We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Check-in was short and easy, Christopher was very nice. We were up-graded to an ocean view on the 8th floor. The view of the ocean was from between other tall buildings so not much of a true ocean view. The room itself was very clean but very small. Housekeeping seem to go with "Hawaiian Time" one day we left our room at 6:30am and didn't return until 4:30 that afternoon and our room had not been serviced yet. We left again shortly after and on our return later that night it was done. The next day we again left first thing in the morning and returned this time at 5, the housekeeper was at the room next door to us, but our room was done, probably just finished before we arrived. Breakfast was so so need a better variety of hot choices & more covered seating the birds were a pain to deal with. Nice to have free wi-fi. Short walk to the beach, public transportation close by.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs6715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Aloha Mrs6715,

Mahalo for your review. Christopher will be delighted to hear your praises. We are really sorry that our housekeeping team did not exceed expectations, but we do our best to service all guest rooms in a timely manner. Please accept our apologies if the birds caused any inconvenience during your stay, but these concerns have already been addressed with our Executive Committee. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to regain your confidence in us.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    1,070
    291
    76
    40
See reviews for
980
936
128
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hyatt Place is located 2-mins away on the south side of Waikiki Beach. Very convenient for a short walk to the beach and main strip of where most hotels are. Mountain View room has a good view of the mountain side of Honolulu. The view is not entirely just mountain as there are other high rises in the area. The balcony door is not sound proof so you can hear buses running early in the morning. The room is not very big and may not fit big luggage. It is OK for accommodating two small hand-carry luggage. It has a shower stall but no bathtub. Shower and toilet are enclosed in a small area and there isn't much space to put clothes. Toiletries such as toothpaste, bath soap bar, shampoo and conditioner are provided but toothpaste may not get refilled. The tea bags in the room are also provided but also didn't get refilled. The room looks new and clean with modern decor. The entire hotel looks very new. Hotel provides great hot breakfast for guests which features different breakfast sandwiches, hot oatmeal, rice with japanese pickles, miso soup, cold cereal, pineapple, yogurt and different kinds of juices and milk. It is convenient to have breakfast available instead of having to look for restaurants like McDonalds everyday. This is a great hotel in new condition with good breakfast. Room rate is comparable to other higher ranking hotels like Hotel Renew but their breakfast is not as comprehensive as Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deruderu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Aloha deruderu,

Mahalo for your review. The Hyatt Place Waikiki beach was recently remodeled and completed renovations last year. We are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, it is very popular amongst our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, california
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were in Pali tower and the rooms are big and clean. Diamond Head tower has smaller rooms. Street noise in some rooms but the AC worked well with the balcony door closed because of noise. Coffee is fresh in the lobby everyday at 6:15 am-a real bonus since breakfast doesn't start upstairs until 6:30. Lots of electrical outlets in room and comfy beds and pillows. Breakfast gets crowded around 7:30am and then the two elevators are crowded 9-9:30 am. There is a laundy room and you can use a credit or debit card to pay $2 for each load and dryer. Dryers are hot!
Pool is small and chilly but okay. Lots of places to eat nearby and we used Charley's taxi instead of renting a car, a good decision since we didn't go too far this trip. Limited food to go area in lobby and a full bar. Hibiscus gift shop and store behind lobby had good prices for Hawaii.
Great staff throughout!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Diamond Head may be quieter than ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcookie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Aloha travelcookie_7,

Mahalo for your review. What a great overview of our amenities, and we are glad you enjoyed them. Our Guest Kitchen is really busy in the mornings, but we do everything we can to ensure that it does not take away from our guest experience. We hope to be your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We loved being so close to the beach, and Waikiki's night life. It also included breakfast which was great, and saved us some money. The staff was awesome, thanks Thomas for always taking care of us, and for your help.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JST21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband & I are visiting from maui on our anniversary. The only request I had was a clean room. Very impressed with cleanliness, consistentsy of friendly staff, breakfast! haven't been this satisfied in a holtel in a long time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,411 - ₹ 20,297
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing