We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare, terrible and disgusting”
Review of Manoa Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manoa Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

A completely terrible place. Disgusting smell all over the house. The restroom in the bedroom I was, did not have a shower, just a tub that I couldn't stand, the ceiling was really low, I could barely stay in it crouched, pathetic place. Carpets all over with disgusting stains. Just a complete nightmare, I left as soon as I could.

Oh, the breakfast was disgusting too, I don't know how, but they were able to make bacon look completely disgusting: it was basically raw and really old, mixed with large chunks of purple cabbage (yea... for breakfast). Everything else was old: breads and fruits.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joao N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
man0avalleyinn, Owner at Manoa Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

I’m sorry you had such a strong reaction to the room. Our historical home has operated as an Inn for over 37 years. Yes there is a bathtub set in an attic. The room description (along with photos) states "There is a bathroom hidden inside an attic with a bathtub and shower. The tub is tucked away in a corner with a slanted ceiling overhead. You can shower and soak in the tub but not stand up! A most unique experience for the romantic at heart!" The room is priced accordingly and is the lowest cost room of the property even though it is considered a Junior Suite because of its size. The property is cleaned daily by professional maids and checked by the owners. We have a very high regard for our reputation. We host well over 2000 happy guests every year. We strive to make sure our guests experience the Aloha Spirit and enjoy the lush ambiance, friendly staff and amazing freshly prepared breakfast each day. We regret that the two of you were unhappy but hope we get a chance to see you again so you can honestly experience all we are about.
Hope to see you soon.
Aloha,
Mark Glen
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

My wife and I were delighted with our first time in Hawaii, and our stay at Manoa Valley Inn contributed to our enjoyment.

We considered staying downtown (about two miles away) in some of the more expensive resorts, but were deterred by the daily parking charge. We realized that we made a great decision to stay away from all the action once we arrived. It is fun to head downtown during the day or night, but even better to leave the noise and commotion and come back to a quiet refuge.

We stayed in the Master Guild room. It was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The decor was old. The TV was probably bought last century. There were at least three other couples, but we didn't hear them.

Breakfast was tasty and made to order. Coffee at 7am, cooking by 7:30am. We could eat with other guests in main area, or bring the food upstairs to another sitting room.

If you plan on bringing a car, consider one of a smaller variety. The parking situation is limited. We always had a space to park, but it was harrowing to enter or exit the grounds with the Mustang we rented.

We enjoyed walking the grounds of University of Hawaii. There are a few local eateries and pubs, but for more choices, plan on walking, biking or driving at least a mile.

Also, we are dog people, so reacted positively to the two dogs (one small, one large) that roam the inn. They appear trained not to go upstairs to the guest rooms.

Overall, we felt positively about the Manoa Valley Inn. Should we ever stay in Oahu again, we will likely stay there again.

Room Tip: We never saw any of the other rooms, but would recommend the Master Guild Suite.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I had to fly over to Hawaii for a very quick business trip and needed to find something for 4 days at the Government daily lodging rate. I came upon the Moana Valley Inn and was surprised at the nightly rate - knowing that it included breakfast and free parking.

I should mention that this B&B is literally right around the corner from The University Of Hawaii campus in a quiet neighborhood. It is off the beaten path, but only couple minutes from the H1 and perhaps 10 minutes from downtown Waikiki. Since my work took me closer to the airport everyday, it was most important to have immediate access to the highway.

This 1880's mansion is fantastic and has all its old fashioned charm in the bedrooms and bathrooms as well as the rest of the public areas of the house. Our breakfast was served every morning outside the back door on a very nice veranda. That area was so quiet and tranquil which lended itself to only quiet chatter amongst the guests (library quiet)...

Our hosts served a Japanese interpretation of Breakfast - that was delicious. On the first day, the bacon was steam cooked together with kale. Different but very tasty. The second day was Portuguese sausage medallions steamed with cabbage. Again, very tasty. Instead of pan seared, the potatoes were more like baked potatoes cut into quarters and covered in black pepper from a pepper grinder - delicious but different. Our hosts also offered made to order organic eggs and pancakes.

Juice, Fresh fruit and pastry options were awesome; coffee and tea were great.

Oh, the Inn has a fantastic swimming pool behind the house that can only be described as a hidden paradise. More like a place for meditation and relaxation than anything!

Parking is free at the Inn (downtown hotels average $10-15 daily for parking) but spots are a little tight. If you are driving here from the airport, go for a compact or Economy car.

Needless to say, I will be back to the Manoa Valley Inn!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardL930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

During our travel around Oahu someone asked us which tower we were staying in. If you prefer resort-style accomodation and want to stick with the crowds then try somewhere else but if you would like a personalised stay in Hawaii and you just want to relax then this is the place for you. Our flight landed in the early morning. Through prior arrangement, our hosts happily agreed to let us chill out by the pool before our room was ready. We were hoping for a couple of sun lounges so we could catch up on a couple of hours sleep but as the picture shows, we found something better. Everything isn't pristine but this is an old building, with old Hawaii charm. We prefer something with character and this accommodation certainly has that. Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was ample. We had a hire car so getting around wasn't a problem but, this place is close enough to the H1 that you are soon on your way to your destination. Our hosts were attentive but discrete - there were little touches everywhere that signalled there efforts to ensure their guests enjoyed a peaceful stay!
p.s. hire the cheapest car from the major car companies because the minimum class appears to be convertible mustangs!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank B5A7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

I traveled for a business trip and the Manoa Valley Inn made a good home base. Quiet and peaceful. Although the downstairs initially gave me pause due to a strong aroma of mothballs, the rest of the inn didn't suffer the same issues. I stayed in the Dole suite and my room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. Other reviewers have noted the odd shower (a sit down bathtub situation) which I didn't love, but I did appreciate having my own bathroom. The hosts were very gracious and welcoming. The mini-fridge in the third floor hallway (shared between the three upstairs rooms) was a nice touch. My day started early, so I only had breakfast twice (it was served from 7:30-9). I wouldn't say it was a standout experience, but it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
772 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
516 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoa Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoa Valley Inn

Address: 2001 Vancouver Dr, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822-2451
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 12,436 - ₹ 15,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoa Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoa Valley Inn is a Victorian Inn filled with European antiques with a bit of island flair. This Historic Country Inn is an Oahu landmark located in an exclusive area of Honolulu right by the University of Hawaii. The Manoa Valley Inn was built in 1912 and provides a luxurious and quiet experience away from the din of Waikiki for visitors and local residents alike. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The prestigious Country Inn is conveniently located within minutes of Waikiki and the downtown Honolulu business district, yet it is surrounded by the beauty, luxury, and serenity of Manoa Valley. Relax in the quiet of the peaceful and spacious veranda and soak up a bit of Hawaiian nostalgia from years gone by. Stay with us, it's a very special surprise. It is an intimate retreat that provides a unique alternative to resort living. The Manoa Valley Inn has six special, spacious rooms and a charming country cottage waiting for you. We are within walking distance to U.H. Manoa, bus lines, restaurants and theater. Relax in our tropical saltwater heated swimming pool with a soft flowing waterfall located in a secluded garden with many trees and flowers. Breakfast consists of island fresh fruits, yogurt, bread, muffins or bagels, cold cereal, coffee, tea & juice, as well as brown rice, oatmeal with plenty of assorted nuts and dried fruits, a variety of tofu dishes and stir fried vegetables .. eggs when served are from an organic farm run by a family member. We buy local products from local organic farms as much as possible.Our Inn has five permanent guests who are 4 friendly and playful dogs and 1 mysterious black cat! E Komo Mai... Come In, Join Us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Manoa Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoa Valley Hotel Honolulu
Manoa Valley Inn Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing