what one would want for a front desk person.
The hotel is one of the best architecturally impressive hotels I've stayed in. Looks like an old colonial home, large, open lobby, porches, with ceiling fans and rocking chairs front and back. The back of the hotel opens to the beach, with a pool and bar. Bar and staff is great, have to try their Mai tai, awesome!
I stayed in the tower section because it was the only part with wireless Internet. The room was a double not a king due to only reserving 1 day in advance. The room is small. I am also a Platnium member with Starwood, and the hotel had no conceairge lounge which was a let down. The Sheraton Waikiki just down the beach has the conceairge lounge.
All in all it was a very good experience, but the next time I'm in Waikiki I'll stay at the Sheraton Waikiki as it gives more amenities for Platinium guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awayfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,568 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 21,083 - ₹ 39,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing