We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY HORRIBLE SERVICE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Malibu
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY HORRIBLE SERVICE!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was always wanting to stay at this seemingly lovely looking property in the heart of Waikiki ... But the moment we entered and saw dozens of people sleeping all over the lobby chairs and couches, we should've known something was amiss! I am a platinum spg member ... And STILL was treated horribly from the second we arrived until we quickly checked out the following day (3 days earlier than schedule). It took 3 hours to get our room and the comments overall from all staff we encountered said the same thing in different ways "we don't care if you are happy or comfortable or if you stay here".. So i have to assume this trickles down from management on how to care for or value guests. Rooms were of a motel 6 quality.. Pool and beach are WAY too small for the property. I don't think I have EVER been more disappointed by a Westin. STAY AWAY!!!! they ruined 2 of our precious vacation days!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you very much for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. First of all, we would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Hotels & Resorts. As a valued Platinum member, your feedback is important to us and we thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are truly embarrassed to learn of the substandard customer services you received, and an overall lack of care and genuine interest demonstrated by our staffs during your stay. We would like to assure you we are fully committed to provide the level of service that Westin Hotels & Resorts is known for, and our Operations Team will be addressing this issue with staffs immediately. We truly appreciate your loyalty and hope that Starwood will be your choice of hotels when your future travel plans include Hawaii. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,408
    1,443
    564
    251
    229
See reviews for
1,364
2,180
193
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Famous name but average everything except above average quality of beds and cleanliness of the room. I expected far more from Westin.

Room Tip: Never take a street view or near the stair room. I booked a delux room but it was a second floor str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiraJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Mahalo Nui Loa for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa during your recent visit to the island of Oahu. First and foremost, we thank you for your loyalty to the Westin brand, and for your feedbacks regarding recent stay. We are fully committed to provide the level of service that Westin Hotels & Resorts is known for, and our engineering team will be addressing the issue with blinds in guestrooms immediately. It is our hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I absolutely love the look of this hotel! So elegant and graceful on the outside and in the lobby area. It really makes you feel special. Our room was in the old section overlooking the courtyard. The room was small but well appointed. They forgot to refill our coffee in our room twice during our stay...grrr The pool area was way too small. You have to be at the pool area before 7 a.m. to claim your chair before they fill up! It's crazy and not my idea of a first class resort. If you want to sit on the beach they charge you an additional $25 for a chair and umbrella...outrageous since you are already paying a daily resort fee. The location of the hotel can't be beat as you are right in the heart of shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: The tower rooms with Diamond head views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSFinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Our mahalo to you for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We appreciate your gracious compliments regarding the historical charm of our resort. As you saw, Waikiki has a number of gorgeous high-rise resorts with modern amenities and a chic, urban-resort ambiance. At the Moana Surfrider, we endeavor to offer a different, truly “Moana” experience. Our goal is to transport guests back to the turn-of-the-century, and pamper each visitor with the true Hawaiian hospitality and the Aloha Spirit. Again, mahalo for your gracious compliment. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Was back for one night at the Westin Moana Surfrider and had a fantastic stay. Only negative was the arrival experience - driveway was very congested and had no help with bags, etc as trying to get bags through the throngs of people, taxis, wedding parties, etc. Once inside there was a complete absence of staff, etc and although only 2 people in line at check, it was still a 20 minute wait.

but after all that, the hotel stay was amazing. Had a beautiful ocean front room which was worth the price of the upgrade. Stunning views. The room was gorgeous, well appointed, love the Heavenly Bed and the bathroom was great too.

Strongly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the Waikiki action - the hotel, the rooms, the service, etc are all amazing.

Room Tip: ocean front or ocean view will be quieter as away from street and you will have the stunning view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totraveller12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Aloha & MAHALO to you for allowing the Moana Surfrider to be part of your island experiences. We would also like to thank you for posting a wonderful review & for your warm compliment. We agree with you 100% about the gorgeous view - being an oceanfront resort situated on the famous Waikiki Beach, Moana Surfrider offers an incredible view that simply is the best – and yes, nothing is more serene than falling asleep to the gentle sounds of waves… Again, mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa soon, hopefully for a longer stay. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been to Hawaii twice before our honeymoon and had always made a vow to stay at the Moana for our honeymoon. So when it came time to booking accommodation for our honeymoon the choice was easy, we booked the very best room they had, being the ocean front premier and paid for everything in advance, thinking nothing could go wrong since we had booked and paid at least 6 months in advance. Little did we know upon checking in that they had no rooms available for us. It was so utterly disappointing, the hotel had even confirmed our booking 3 times prior to us arriving. We had the perfect wedding and was looking forward to having the perfect honeymoon at a hotel we had absolutely admired and raved on about to our friends and family for the past 2 years. Only to be turned away, the staff were friendly and it was beyond their control I guess, just really disappointing that you book and pre-pay for everything expecting to check into your hotel after flying for 10 hours and find that they have no rooms, how is that possible?! We are heading back to Hawaii in October for our 1 year anniversary and will not make the same mistake again, really disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thuykoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is our hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your upcoming trip in October, and we would very much appreciate an opportunity to discuss different options with you. At your convenience, kindly call the hotel’s main number and ask to be connected to the manager’s office. We look forward to hearing from you. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,987 - ₹ 36,987
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing