We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$ 483
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 380
US$ 332
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 431
US$ 355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$ 220
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 314
US$ 276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 513
US$ 414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 258
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 213
US$ 183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,282)
Filter reviews
3,282 results
Traveller rating
1,527
1,262
359
89
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,527
1,262
359
89
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingabc storeacross the streettwo blocksocean viewdiamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplesofa bedthird floorbeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,726 - 2,731 of 3,282 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hyatt Place is located 2-mins away on the south side of Waikiki Beach. Very convenient for a short walk to the beach and main strip of where most hotels are. Mountain View room has a good view of the mountain side of Honolulu. The view is not entirely just mountain as there are other high rises in the area. The balcony door is not sound proof so you can hear buses running early in the morning. The room is not very big and may not fit big luggage. It is OK for accommodating two small hand-carry luggage. It has a shower stall but no bathtub. Shower and toilet are enclosed in a small area and there isn't much space to put clothes. Toiletries such as toothpaste, bath soap bar, shampoo and conditioner are provided but toothpaste may not get refilled. The tea bags in the room are also provided but also didn't get refilled. The room looks new and clean with modern decor. The entire hotel looks very new. Hotel provides great hot breakfast for guests which features different breakfast sandwiches, hot oatmeal, rice with japanese pickles, miso soup, cold cereal, pineapple, yogurt and different kinds of juices and milk. It is convenient to have breakfast available instead of having to look for restaurants like McDonalds everyday. This is a great hotel in new condition with good breakfast. Room rate is comparable to other higher ranking hotels like Hotel Renew but their breakfast is not as comprehensive as Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deruderu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Aloha deruderu,

Mahalo for your review. The Hyatt Place Waikiki beach was recently remodeled and completed renovations last year. We are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, it is very popular amongst our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were in Pali tower and the rooms are big and clean. Diamond Head tower has smaller rooms. Street noise in some rooms but the AC worked well with the balcony door closed because of noise. Coffee is fresh in the lobby everyday at 6:15 am-a real bonus since breakfast doesn't start upstairs until 6:30. Lots of electrical outlets in room and comfy beds and pillows. Breakfast gets crowded around 7:30am and then the two elevators are crowded 9-9:30 am. There is a laundy room and you can use a credit or debit card to pay $2 for each load and dryer. Dryers are hot!
Pool is small and chilly but okay. Lots of places to eat nearby and we used Charley's taxi instead of renting a car, a good decision since we didn't go too far this trip. Limited food to go area in lobby and a full bar. Hibiscus gift shop and store behind lobby had good prices for Hawaii.
Great staff throughout!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Diamond Head may be quieter than ocean view rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcookie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Aloha travelcookie_7,

Mahalo for your review. What a great overview of our amenities, and we are glad you enjoyed them. Our Guest Kitchen is really busy in the mornings, but we do everything we can to ensure that it does not take away from our guest experience. We hope to be your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We loved being so close to the beach, and Waikiki's night life. It also included breakfast which was great, and saved us some money. The staff was awesome, thanks Thomas for always taking care of us, and for your help.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JST21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband & I are visiting from maui on our anniversary. The only request I had was a clean room. Very impressed with cleanliness, consistentsy of friendly staff, breakfast! haven't been this satisfied in a holtel in a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Rooms are OK at this hotel, parking is available opposite at $12 for 24hrs, but you need to excuse the continual noise through the thin walls of the lift pinging loudly at every single floor. However, the breakfast service and a good couple of stars below the standard of the rest of the premises.

The eating area is entirely outside adjacent to the swimming pool, and has no roof whatsoever. The result being that, on a day such as today (9th Sept 2012), when the area is suffering from a stiff breeze, food goes flying everywhere, which the local birds then swoop down to steal - hygiene not being a consideration.

I personally made 3 trips to the bread toasting machine before I managed to get food back to my table which was not blown away. According to staff, during the "windy" season, food is served downstairs in the lobby (itself open to the elements at one end) however, it's "not windy enough" at present I am told.

The breakfast itself is of a poor selection compared to other USA hotels I have stayed at in the pasted - the only hot item offered each day being a muffin with a scrambled egg patty and a piece of ham in it - no choice, no variation so far in the three days we've been down. Also offered is a rotation of tepid pancakes or waffles,a selection of low grade cereal, and bread for toasting (as long as you can stop it blowing away). No butter is offered, only a vegan oil spread which makes the toast wet, and the same monotonous, sour pineapple and melon combo is rolled out each morning.

I don't know if I will be entertaining this food for the rest of my stay, I might just go and buy breakfast elsewhere. A complaint was made to the front desk this morning but I expect, like many large operations, nothing will come of it.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the lifts.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-Brit-A-Broad-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Mahalo for your review,

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during A.M. Breakfast Skillet breakfast. We appreciate your detailed feedback and I will share your comments with our team. Your detailed feedback will assist us in improving our service on a daily basis. If you would like to reach out to us directly, contact Imre Gonczy, Assistant General Manager at Imre.Gonczy@HyattPlaceWaikikiBeach.com or call 808.931.4387. If we can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.


Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews