We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 601
US$ 481
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 256
US$ 232
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$ 495
US$ 372
Prince Waikiki
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 374
US$ 310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 379/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 386
US$ 309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 355
US$ 309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 489
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$ 309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 244
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 278
US$ 232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveller rating
416
640
350
122
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
640
350
122
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonolulu zoodiamond headacross the streetwaikiki beachkapiolani parkquiet end of waikikipool deckjunior suitean older hotelcity viewthird floorcorner roombit datedsmall balconymini fridgeking bedcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We had a room facing Diamond Head which was fabulous but everything else about this hotel is poor. The desk staff were generally surly and unfriendly only interested in telling you how much things would be eg parking, breakfast etc there is literally a fee for everything! Whilst the room was clean and made up every day there was only two coffee sachets per day and whilst I asked for extra none was provided. The hotel is old and rundown with maintenance work going on all day every day including a day with no water, and scaffolding outside our window blocking our view, considering there charges for everything I expected a refund for no water and blocked view but alas this was not the case. Stay at this hotel if you must but I cannot recommend it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Rhonda H,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on your guest room and the view of Diamond Head. However, we are surprised at your comments regarding the other aspects of your stay. We are curious if you had the opportunity to reach out to a team member during your stay. The team would be happy to speak to you in greater detail if you would like to share your contact information with us privately. We hope to have the opportunity to work to make your situation right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I just come back from vacation after I called the hotel to ask information about the hotel , they NEVER told me the hotel was under construction; that was a low blow , when you are going vacation and the whole place is a mess all over around ..
The workers try to please you but over all is not a hotel to be in vacation, room very nasty , swimming pool a messed , you can’t not even use the front door because the big mess , after they tell you a free breakfast, they lied no place for it, they tell you taxi to the airport $29 the driver want to use the meter and charge you $49 , what a rip off . If you have reservations canceled right a way ... please

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank JROD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QKHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Aloha JROD R,

Thank you very much for the honest feedback, and we truly apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. Yes the hotel is a bit dated, which is why we are currently working hard to update and refresh the property.
We have also tried to ensure that all guests are aware so they can plan accordingly during there visit with us, but have certainly not tried to hide this fact, so we do apologize that you were caught off guard and felt unaware. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and better understand where we can improve, so please feel free to reach out when you have a moment.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I spent seven nights at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel recently. They are still in the middle of upgrading few things here and there. I will split this review into "Good" and "Bad" parts.

The good part is, the staff is friendly and professional which is quite nice. Housekeeping proves to be prompt and tailor more or less to your needs. The room is clean, wifi works and water pressure for the shower is refreshingly strong. The bed is quite comfortable and although it started off weak, the air-conditioner actually worked quite well. I found the hotel to more no-frill type but it was clean, functional and they didn't gouge me on the rates. HD channels were great and overall, it was a great stay.

The bad parts are few but I did notice that there was no batteries in my smoke alarm. The chain lock only got one screw in out of three. I was hoping that housekeeping will notice this but they did not. I did wish they would use longer sheets on the bed since the end of the mattress were often expose when you draw the covers back.

Overall, its a close to the beach, someone with hardy soles can actually walk barefooted to the beach without a problem. Its not in the "center" of Waikiki but it is within walking distance of most things. Footwear recommended then....!! I would say that this is functional well run hotel that won't blow your mind away but make you feel comfortable with its no-frill accommodations.

Room Tip: Diamond Head view provides the best view. But recommend higher up to avoid the noise from the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi SirHoot,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. The team appreciates your comments on the service you received, along with your feedback on our clean, comfortable accommodations. We've shared your additional comments with the team so we may take any opportunity to improve and look forward to our next chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Great view of Diamondhead from our room. That’s the best thing I can say about this place. We were on the 7th floor at the end (room 721) and we kept hearing loud noises next door to us during the day, which turned out to be the staff using the area as a work closet. The hotel could use a makeover, kind of run down. I’m sure it was nice in the 70s. If you want a place to sleep and take a shower, then the hotel will do fine. Otherwise, you get what you pay for. There’s a swimming pool, large sunning lanai and for looking out at the park & zoo located across the street. The hotel is located a block off Waikiki beach, daily activity/parking fee not included in your hotel room fee. Beach towels given out if you ask for them. Parking attendants were really good at getting our car quickly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank celestewest10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi celestewest10s,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on the view from your room and our convenient location to all the local activities, attractions, and entertainment. We appreciate your patience as we work to improve our hotel and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we may demonstrate our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Arrived a few days before Labor Day and stayed till the weekend. First off, Waikiki is a tourist attraction, no getting away from that if you were expecting some quiet time I recommend another island like Maui or Kauai or even the Big Island of Hawaii! Okay, Location aside, Queen Kapiolani is an excellent hotel!!! On the far east end of Waikiki area, just across the street from the zoo!

Customer service was OUTSTANDING! We can not praise them enough for their dedication! Always willing to help and having travelled various states in the USA, Queen Kapiolani staff ranks in the top 3 in terms of professionalism and dedication! Even the "Baggage handlers" are dedicated to the hotel mission! I hope the company is making it worth the employees time and energy!!!

Rooms, not the most fanciest we have had, but very clean and well kept for an aging hotel (just about every hotel in waikiki is aging) However Queen Kapiolani hotel is in the progress of doing some upgrades so that is a good thing!

JUST FYI, we heard of many HORROR stories where hotels do not take accountability for your rental vehicle if you park it on the property (most say the lot is owned by a different organization and if you have not registered the vehicle it gets towed and your nightmare begins)... Queen Kapiolani takes care of your vehicle too!!! So you can enjoy a short walk to the beach and have a good time without worrying about the vehicle being towed away!!!

On the whole, we give the hotel 4 out of 5 stars... Construction is underway so that takes away from the ranking a little but not their fault! They at least are working to improve things!!! We definitely will consider Queen Kapiolani on our next trip out to Hawaii!!!!

MAHALO!!!!

Room Tip: be sure to use their car services! They will take care of your rental!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillard W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Dillard W D,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a memorable experience and received excellent service from our team members. We're glad you had the chance to get out and explore from our convenient location and look forward to welcoming you back for future visits. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews