We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great property, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, great property, great rooms”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I'll start with the only 2 things I don't like about this hotel. The channel lineup is pretty weak and the wireless Internet is spotty. Unless those two things are high on your selection list, stay here.

I have stayed here 3 times over the last 3 months in city view, partial ocean view, and ocean view rooms. Each one has had at least some view of the ocean. There is part of the hotel that is blocked by an adjacent property, but from what I have seen the reservation system does a good job of qualifying that those rooms have no view, so if you book one of those, don't expect a view.

The rooms are large, warm, and inviting. They are decorated in a hushed, upscale, Hawaiian motif. Lots of neutral colors and complimentary textures. The bathrooms are a good size and laid out well. Amenities are good, I just wish they would supply shower gel though.

The common areas are well sized for a hotel with this many rooms. The pool is busy but not overwhelming so like others in Waikiki. The lobby has a great selection of retail and food. Drink and food service at the pool is pretty quick and efficient.

The beach out front is very nice, the ocean is a bit too rocky to do much though. I would recommend walking down to the Outrigger Waikiki if you want to do much in the water.

If I can't stay at the Halekulani, this is a nice second choice.

Room Tip: City view Pacific Tower rooms overlooking the pool are quieter at night than the Ft Derussey side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tulanecpt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,271
    1,868
    436
    127
    81
See reviews for
1,656
2,705
157
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Fully recommend this motel.We had a nice view of the pool and the ocean,The motel was clean and comfortable.Pool was nice and clean,staff was great and helpfull.We ate at the restaurant a few times and fully enjoyed it.
We really have no complaint,had fun,nice location.

Room Tip: If you can't get "full ocean view" at least get a room over-looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rather-be-camping911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puxico MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We booked two ocean view rooms. When we checked in they had upgraded us to ocean front rooms. They were perfect! Amazing view, comfortable beds, very clean. Would definitely recommend this to others.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a corner ocean front room. Unbelievable view~
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Outrigger on the Reef is a really nice property !
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of Ala Moana Stwhere tons of shops/restaurants are located.

From the minute we arrived we could tell it was going to be a really nice stay.
The check-in/check-out area was very efficient. Instead of standing up at a front desk, they have comfortable chairs where you can sit and rest while going through the check-in process.
The bellmen and concierge were outstanding. Very courteous and extremely helpful in answering any questions you might have.

The room exceeded our expectations in every way.......Room 929 was a partial ocean view which actually faced the Trump Towers hotel (but far enough away so that you didn't feel you were right on top of it). It was very spacious and had two balconies - one that directly faced the Trump Towers Hotel pool (which was on the 7th floor) and the other gave you an ocean view which felt like a full ocean view.

The color-scheme of the room was aesthetically pleasing and there was lots of room in the closet for clothes. The room was complete with a refrigerator, desk/desk chair, flat screen tv , nice bathroom and a great shower. Housekeeping did a great job keeping all the amenities stocked and cleaning the room.

The lobby of the hotel was gorgeous decorated with rich woods and paintings offering plenty of shops to supply everything you might need. The restaurant offered a hearty buffet breakfast. The pool was awesome and is right next to the entrance and check-in area. There were plenty of chairs and best of all it's a saltwater pool, (no chlorine at all). It was 9 feet in the deep end and you would float just like you were in the ocean. The pool bar had a happy hour with good specials and the pool attendant area had fresh citrus water. The beach outside the restaurant was narrow and very crowded. You could rent beach chairs with umbrellas for $35 for half a day. There aren't many places outside the outrigger to place down a beach towel without being walked over by passersby.

Overall, the Outrigger on the Reef was great and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean view or full ocean view room. Otherwise you'll end up with a close-up v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank qbchiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Before going to Maui, we spent several days in Honolulu. We have stayed at the Outrigger before and always had a good experience. It was a vey nice stay. It was the first visit to Hawaii for my daughter/son-in-law so we wanted a good location to show them the city. Great and very easy to walk around downtown and Waikiki. The food was very good, a must for everyone to eat at Dukes! Dinner and drinks, service was good, but expect a wait...very popular place. Hotel was clean, comfortable and lots of fun. Highlight was a free service provided by the Outrigger was a wedding Vow renewel ceremony. My daughter took advantage of this since it was their 15th wedding anniversary. Beautiful morning for this on the beach and was a great memory for them.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 10th floor.. Very nice to see the city and the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb1photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,451 - ₹ 37,082
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing