We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

friendly staff, very clean hotel , nice beach , good food

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flhjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    1,426
    559
    250
    228
See reviews for
1,344
2,155
192
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

It does look just like the pictures. This is the oldest hotel on Waikiki and will definitely be staying there next time! The service was nice and the staff courteous. It is right on the beach, you can't get closer.

Our room
Based on fellow trip advisor reviews we requested to stay in the historic wing and I am glad we did. Part of the attraction to the hotel was the old world charm which I don't think you would get from a high rise tower. We were in one of the rooms closer to the street but could still hear the waves, lovely! Keep in mind the hotel is right on the main drag so you will hear the busy street (particularly if on the street side of the hotel), including partygoers. This was fine for us but was definitely good to know before arriving.
Was quite small but and clean. There was a fridge but no stocked mini bar etc. This was not particularly a problem due to the location and it being easy to go out and get snacks (even at a late hour). There are numerous abc liquor and variety stores that are everywhere along the main street.

The Beach Bar
Beautiful, great atmosphere under the big tree hearing the waves roll in. They also have live music playing some nights under the tree which is great. The cocktails are ok but expensive, I guess you will get that particularly on Waikiki but the location and atmosphere under the tree is worthwhile.

Relaxing
One of the best things we loved about the hotel was the verandas. There is one out the back with comfy chairs (next to the veranda bar) and also one out the front with rocking chairs. Great to just sit back and soak it up!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the historic wing. If you want to avoid the street noise then perhaps pay more an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mellogigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We travelled with our family for Spring Break in March 2012 and stayed at the Westin Moana Surfrider for the first time (we have travelled to Honolulu many times and usually stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village). We decided to stay at the Moana Surfrider for a change and we were very happy with our hotel choice. We stayed in the Moana's Tower Wing in a partial ocean view room and it was very nice (would recommend the Tower, perhaps more so than the historic Banyan Wing, where we hear the rooms are small). The rooms in the Tower were very comfortable for a family to stay in. We would not hesitate to recommend the Moana Surfrider.

The things we really liked about the hotel:
- gorgeous, elegant and historic hotel (would recommend the historic hotel tour). Loved the rockers out front and the beautiful banyan tree at the back
- unbelievably good location, steps away from great shopping and restaurants
- very comfy beds and nice linens (as per the Westin standard)
- housekeeping was very attentive (our room was quite spotless and well-stocked with toiletries)
- breakfast buffet package was well worth it (particularly for a family). The food was wonderful (we ate so much at breakfast that we didn't really eat again until dinner time!)
- very nice people at the Concierge desk
- hotel does special things to ensure that guests enjoy and "experience" Hawaii. For example, every day there were things like lei-making and Hawaiian crafts. The gentlemen that ran these crafts, Nathan, was wonderful and this was an absolute highlight of our trip. The kids loved making leis and crafts and Nathan was a wealth of information, giving us tips on what to see and do on Oahu. The hotel was celebrating its 111th anniversary when we were there and they did lots of special things, too, like birthday cake, etc.

Things we didn't like:
- pool was sometimes crowded and we missed a hot tub.

Even with this small deficiency, we still wouldn't hestitate to recommend the Moana Surfrider hotel. We would stay at the Moana Surfrider again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RfamilyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is hard to compare to others on Waikiki. On the plus side, it's historic, the common areas are beautiful, it has a great breakfast buffet, service is excellent, and the tower rooms have pretty good ocean views. On the minus side, the rooms are small and not as luxurious as you'd expect at this price point, and the beach in front of the hotel is crowded.

Our most favorite part of the hotel was breakfast on the veranda each morning. Our least favorite part was the live music which started about 12:30 pm and went continued almost non-stop until about 11:00 pm each evening, and which we could hear loudly in our room even with our lanai door closed on the 6th floor of the tower.

Overall, we felt it was a good place to stay once for the history of the hotel, but we probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveInBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel and the reason for chosen this hotel was mainly because of its reputation (I am a SPG member) in Waikiki and the photos on the website, but pls don’t trust the website anymore. The lobby was nice, big and classy but the room was not. I stayed here for 5 nights before my trip to Maui and I had booked an Ocean front room on the tower and it was on the 4th floor. The view was nice but the room was small and had a very bad smell (smell aged and rotten) throughout my stay. The room was aged and the carpet was dirty, very empty room with very few furniture. The bathroom was unbelievably tiny, worse than a motel. For the high price that I paid for, I am sure I can get a much much better room in Waikiki. Won't go back again !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cckc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,793 - ₹ 41,754
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing