We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Staying at Once, for the History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth Staying at Once, for the History”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is hard to compare to others on Waikiki. On the plus side, it's historic, the common areas are beautiful, it has a great breakfast buffet, service is excellent, and the tower rooms have pretty good ocean views. On the minus side, the rooms are small and not as luxurious as you'd expect at this price point, and the beach in front of the hotel is crowded.

Our most favorite part of the hotel was breakfast on the veranda each morning. Our least favorite part was the live music which started about 12:30 pm and went continued almost non-stop until about 11:00 pm each evening, and which we could hear loudly in our room even with our lanai door closed on the 6th floor of the tower.

Overall, we felt it was a good place to stay once for the history of the hotel, but we probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveInBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,526
    1,477
    579
    257
    233
See reviews for
1,419
2,245
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel and the reason for chosen this hotel was mainly because of its reputation (I am a SPG member) in Waikiki and the photos on the website, but pls don’t trust the website anymore. The lobby was nice, big and classy but the room was not. I stayed here for 5 nights before my trip to Maui and I had booked an Ocean front room on the tower and it was on the 4th floor. The view was nice but the room was small and had a very bad smell (smell aged and rotten) throughout my stay. The room was aged and the carpet was dirty, very empty room with very few furniture. The bathroom was unbelievably tiny, worse than a motel. For the high price that I paid for, I am sure I can get a much much better room in Waikiki. Won't go back again !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cckc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Probably the worst part about writing this review and the reason it has taken me so long to write (a couple of months) is that I do truly like the Diamond Wing of this hotel. We have stayed there many times; sometimes more than once per year. A couple of years ago we booked 2 rooms and brought our mothers with us. They loved it. We have always stayed in the Diamond Wing and have convinced many of our friends to stay there. But then again, we have always had good service and always felt welcomed. This time, we booked a 10 day stay in early February but we did not get good service, our room was run-down and the management response did not make us feel welcome.

This hotel has an older section (part of which was the original hotel on Waikiki beach), a newer tower and the Diamond Wing. We always stay in the Diamond Wing even though we know that it is not as nice as the rest of the hotel. We like this hotel’s location in Waikiki and we like this wing’s placement within the hotel. It is quiet on the ocean-facing side and has a beautiful view of the beach. Unfortunately, this tower and the rooms in it were not the best built nor the best designed and this wing never seemed to be as well maintained as the rest of the hotel. I used to joke that we stayed in the poor cousin’s section of this hotel (at top prices; about $400 per night this time).

Regrettably the wing looked even worse this time around. Perhaps the entire wing is being neglected because there is a plan to tear it down and replace it with a bigger better one; perhaps it was just our room that was neglected. Among the problems we found in our room, the patio doors went off their tracks every time they were opened and then were very difficult to close (I mean very difficult), the telephone buttons would not work on the base unit, the coffee maker was tippy (missing a foot) and spilled hot water, I brought only wireless devices with us but there was no wireless internet (in this tower only, the rest of the hotel has wireless), the air conditioner had no effect during the heat of the day, and the shower head sprayed in many unintended directions.

We also noticed a reduced standard of service on this stay. Normally we are greeted with either a flower or kukui nut lei. This time we got no greeting. The service at the Banyan bar/restaurant was poor (both slow and inattentive). The food and beverage servers around the pool had to be chased to get any attention. The hotel had lost records of our prior stays. The only great service we got and appreciated came from the room cleaners and from the food-counter attendant at the pool.

After a few days there, things were going so badly that we contacted management. Unfortunately, the hotel’s response was less than stellar. To be fair, we heard from three different people. Unfortunately, that just meant that we had to explain things 3 different times. When it was clear that we were not being heard, we wrote directly to the general manager and explained things for a fourth time. We also told him that we were leaving 6 days into our 10 day stay but hoped to hear from him. We did not hear from him and we did leave. Some 30 days after our return home, we received a letter from him which offered his apology and his hope that we would return again. The best that I can say is that I was underwhelmed by this response.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PanaramaRidgeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

i was a little apprehensive about staying here because it's such a large hotel, which i really don't like, and the booking process can be very confusing if you have to change anything with packages.
there are so many different room types in differing wings, and to get connecting rooms you need a specific room.
i was a little peeved that when I added a room to my reservation, ie 2 rooms, the room rate for both went up! and then i had so many different booking references, 1 for each room and reservation, and THEY had failed to cancel one, and were threatening to charge me a full cancellation, even tho' i was actually staying and paying for two rooms! and this all before we got there. HOWEVER...we sorted it out and it was very smooth sailing from thereon.

the rooms are basic, we had partial ocean view, in the tower wing, it is a sideways view of the beach. the rooms interconnected which was great.

i am fussy about bed linen, and it wasn't nice. over starched, and the bed cover was hideously synthetic. but the bed was comfortable.

the rooms are very clean and the housekeeping was prompt, efficient and security conscious.
i wouldn't bother with breakfast packages, because the food is not amazing, and you are in the absolute heart of Waikiki.
this is a very, very busy hotel. there is quite a bit of noise from outside because of the street and beach, but it wasn't so bad i couldn't sleep. and it was vibrant to say the least. I think the drinking laws are very strictly adhered to, so there are not a lot of drunk teens wandering around, so at about midnight its considerably quieter.
all in all this is a great location, a tight ship, but a little commercial for me. but thats what you get in the hot spots. i would like to stay in the old wing next time for a more authentic experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The last time we stayed here, we were in the old part of the hotel overlooking the street. The room was shabby and there was a lot of street noise so we decided to try the tower this time. What a difference. The room was large and everything looked new. The bathroom was fine-like an upscale motel room bathroom no marble or granite like a really upscale hotel. The best part was the bed. It was sooooo comfortable and the sheets were so soft. It 's the best hotel bed I've ever slept in. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that the closet is in the bathroom.

Our room overlooked the ocean and the courtyard of the hotel which made for a really nice view, but you could hear the band playing all evening, which was a little annoying when we were tyring to get to sleep. Unlike the street noise on the other side of the building that goes all night long, the band does eventually stop playing.

The only downside to staying here is having to be in line before 7:00 am for the privilage of paying $50 to reserve an umbrella on the beach at 7:00 when they start taking reservations. Every morning my husband found he was getting in line earlier and earlier and finding fewer umbrellas to choose from when it was his turn. It seems that guests who have stayed at the hotel for 10 consecutive years, get to reserve an umbrella when they check in. Some of the people seemed awfully young to have been coming for 10 years, but who knows. Some reviews have said that the pool is small. I think it's typical of hotel pools that I've seen in Hawaii. While we didn't swim there, the pool never looked overcrowded, although chairs seemed to be hard to come by.

With our Starwood membership, we were hoping to get a late checkout since our flight wasn't until 9:00 pm. That didn't happen, but they did let us use a courtesy room so that we could shower after the beach. The room was nice and clean and there were plenty of towels so having to check out wasn't so bad afterall.

The only thing that would make me think twice about staying here is the umbrella situation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainecde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,518 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,181 - ₹ 36,760
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing