We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki beach area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We first visited the QK in late September and returned after a week on Kaua'i and Maui, in October, so please take my comments in the vein they are written. As constructive comments.
The hotel is in a good position, just off Waikiki Beach, and while all the staff we met were helpful and polite, the hotel was very 'tired' and well ready for an upgrade and refresh. In fact it was about to get that a month after we visited, so matters will hopefully be sorted in the near future.
The menu in the restaurant had several items that weren't available due to stock levels being run down, so we only ate there once - our first night - and had a decent pizza. Restaurant staff helpful and polite and perhaps a little disappointed that they could only go so far for the customers - certainly not their fault. Pool area and sunbeds needed renewing/smartening up although the pool and general area was cleaned every day. Our hotel rooms were good and cleaned daily, and the aircon was very quiet, so didn't disturb us at night. The first room (upgrade) had a good view of Diamond Head and the park/zoo area, the second room wasn't quite as good, but still ok. All in all a nice hotel, but needs work. We did return to the QK after visiting the other islands, so it does show that it wasn't a bad place, just tired. After the planned refurb, we will be happy to visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alan_HH,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us in beautiful Honolulu. We're proud to read of the service you received from the team and are glad you could take advantage of our convenient location to explore the island. We look forward to future visits with you and providing you with another memorable experience. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We had a room facing Diamond Head which was fabulous but everything else about this hotel is poor. The desk staff were generally surly and unfriendly only interested in telling you how much things would be eg parking, breakfast etc there is literally a fee for everything! Whilst the room was clean and made up every day there was only two coffee sachets per day and whilst I asked for extra none was provided. The hotel is old and rundown with maintenance work going on all day every day including a day with no water, and scaffolding outside our window blocking our view, considering there charges for everything I expected a refund for no water and blocked view but alas this was not the case. Stay at this hotel if you must but I cannot recommend it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Rhonda H,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on your guest room and the view of Diamond Head. However, we are surprised at your comments regarding the other aspects of your stay. We are curious if you had the opportunity to reach out to a team member during your stay. The team would be happy to speak to you in greater detail if you would like to share your contact information with us privately. We hope to have the opportunity to work to make your situation right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I just come back from vacation after I called the hotel to ask information about the hotel , they NEVER told me the hotel was under construction; that was a low blow , when you are going vacation and the whole place is a mess all over around ..
The workers try to please you but over all is not a hotel to be in vacation, room very nasty , swimming pool a messed , you can’t not even use the front door because the big mess , after they tell you a free breakfast, they lied no place for it, they tell you taxi to the airport $29 the driver want to use the meter and charge you $49 , what a rip off . If you have reservations canceled right a way ... please

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank JROD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QKHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Aloha JROD R,

Thank you very much for the honest feedback, and we truly apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. Yes the hotel is a bit dated, which is why we are currently working hard to update and refresh the property.
We have also tried to ensure that all guests are aware so they can plan accordingly during there visit with us, but have certainly not tried to hide this fact, so we do apologize that you were caught off guard and felt unaware. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and better understand where we can improve, so please feel free to reach out when you have a moment.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I spent seven nights at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel recently. They are still in the middle of upgrading few things here and there. I will split this review into "Good" and "Bad" parts.

The good part is, the staff is friendly and professional which is quite nice. Housekeeping proves to be prompt and tailor more or less to your needs. The room is clean, wifi works and water pressure for the shower is refreshingly strong. The bed is quite comfortable and although it started off weak, the air-conditioner actually worked quite well. I found the hotel to more no-frill type but it was clean, functional and they didn't gouge me on the rates. HD channels were great and overall, it was a great stay.

The bad parts are few but I did notice that there was no batteries in my smoke alarm. The chain lock only got one screw in out of three. I was hoping that housekeeping will notice this but they did not. I did wish they would use longer sheets on the bed since the end of the mattress were often expose when you draw the covers back.

Overall, its a close to the beach, someone with hardy soles can actually walk barefooted to the beach without a problem. Its not in the "center" of Waikiki but it is within walking distance of most things. Footwear recommended then....!! I would say that this is functional well run hotel that won't blow your mind away but make you feel comfortable with its no-frill accommodations.

Room Tip: Diamond Head view provides the best view. But recommend higher up to avoid the noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi SirHoot,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. The team appreciates your comments on the service you received, along with your feedback on our clean, comfortable accommodations. We've shared your additional comments with the team so we may take any opportunity to improve and look forward to our next chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Great view of Diamondhead from our room. That’s the best thing I can say about this place. We were on the 7th floor at the end (room 721) and we kept hearing loud noises next door to us during the day, which turned out to be the staff using the area as a work closet. The hotel could use a makeover, kind of run down. I’m sure it was nice in the 70s. If you want a place to sleep and take a shower, then the hotel will do fine. Otherwise, you get what you pay for. There’s a swimming pool, large sunning lanai and for looking out at the park & zoo located across the street. The hotel is located a block off Waikiki beach, daily activity/parking fee not included in your hotel room fee. Beach towels given out if you ask for them. Parking attendants were really good at getting our car quickly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank celestewest10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi celestewest10s,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on the view from your room and our convenient location to all the local activities, attractions, and entertainment. We appreciate your patience as we work to improve our hotel and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we may demonstrate our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,663 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 7,731 - ₹ 20,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing