We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 28 June 2012

They were very rude to us. The service is crap! Customer service is crap! We book our room in advance (6 months before going on vaction). Nine of us were going to stay in a 2 bedrooms with queens and a roll away bed for the 9th person. We got there and they told us that we could not have 5 people in one of the rooms when they had charged us a roll away for the extra person. So they wanted us to pay for the extra room for the extra person. We have book our room 6 months in advance! WE paid a lot of money to stay there and they did not even have the courtesy to give us the other room for have the price or accommodate us! Why should have to pay more! If you go to a restaurant and you find a fly in your food you get a new plate at no charge or its free! Its customer service!!!  They told us it was a fire hazard to have 5 in a room but yet they had given us the roll away anyway!!!! They totally disrespected us and down graded us to a 3 bed room suite! We had paid for two extra beds!! They did not refund our money or apologize formally!!  Two days later they send us a fruit basket but that didn't help. We end up having to share one shower vs the two showers we had paid for! We also had to pay for breakfast! We're  supposed to get free complementary breakfast everyday of our stay and we end up having to pay for it!!! They caused us a huge inconvenience and made our arrival very unpleasant! Overall its a nice hotel but their service is crap!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marval22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Aloha,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you endured due to the misunderstanding between your travel agent and our reservations office. Your reservation was booked with the allowable amount of guests in the rooms. However, your travel agent contacted both our central reservations office and our guests services supervisor and both noted her request for a rollaway bed for your family. Both had no indication that a 9th person was being added and we regret that the change in your families needs was not clearly conveyed to us. Our guests safety and abiding by the fire codes set forth are our responsibility and we will never sway from this. We understand that finding you a suitable accommodation for the size of your family was inconvenient but we will always put your safety first.

I apologize that you feel that we were rude in our service but I can say that I was approached by two different guests whom were present when you checked in and stated that my guest services manager was respectful and were taken aback that it was not reciprocated. Nonetheless, I understand your frustration at the time. Regarding breakfast, we have not offered breakfast since August 2009 and when speaking with your travel agent, she mentioned it and then realized that she had brochure that was extremely outdated. I asked her at that time if she had told you that you would receive breakfast and she said that she had not. Once again, I apologize that this was not properly communicated with us.

We truly regret that your vacation got off to a rough start. I did continue to check with the management of the Aqua Waikiki Pearl to ensure that your family was enjoying their time there and personally delivered the two large gift baskets for your family. We hope you enjoyed the Edible Arrangement and Local Kine Gift Basket filled with some of Hawaii's favorite treats. In the future, I would recommend booking your reservation directly with the hotel or conveying any changes directly so that there are no misunderstandings. We take responsibility when we are wrong however in this case, we did not make a promise that we could not keep and regret that you were inconvenienced as a result. We hope that your family still had a wonderful time in Hawaii and I am glad that Tracey at the Pearl looked after you as asked. Thank you warmly for your selection of Aqua Hotels & Resorts and we hope to have an opportunity to assist you on a future trip to Waikiki.

Mahalo,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 801 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in late May 2012, when we arrived we were assigned an upgraded room with a kitchenette and we were happy to take it but when we looked at it all we could see from the balcony was a brick wall, the front desk staff we very helpful and we were moved to a smaller room with a great view of the mountains and the city and we were quite happy with it ( I didn't come to Hawaii from Australia to look at a brick wall) the bathroom was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Drinks in the foyer a nice touch, Thursday evening drinks and snacks by the pool great, loved the Uke playing too.
The staff very friendly and helpfull
Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Aloha!

Thank you for your recent visit with us! I am glad to hear that my team was able to accommodate you in a room with a view of your liking and that you were able to join us at the Manager's Cocktail Reception. It is definitely a great opportunity for us to meet with our guests and for our guests to meet each other. Many new friendships have been formed at our reception and we are glad you enjoyed the entertainment. We hope to see you again on a future visit. Mahalo for staying with us!

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Have just completed my 3rd stay at Aqua bamboo and have loved it every time. It is a wonderful oasis in the bustle of waikiki. Bamboo is close to many amenities and the beach. The bus stop is a 1 minute walk, as is the closest convenience store. No restuarnt is on site however there are many places to eat and drink in the surrounding neighborhood. The staff are always helpful and friendly. Some of the interiors are now a little dated however the rooms have always been clean and the bamboo provides great value for money. The pool area is delightful and provides a perfect place to relax. "Bamboozle" (managers reception) each thursday is a wonderful initiative and allows the guests to mingle and chat to each other in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I am already booked into the bamboo for my 4th visit and looking forwrad to returning over New year 2012/2013.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathmac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Aloha!

Thank you for commenting on your 3rd visit with us and thank you for your continued support! We are so glad that you have chosen to stay with us for a 3rd time and hope to continue to see your family for years to come. I am glad to hear that you found my team to be friendly and helpful. The Bamboo is most definitely a oasis in the middle of the concrete jungle and we try to keep it as relaxing as possible. There is always an ongoing effort to improve and we are nearly 90% complete with refinishing our room furniture to give them a fresh look. We hope that you will get to experience a more refreshed look on your next visit. We are always excited to see our guests mingling at the Manager's Reception and making new friends. Many of our guests have met here and become yearly traveling buddies.

Thank you again for your continued support and loyalty to the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We look forward to welcoming you home again next year!

Mahalo,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights in room 1102, sea view from the balcony, which we did not expect. The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly, the hotel was small, just what we wanted. The room was kept clean and the towels in the bathroom were changed every day which we thought was not necessary. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Peter and Rita Watson, Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: As high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Aloha!

We are so glad that you were able to be pleasantly surprised with a view of the ocean upon your arrival. The Aqua Bamboo does not advertise Ocean View rooms as we believe an Ocean View should be one that you can see unobstructed from the inside of your room. Many of our guests are very pleasantly surprised when they find that they can see the waves crashing from a distance. Our location allows for a very brief walk to one of the most pristine beaches in the world and we offer complimentary beach towels and chairs so that you can enjoy it all day long! We are glad that you experienced the warmth and aloha of our team and hope to see you again on a future visit.

Mahalo,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here for 15 days in June 2012 & I must say that it was all I expected and so much more. The staff treated us like we were family. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything was just as I had seen on their website. The accomodation was clean & very well kept. All the guests we spoke to loved staying there and had nothing but praise for the staff. We will definately return to stay here again & again. Do yourself a favour & book to stay at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the pool. Or just turn your A/C on to drown out the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Aloha!

Thank you for staying with us once again Di. We had such a great time with your family. You guys are now an extended part of our ohana (family) and we look forward to continuing to welcome you back to our hale (home) for many years to come. It was such a pleasure for us to host you and we look forward to the next visit.

Warm regards,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,931 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 9,793 - ₹ 20,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing